Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Army of Gnone

by Cambrian_Man - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide your gnomes to treasure deep within the caverns! All controls act on all your gnomes at once.

Controls
Left, Right Arrows - Move
Up, C - Jump
Down, X - Pull up Gnome
R - Reset Level

Known Issues - Yes
The camera can wig out sometimes. Only really hurts in one level.
Sometimes gnomes can go through each other. Ghost gnomes! Ghnomes. Sorry. Reset the level if that happens or just mash keys. That's fun, too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#28Overall4.05
#51Innovation4.05
#64Fun3.83
#87Mood3.80
#159Humor3.28
#167Graphics3.85
#179Audio3.43
#258Theme3.61

Comments

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

This is a great game! Great art, gameplay and music! Had to tear myself away from it! Must play!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

Great job. But I'm stuck at the third or fourth screen, when you have 4 gnomes. Too bad I won't see the end.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Very nice and quite difficult, i like this kind of game ! Thanks :)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

The foreground kept disappearing on me when I jumped! Despite that I managed to get some ways into the game. I like the idea of controlling multiple people, it lends itself to puzzle games which are always fun :)

ajfischer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Loved it. The graphics and music and game play are all very nice. Got a bit hard at some points.

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56am

I loved every aspect of this game! Thank you for entering!

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59am

That was fantastic. I liked the design of the puzzles, the mechanic was fun, the graphics were amazing. Good show.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02am

I liked the concept of using gnomes to help each other while controlling all of them.

magicspark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07am

The puzzles are very innovative, and the whole idea fits the theme perfectly! Good job!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07am

Wow, very nicely done. This feels very complete and the level design is great use of a novel concept. I nearly gave up at parts but I'm glad I didn't. Excellent atmosphere, too!

scottyb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

holy crap, i loved this. i beat it. it was p great.

4sap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31am

Very nice. Only problem was i kept falling through the floor XP.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

Really nice graphics and idea! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

This game would fit right in with the old Nitrome classics. Catchy music, nice pixel graphics with good use of the screen space, and deviously fun puzzles.

Good job!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:28am

Wow this is great!

RPWhitaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I love this! :D great job

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Someone was expecting an other theme :)

nimblegorilla says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:19am

Great puzzles. It would be nice if you could walk just a little bit faster.

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:14am

Good game! I like the art, and how the game plays. Great concept and enjoyable!

May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I really like the puzzles and controlling more than one of the gnomes at once. The only thing that bothered me as that the camera felt a little jittery when it switched between the gnomes it was focused on.

robcozzens says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:08am

Fantastic! Really cleaver game mechanic.

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Fun game and a nice mechanic.

CogComp says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:59am

Excellent game!

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:21pm

What a great game! Really clever puzzles! I had no trouble with the camera of "ghost gnomes". I really enjoyed this game, thanks for making it!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:39am

really great game - awesome gameplay - really like the mechanics of it - greay job!

javierecf says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:59am

Those are some weird looking gnomes, ahem.. very good game!, interesting puzzles, challenging, overall well done.

The music and the graphics are nice and fits the mood of the game really well, i cant really see the relation with the theme though. I know they are gnomes and they are suppose to be underground.. anyway, I liked it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]