Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

William the Wopol

by chipcaramel - Jam Entry

POST-COMPO LOVE VERSION HERE:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gc58597c809ol07/william_post.love

**POST COMPO VERSION FIXES COLLISION BUGS, ADDS A FEW NEW ENEMIES, AND ADDS GROUND ATTACK AND PROPER SPRINTING.

William the Wopol

Jimun - Project Lead / Programmer
Chip Caramel - Environment Artist, Enemy Art, Music
Luthrid - Enemy Art
Gero - Music

Additional Music by Kevin Macleod - incompetech

You start off as a wopol - a water dwelling mammal.
You're the subject of scientific study, but don't recall always being that way.
You were once a human...

Basic Controls: Arrows to move, Space to Jump, Shift to Sprint, F to attack, C/V to use hands, Enter to show inventory.

KNOWN BUGS:
SPRINTING IS INEFFECTIVE
SHARKS SWIM OUTSIDE OF WATER
CHARACTER 'STICKS' IN CORNER WHILE ATTACKING

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#40Audio(Jam)4.00
#46Overall(Jam)3.86
#49Graphics(Jam)4.38
#74Fun(Jam)3.62
#93Theme(Jam)3.75
#101Mood(Jam)3.74
#122Innovation(Jam)3.61
#210Humor(Jam)3.00

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Very nice good! :D :D!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28am

Cool!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

Whoa, this game is very involved! Really good job!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04am

Hey, this is very nice. Well worth playing and exceptionally long for a jam entry. Congratulations!

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13am

Woah awesome! I didn't play it all the way, but it seems like its a decently long game, which is always cool in a game jam.
There are a lot of buttons though, including separate keys for holding items in two hands, which can get confusing. Also, walking on land seems a little tedious.
The art is awesome and the game is really great :]

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

Very nice graphics, I liked the music also. The woopool was not running when I pressed shift

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

Walking outside the water seems to hang every step. Maybe that's intentional but it's still a bit irritating. Other than that a very nice (and long) game.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:38am

It's fun! And graphics are REALLY good! Nice job!

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46am

The game is really good developed. There a lot of things you can do and see and the graphics are nice too. The story line draws you into the game. Really impressive for a jam.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:53am

Everything in this game is superb! Gameplay, audio, graphics, story, theme! Really like several elements in the game (the map, for example) which give it a pretty nice polish. It's exceptionally long, too!

Found a bug which got me stuck and didn't manage to complete the game, but it's worth playing it again! (screenshot of the bug: http://imgur.com/iEEfKuo, happened when attacking while a bit before going out of the water. Since I didn't have the impulse to get out of it, the animation played until I touched the ground, and then got stuck forever).
5 stars!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

My thoughts are similar to the previous comments, but I'd like to add, I like the detail of the animations and I think the Wopol is cute.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

That was really neat and polished. You even had an animation for William panting when he ran out of stamina! The starting music was really good. The story was interesting, too. The only downside would be the walking part, and pressing shift just drained the stamina- without sprinting.

Jimun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. In regards to the sprinting issue, I'm just now realizing that I've got the run speed and walk speed set to the same value. Sorry about that! I'd fix it if I could. I'll see about putting up a post-jam version later.
The Wopol is supposed to be rather clumsy on land, so the way he walks is somewhat intentional. A proper sprint would have probably made it less annoying, though.
I'm aware of some sticking bugs with the attack, but most of them can be broken out of by tapping jump or attack, I haven't seen the one in the posted screenshot. I'll look into it.
Also I'm aware there's a very poorly placed enemy towards the end that's annoying to get past. The enemies on the last area were put in last minute, and didn't get any testing before being posted.
Hope that helps clear a few things up. Enjoy the game!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Thanks, folks, for the positive and helpful feedback!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:31am

Very cool game. There's this odd delay when moving outside of water, not sure if it was intentional. Good job!

giordanno92 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:51am

Great entry. Your teamwork was great for this game. I love the simple, yet effective art and the water controls were almost flawless. The walking control on ground is pretty frustrating even with the sprint button and those damn sharks! XD Well, it has to have some challenging. I could nitpick several things, but this is a game jam. Overall, great entry and thanks for commenting on my game. BTW, found a glitch: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/?p=358588 I think this guy shouldn't be here, right?

chipcaramel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:36am

Thanks for the feedback. Regarding glitches and such, we are developing a patched and updated Postmortem version. Land Sharks are terrifying. XD

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Very well polished for a Ludum Dare game. You even had the time to put in an options menu with screen scaling and nice things like that! I suppose that's the advantage of a team.

Couldn't quite figure out how to drop the ball at the start, my guy just ended up chucking it about the place instead... once I got past that, really enjoyable little platformer.

Azzar says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Good entry! Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]