Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep

by ahmeni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was a lot of fun to make and I'm so glad I finished something this time around! :D

Controls: Left/Right, A/S or even clicking on the left/right of your swimmer will move you left and right!
Collect as many coins before what lies below consumes you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#559Audio2.78
#623Theme3.19
#687Mood2.86
#826Fun2.72
#848Humor2.01
#912Graphics2.61
#922Overall2.80
#1150Innovation2.16

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

Was a bit disconcerting not being able to move up or down.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31am

Pretty good. Found it a bit easy

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33am

This game has a flappy bird kind of addictiveness to it. Had a lot of fun with it :)

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:33am

Could be a cool mobile game with some polishing!

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35am

I made it 203 depth. Interesting control scheme and creepy music.

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

nice small game, the background getting darker was a nice touch.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

Depth: 197, Score: 8

Solid entry, has a simple yet effective mechanic. Good mood as well. This is a small detail but I love games that integrate the title screen into the gameplay :)

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

That guy really likes to swim haha. Those eels are a menace to society.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

I agree with the mobile game comment.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40am

Why can't we go up and down?!?!?!?

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

Some really good detail. Tried and true concept. :)

shs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

I liked the eerie feeling that came as you went deeper.

ahmeni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

For those requesting mobile I have added an Android link and if I can figure out a temporary iOS release I will link it here as well!
For the up and downers - I originally had that but found it worked much better as a constant descent! Thanks for your feedback though!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

This is nice! I found it a bit too slow to be really fun, but the different speeds of fish with otherwise similar patterns and a constant downward speed made the basic mechanic very satisfying.

Great look, although I think the gems looked a little out of place. They aren't really the same style as the rest.

This was really fun! Could work really well with tilt/touch controls on mobile.

:) :)

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

Controls are very, very well-polished :) Also, I like the character's face a lot, whoever the hell he/it is :D

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

Has a very old-school feel with movement only on one axis and being aware of enemy paths and patterns. Simple and effective. Interesting synth music too.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52am

Very interesting, I like the concept of delving deeper whilst dodging sea creatures

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

eerie.
long distance swimmer.

nice graphics, the water looks so hostile.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Simple and great

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

Not bad.

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55am

Always like to see a mobile-friendly entry

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

The controls feel a little laggy, at least on my computer, but the game concept is so good.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42am

Simple but fun! Great job.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Nice and simple little arcade game. Love the audio. Added a lot to the mood :) Solid game!

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

The audio really makes the deep ocean feel hostile. Simple but addictive.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I am moving like a fish, so they cant catch me :)

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Played on Android, I don't see the depth and score displays. Looks like they are placed below the screen. But nice game overall. Pretty intensive when you are near a fish and can't do much to prevent the collision. Like @NoorStudios said, feels like the next flappy bird (a.k.a. include an Android share intent to share the score ;))

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Cleverly simple game with cute graphics:) Those eels are tricky. I'm not much good, I played for ages and never made it past ~160. Good job!

ahmeni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39am

@GagaPete - Did you play in Portrait or Landscape mode? The game itself is meant for landscape so that may help? It appears I have to do some further stuff to enforce the rotation lock in Android but I may wait till later to do so as I don't own a device to test on.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57am

The sound does a good job of being very underwater-y.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59am

nice mini game

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05am

Actually pretty good! I think allowing us to swim up/down wouldve ruined the idea kind of, and this worked surprisingly well - altough I did keep pressing down to speed things up..

bazld says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48am

Cute game, I esp like the main character. Great job - the game play really smoothly.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01am

Maybe a health system that lets you get hit a few times would have made this a bit less frustrating. Because the game starts so slow, it's kind of tiring getting really far down and then losing.

The mood is great, though, and it's kind of relaxing!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11am

Nice effort and ran well. Pretty fun. Really liked the music.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

Very simple, but nothing wrong with that. Reminds me of flash games in the style of Copter Game. Games like these can be surprisingly addictive. Can't test mobile support right now, but good job on supporting those platforms!

Yaru says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01am

Surprisingly addictive! I really like the background gradually darkens as the depth increases. Very good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42am

Like the darkening background. Good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

Cute little game, I love it. I included your game in part 1 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/2Ja__FAtoAQ

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Simply game but nice :)

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice simple graphics, would have liked vertical movement control or maybe a faster dive speed. Maybe add an upgrade system if you plan to keep working on it.

lief says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

nice simple idea. i liked the way the title slowly moved up... the just left and right felt a bit limiting

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

good solid entry ..i think its better that we cant move up and done ..good job :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I liked the seamless transition from title to gameplay! Nice music!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48pm

A fair game overall. It could use some polish though. Good job!

Kuchalu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Some nice sprites!

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Neat! I liked the fact that one can't move up and down. Makes it more challenging. Great job!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Pretty simple concept, but fun enough to keep me playing. Not being able to move up/down, was annoying at first, but then added to the challenge and there for the fun. Good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Nice game mate, the audio fits really well.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Simple concept but nicely done! Good variation on the infinite runner genre.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:19am

That was awesome :) It was really hard at first but once I got the hang of it I actually did pretty good. I had a fun time.

eskivor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

Simple but interesting

Crefossus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Decent work overall and the main character is cute. Some pacing issues for me - It's a little slow going at the start but after it picks up it becomes fun.

Therrato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02pm

not bad but would make it harder or faster since its fairly slow, maybe at a speed boost on space to be able to move out of the way

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Strange not to move up and down. Nice sounds.

ReactorScram says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:59am

Can you make the Web link say "Web - Unity" or something? I don't have Unity Web Player.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:38am

My galaxy nexus says that it can't open the file after I download the apk

ahmeni says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:41am

@KevinWorkman - It may be because your device isn't set to trust 3rd party sources for files?
You could additionally try the Android App Store link - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.seanjohnson.ProductName

caranha says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:56am

The android download link did not work for me either, and I have third party apps allowed. Why is it a man file and not an APK file? Anyway, downloaded it from the play store. The game is really neat, simple but effective. I liked the backgroud noises. I think two or three lives before restarting would make the game more enjoyable. Had difficulty getting very far, but it was fun.

ahmeni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:38am

@Caranha - Weird. It's definitely an apk and it worked on my Nexus 7. I'll change the link to the Play Store anyways as it seems everyone has luck with it :)

A huuuuge thanks to everyone rating and reviewing, y'all are the best part of the whole compo :3

Catman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:45am

Nice simple game, I found the choice to keep the camera fixed to the player interesting, it is surely different from all the other games with the same theme, good job!

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:45pm

its high five! need mobile version!

conormn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Nice and simple! I like that :)

Fasox says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:15am

SImple idea, well implemented

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Very cute, I think I saw this in a journal post before. I just wish the viewport could be bigger: this game is tiny :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]