Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pond Tycoon

by Robinerd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pond Tycoon - Powered by Waves!
- Finished 1st place in Sony Hackathon in Sweden -

In Pond Tycoon you generate electricity by wave power.
The supplied power will in turn generate "power charges"
for which you can buy both more generators and Oscillomatic
devices to help you generate even more power.

Crank it up over 9000W!
How fast can you be?

CONTROLS:
- Click the water really fast, close to the generators
- Some locations may be more strategic due to the nature of wave physics
- As soon as you can afford, buy generators and Oscillomatics
- Keep clicking and dragging on the water
- Fill the power meter over 9000!!

IMPROVED VERSION:
- Has highscore list

UPCOMING FEATURES:
- SmartWatch 2 widget to show your power

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#21Innovation4.29
#22Overall4.11
#42Audio3.89
#86Fun3.75
#103Mood3.73
#130Graphics3.93
#146Humor3.30
#803Theme2.96

Comments

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Great game, fun and straight to the point !

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Fun Game

riv_roy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

I spent more time than I'd care to admit playing this awesome game, the visuals and audio were well matched, gameplay straightforward, and best of all really fun!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05am

How the hell can you get to 9000w? :D Really fun game.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07am

Really unique and fun. Great water effects and the controls and interface make sense. Music goes great with the team.

Mstrp2ez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Great game, great music and great graphics. But what about the theme? I guess there is the surface of the water, not that it really matters. Oh and greetings from Visby/Gotland.

Robinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40am

Reinkout: Not sure if you missed that you can buy both generators and Oscillomatics which in a good combination youd get you well to 9001 if placed out. And click or drag the surface at the same time. If that doesn't do the trick it might perhaps be an unknown bug.

Mstrp2ez: Thanks! Yeah, I know the theme connection is kind of weak, I hope I can still earn a few good votes in the other categories. And greetings from Karlskrona! Take care ;)

Everyone else: Thanks for all your comments! It's great to hear, and if you want to hear more happy chiptunes, search for Robinerd on spotify or youtube :) Thanks all!

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I got 3:57.4
I love your music!! Innovative idea and fun to play. Kind of game I like to see more.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:34am

god i love this game, with the cool ripple effect and chunky pixels. just looking at it makes me happy (maybe the music is partly responsible too)

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Very fun and interesting game. Nice wave effects and music!

cobhc6 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:57pm

3:18! Nice game!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:12am

All this time I'm playing this I'm thinking "what are the fish in the pond going to feel like"?
Awesome ripple effects! I saw your blog post during the 48 hours and definitely was looking forward to seeing it in action :D

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Fun game. But too short now.

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Very good game ! I love it ! I would play more ! Wow this is really good !

May 7, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Dude this is awesome

May 11, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I wasnt sure what to do, but I love the water mechanics! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/yJ4mg8nxxfM

sorceress says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:12pm

1m21.9 \o/

joe40001 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:12am

I like the look and feel, but even as a guy who is into this kinda thing I couldn't tell if I was trying to generate just osiclation of waves or a rotating oscilation of waves or a generator at points of constructive/destructive interference.

Love the look/feel of the game, also it is innovative and my lack of full grasping could be that I'm super tired right now.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]