Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fish Deluxe

by leafo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take part in the worlds most advanced fish combat simulator in Fish Deluxe.

Feral fish are ravaging the ocean and it's time to fight back.

# Controls

* Arrows: move around
* X: attack
* C: activate exits, speed through intro
* P: pause

# Features

5 Enemy types each with custom AI. 2 sweet songs. 5 levels of increasing difficulty. A really disappointing ending.

Made in Love2d with MoonScript
Source: https://github.com/leafo/ludum-dare-29

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Audio4.15
#39Graphics4.33
#52Mood3.95
#54Fun3.86
#83Theme3.90
#116Overall3.76
#751Innovation2.80
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

Quality entry - as always. Sounds, music and feel are perfect. Especially the controls feel tight and balanced. The graphical effects like the bubbles look very very good.

But I'm just really bad at this game, so I might never see the end :(

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

This one is really good. Great visuals, great sounds, great controls. Will defnetly come back later to play some more!

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Great music. The graphics reminded me of a game I played many years ago, EVO or something. One of the fish-creatures you control looked just like that.

leafo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

game was definitely inspired by EVO :), I should have written that somewhere.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

For some reason the game graphics glitch at startup and I can't play it :( I have windows 64bit

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Really great visuals and sounds :)

The controls felt a little floaty to me, but that's to be expected in a swimming game.

Great job :)

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:03am

Nice entry. I don't know how you manage to make such nice shaders and deliver as much content as you do over the course of 48 hours. Music was great, graphics were impressive. No complaints on the controls. 5/5

The ocean is safe.

blahoink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09am

perfect. just short. and boring after five minutes.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42am

As usual, a fantastic entry! Great art, great controls, great gameplay!

Great job!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

The visual effects were really nice, and the music was pleasant to listen to. A fun play!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Good visuals and music, it sets the mood, but the gameplay is a little bit too repetitive.

XenosNS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:07am

Nice. Feels like a SNES game.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:11am

Game was a bit glitchy in graphics. Entering a new area was confusing as there was no environmental indication to where a doorway was. Positive- I liked the bloody trail when killing the fish.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:10am

I have become fish fodder :(

Reminded me of Ecco. Good vibes!

King_Mew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

This is a great game! It's tons of fun, the music is great, the graphics are great. Everything moves on the screen beautifully.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Pretty neat little game, leafo. I got about 113 points before it became too much. Definitely a challenging game.

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:02pm

So cheery for a fish combat simulator! Great game, super fun, five stars on all fronts :)

dector says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Quite addictive game with good aesthetics.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]