Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fishing Cat

by AdamCClifton - Jam Entry

Fishing + Upgrades

Click and hold to power up, release to cast.
Click and hold to reel in your line.

Upgrades allow you to go deeper and catch bigger fish.
If a fish has "..." above its head, it isn't interested in your lure, time to upgrade!
If a fish has "!" above its head, it will be too strong for you to reel in, buy a new reel!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#115Graphics(Jam)4.13
#162Theme(Jam)3.58
#232Overall(Jam)3.42
#292Fun(Jam)3.13
#406Humor(Jam)2.47
#536Mood(Jam)2.78
#589Innovation(Jam)2.54
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

The cat is so cute! And she's fishing for fish. ahah

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Cool, very cute graphics! Nice mellow interpretation of the theme, though it can be a bit slow. Some calming music might help, but good job!

eerongal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Neat little game, but I can't help but feel that there's too much of a "grind" between fish. Cheaper line length upgrades, and more tiers of fish feel like it could have helped this (as well as not requiring every new fish to need an upgrade, it seems like)

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Doesn't seem to work on safari :(

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Cute little game, but a bit too slow for my tastes :) I got bored before I got more than a few upgrades... perhaps if there was a better way to control the lure once in the water?

longshorts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

There are a lot of fishing games published for the competition, but this is easily the best so far. Simply cos it was easy to understand and play. Well designed!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

Pretty fun though I didn't have the patience to get all the way to the treasure chest.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

It looks great! The game can get a bit repetitive pretty quickly, but the graphics look good and it plays smoothly. Great job!

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09am

Great game, played it through to the end. It would of been nice to have some audio to go with it.

Tomski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

What a cute game, the cats face is just brilliant.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Awesome graphics, gameplay is a little slow to my taste though.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

It did feel like I had to grind a little, but it's a well executed game well done.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Cute game, would have been happy to see the reel in time a bit speedier, but maybe I'm just not in the right frame of mind right now ;)
Overall I thought it was quite addictive and very relaxing. Good work!

l3dx says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Quite addictive! But I felt that the effort needed to get the highest upgrade wasn't worth it:P

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:34pm

So cute! But I think it takes too long to get the upgrades.

May 14, 2014 @ 12:21pm

great game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]