Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

OVER/FISH

by Farfin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm going to take out my emotional issues on these fish. I'm going to unsustainably work out my troubles. Each fish I pull up is a weight off my mind.

but Ice fishing alone just doesn't seem right.

EDIT: it wasn't clear but You only control the side to side motion of the hook and it's speed. It moves up and down on it's own.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#177Graphics3.83
#258Theme3.61
#266Mood3.37
#320Humor2.83
#360Overall3.38
#402Innovation3.29
#482Fun3.10
#665Audio2.56

Comments

CaptainKraft says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

I was smiling the whole time. Your art is charming, the sounds work great, and the gameplay is clever. Two thumbs up

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

I LOVE the art in this! The gameplay is also unique yet simple! My only complaint is that it can be next to impossible to reel em' in sometimes!

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Very cute art and cool mechanics (a little difficult to control the hook though, had to spam up and left, which seems unintuitive). No bugs that I could see :) HOW DOES SHE SEE SO WELL UNDER THE ICE THO?

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

I really enjoyed this one. As CaptainKraft and FuzzyWuzzie said before, the art is great.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

This was really enjoyable. It was strangely relaxing haha. This would probably make a really fun mobile game where you tilt to move your hook. Anyways, great work :)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03am

Omg, nice graphics!

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

i didn't know i could swing left and right for a while but after that it was ez mode great job love the character

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35am

That was good, but its getting boring pretty quick. Have to have more things as you progress.

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39am

A simple game, but still very entertaining. Makes me happy!

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

Very cute! It's really a lot of fun to play. You can subvert the speed of it falling by holding left or right and having the hook cling to the wall until you're ready to move it. Not sure if this is intentional.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

Therapy fishing?

Nice paintings...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nice game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

Tricky at first but cool once you get the hang of it. I first wanted music as well, but then realized that it feels much more lonely without it (which in this case, works well).

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25am

At first the controls felt really weird, but once I got used to it the game gets very challenging. good job!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Very cute art! Also a very fun, simple, and charming game mechanic!

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice art and idea!

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48am

Very nice art! Congrats!

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:01am

Fun game to play.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:19pm

It's funny.

May 4, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Nice one!

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:36am

Took me a second to read your rules and realize that moving up and down was not controlled by me. The gameplay is pretty clever, but aged a bit poorly once I was a few levels in. The art is amazing as always!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:56am

33. Wow, that was both significantly more challenging and a lot more fun than I was expecting from a drop-the-hook fishing game. Very cool!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]