Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries


by biscuitdough - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Charge up your wizard spaceship with yellow things.

Getting hit, shooting, or spending time underwater depletes your oxygen, spending time above water fills it.

Made in HaxeFlixel in about 35 of the 48 hours.
I'd self evaluate it to about a 5 or 6, gameplay just never really clicked :/, Also first time using Haxe, so sapped some time getting it set up. Did get lucky with pulseboy on the music for something pretty damn catchy.

Downloads and Links




SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:30am

Very fun couldn't stop playing this.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

Neat concept, though I don't really have the patience or accuracy for it. I did notice some issues where the hit boxes for hazards were much larger than the graphics, and where yellow things spawned too close to hazards.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

This is lovely.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Lol, I actually really liked how silly this game was. Despite being based on a funny concept, it didn't actually feel too rushed - which was nice. Good job! The controls were incredibly frustrating, but I guess that's part of the allure, as it kept me hooked for a while :)

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

I will grant you that this is probably the only game where you're fetching things for a 'tower cow'. Very difficult though, and way too easy to go off screen -- and then stay there.

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Really cool game! I was awful at it, but it was super fun to dive and fly out of the water.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:19am

Hardcore gameplay. Nice graphics! Thanks!

Maniulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

Surprisingly fun and addictive!

voidqk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06am

fun! nice concept... nice change to be able to go underwater... good change from a classic shooter

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:09am

Did not have that much fun. Randomly died a few times without knowing exactly why. Even got stuck past the screen edge. I'm sure it could be fun.I'm just not liking the way it controls.

May 17, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Actually a lot of fun! Air controls felt nice, kind of like Luftrausers, but the underwater controls were not as good. Too slippery. I dig the artstyle! I also really like the fact that health, ammo and oxygen all share the same resource, it makes for some nice simplicity in design.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]