Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grave Rob

by Sanguine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grave Rob is a game about a guy named Rob. He likes robbing graves. Robbing graves gives you points, but it also gives you a nasty curse. While you're trying to rob graves, there's also ghosts who make your life difficult! If you die, you will become a grave for all the worldwide players to rob! WASD/ARROWS to move MOUSE to aim and shoot SPACEBAR to rob grave Game also has Xbox 360 controller support!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Humor3.64
#96Fun3.72
#308Overall3.44
#342Innovation3.38
#499Mood3.05
#597Audio2.68
#767Graphics2.83
#835Theme2.92
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

Wow, amazing idea :O And great execution too. Gamefeel is great!
Only thing would be that it's hard to quickly see what curse you're getting, but that may be part of the fun! Great job yo!

enosshenk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20am

Cute. Clever concept, and the gameplay is solid. Wayyyyy too many ghosts though.

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26am

The art of the screenshake, haha I really like, it's awesome ;)I really like the harlem shake hahah

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29am

Very nice. Game functions well and graphics are good. Really like the gameplay, it was pretty unique and mixed the formula up a bit.

Scoreboards where a nice touch.

9joao6 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40am

Quite an unique experience from usual LD games, I really enjoyed it! :D

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

So many ghosts :D

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

Fantastic integration on the web. Really fun to move around and play - my only regret is that once you go cursed, you don't go back.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Good idea; good job! :D

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46pm

32Bit version pls

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Yes, get us a 32-bit version dude!

Sanguine says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:21pm

So do you guys get an error when running it on 32 bit?

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Okay, managed to play it through the source. Nice piece of work, and challenging. If not impossibly difficult... love the online leaderboard stuff and graves of players.

Neonlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:11am

It's all right, I end up getting a repeat error which I'll post below. The graphical style is pretty cool but I didn't notice any gravestones. On death, this is the error I got:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get -5.averageScore(100012, -1)
at gml_Script_calculateLevel

Sanguine says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Seems like an error that happens when you don't have an internet connection, sorry!

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Cool, like the feel of the shots

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Looks neat, but my controls got revered for some reason while I was playing. Not sure if that was part of the "curse" or not

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Very Vlambeer, and I mean that in the most complimentary way. Fun idea having random curse effects. Fun entry, nice integration with the leaderboards. Nice job!

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Really love the concept of breaking the rules of the game, a personal favorite of mine :) Great execution too!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Haha, reminds me of Crimsonland. Nice idea for making graves disappear, and so on :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]