Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kinetectonic

by headchant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the mouse.

Hint: This is not a match-3 game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
Innovation4.51
#9Fun4.23
#9Overall4.31
#38Theme4.05
#74Mood3.84
#74Audio3.72
#167Graphics3.85
#570Humor2.42

Comments

leafo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

Very cool game, was disappointed that it ended when you get all 4 diamonds, it was fun just getting upgrades. Great music too.

NiallM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

Really like this. The mechanic of raising the columns is really nice, particularly the way you can rapidly make things difficult for yourself if you're not paying attention.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30am

interesting mechanics

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

Cool game mechanic :D

CodeHat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34am

Really cool game with a great concept :D

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

Interesting game concept and atmosphere.

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Glad to see another LOVE game!

The music is awesome, the gameplay is catchy, mood is heavy and dark.

Deserves a full of 5.

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Also, you must know that "Game.lua:496" gets an error kinda often. I have no idea what happens, but it got a nil value sometimes instead of a Quad.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Excellent. Well done. Considered porting to mobile?

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

@Katamori: which love version are you using?

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Very nice idea, but it was a little too easy.

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

It took me a while to understand that animals are dangerous too xD nice gameplay.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Nice game - it's mechanic is simple and fun!

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Nice puzzle game. I didn't get very far but played it for quite a while trying to figure out how to combine different digging strategies to get to the stars. It would have been nice if hovering an monster let you know what number of swords it needed or some little legend of what each thing did (more useful than the dig-history). Also how many hits the shield took and so on.

But as I said. Since I played it for quite a while it definitely did something right.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

nice gameplay!!

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Game did not start, got the following error:

cannot create canvas: not supported by you opengl implementation

is it because I am running windows xp?

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Super. Fucking. Tight. Everything about this game is awesome, and you are awesome!

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

@Infraviolet: Your GPU probably does not support canvas :( sorry... you can update your drivers and test if it works?

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

This is a really clever concept. It took me a moment to catch on, but once I did I kept on playing. I thought the simple black and white graphics were great, and the sounds and music fit perfectly. Great job all around!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Ohh I like it.
Psychadelic graphics and a gameplay I don't really understand.
But anyways it looks good.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

THIS IS AWESOME. i don't get it yet BUT THIS IS AWESOME! (keep playing)

Huder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Clever idea for a game. It ended for me too fast. If you learn simple trick you can easly win. Just make enemies on top of chest and never get keys. That way this enemy is excluded from the game.

It would be much harder if you make chest disappear even if you don't have key.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Now I get it and it's even more awesome. My favorite so far!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

One of the best games I played this LD, great job, and not only that, innovative, fun, I loved the graphics, simple but really interesting, I played it for last 10 minutes and I want much more. Think about release an expansion of this game, really interesting the theme. Hope this one wins, really.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Very very fun game. Best game I've played yet!

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Sprites could be just a bit larger, but despite that it's really good and somehow catchy!

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Wow, that was great! I think I played that for an hour just now, and I'll probably do it again. :D

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Top marks for fun, theme and innovation. Just really great fun. Love what you have done here

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

I loved this game. Simple, to the point, but still deep due to upgrades.

I'm sad that the game ended with four diamonds, but the credits were very pretty! Great job!

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16am

"Error:

src/states/Game.lua:51: Cannot create canvas: Not supported by your OpenGL implementation."

Is there something I should download so I can play this properly?

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17am

I don't think I did it right. Cat's are bad now?

headchant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47am

@hissssssss: try to update your graphics card driver

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05am

5* everywhere!
SO ADDICTIVE!
I love you.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Solid, addicting gem.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

It's really a great concept. It started to bug (audio looping, and no collisions on certain items) so i couldn't finish it. Also i may not be intuitive enough on how the fights work. But i'd love to play again, one of the best entries so far.

Anoarith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Very great concept and mood :)

Katamori says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Ah, sorry the late answer...so, I use LOVE 0.9.0 to run the game, but even the Windows version gives errors.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:12pm

OMG, this game. So perfect for a ludum dare. Simple yet deep. I'd love to be able to do such a great game one day. (I can't keep things simple somehow -_-)
It's fun to play, like, once I understood was going on I was just addicted. Great entry and congrats ! :)

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:05am

I didn't quite understand everything yet, I'll play a bit more later I think, could give us some advice ? Anyway this seems very interesting.

petey123567 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:08am

Solid work. Surprisingly easy to pick up, given how unusual the mechanic is.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:19am

Awesome, awesome game! Nothing bad to say...

Kragnir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:21am

I am impressed with the amount of depth in this game. Even though it is quickly obvious that most of it can be ignored but that is part of having depth. Plenty of good things here. I like that the game has an ending although I am not a fan of the textanimation.

rnlf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really cool concept. Took me a while to figure out the meaning of the different parts, but in the end I managed. Great game.

Marcellus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Awesome game, congrats !

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:01am

Very concussive Fight Sound, I enjoyed my Diamond Explosion greatly. Raising columns, I felt Mighty.

VDZ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Great concept, although I feel the game is far too easy once you get how it works. I feel the upgrades may actually detract from the game in this case; once you've upgraded a bit, you practically never run the risk of losing. I didn't understand how depth penetration worked at first, but since I figured that out I'm pretty sure it breaks the game as it allows you to skip any tile that could cause any risk (monster and earthquake tiles).

ezolotko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I think this is one of the best games this LD, congratulations. Seems like a good candidate for a smartphone port.

jsstylos says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Very nice, maybe my favorite entry so far.

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:16am

That was glorious, really original puzzle game idea there. Would have appreciated a tutorial (and still don't know the difference between the monsters), but hoping for a possible mobile port of this one!

jerombd says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Very original game: I'm pretty sure you can add more loot, and overall do a bigger version!

May 6, 2014 @ 12:46am

Great idea and fantastic pixelling <3

kirbytails7 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:14am

Woah, this was really cool! I didn't think there'd be much strategy to it, but after upping my depthreach a bit I started thinking things through more. Well done.

Simon says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:30am

This is so awesome! I spent a fair amount of time with it. Seriously great entry. The only thing that bothers me is that it's pretty hard to identify objects :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:45am

Managed to beat the game. Fun! I would have liked the graphics to be a little higher resolution, so it would be easier to tell the different kinds of things apart. Also, the ending music is crazy bass-heavy, maybe ease up on that.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Are you gonna make a post compo version? Because I'm interested in this game.

headchant says ...
May 22, 2014 @ 3:46pm

@WhiteWolf: I'm trying to make a iOS/Android version!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]