Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Earthen Terror

by arkeus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Strange creatures have been discovered beneath the surface of the island. Help unearth and destroy them before they escape and cause chaos in the world.

Controls:
Arrows - Move Cursor
Space, Z, W - Confirm, Swap Tiles
X - Cast Spell
Shift, C - Speed Up
You can mute sounds and music from the title screen using M and S.

Swap tiles to match 3 or more in a row. Dirt tiles give nothing, elemental tiles will deal damage to the nearest enemy, or provide mana for powerful spells if no enemies are on screen. Once your mana bar for a spell fills up, press X to open the spell menu, and choose the spell. Enemies will lock blocks preventing you from swapping them, so clear them before they do too much damage to the board! In goal mode you must clear the specified number of enemies, while in endless mode you survive as long as possible. You must be goal mode for a digsite to unlock endless mode. You lose if the tiles reach the top of the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Fun3.92
#56Overall3.92
#88Graphics4.08
#143Audio3.52
#282Mood3.33
#455Innovation3.20
#1094Theme2.38
#2196Coolness0%

Comments

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

I absolutely LOVE this concept, and it's so well polished!

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Oh wow, never thought of bringing back a classic! I LOVE seeing this go back again!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Cool Concept. Really enjoyed the graphics and the gameplay. Another top notch game :)

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23am

The fact that enemies can freeze tiles is an interesting new rule.
Nice guy. Graphics are awesome and really remind your others games! :)

Robinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

This is incredible!!! Can't believe the vast amount of content and juice and overall so great polished. And it was made in 48 hours of pure awesomeness! Gave you 5 in all categories except for theme got 4 and humor is empty since I'm not sure how to rate that. And I really love how you expanded on the old NES game concept in a very clever way with skills and enemies. I'm stunned, this is increadible! Kudos!

Robinerd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

One more thing, if you want to commersialize this I figure that additional game modes requiring premium might be a good business model for this games. Or perhaps premium powerups, but that might be considered evil a la King by some, so it depends on your philosophy. Anyway it's up to you but I would definitely encourage you to monetize this in some way, there is so much potential.

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Solid and well polished game! It's cool that you managed to get everything so finished! The music fits well, and while the idea is not completely original, you still managed to get a nice touch with both the enemies and elemental powerups. One of my favorites so far :)

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Pretty cool game, quite hard. It took me a while until I realized that I could swap blocks with empty air, and use that to make blocks fall.

The connection with the theme is a bit of a stretch, though.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Really great entry. Enjoyable music and solid in-puzzle graphics and effects. :)

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Very cool match 3, perfect realisation, great art, fx and feedbacks. It's just a bit too slow, the first level took me like 5 minutes to finish. Otherwise everything is great, the most polished game i've played this ludum dare ! :)

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:05am

Very original gameplay! My only complaint is that it's easy to get stuck in a place where you don't get more spells, but that's probably cause I suck. FOr 48 hours that's an amazing achievement!

May 2, 2014 @ 2:44pm

One thing I could say. Love bringing up some classics!

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Oh man, I love Tetris Attack! Playing it on keyboard is a bit fiddly (or maybe I'm a tad rusty) but all the basic strategies still work like a charm.

Adding in enemies is a nice way to freshen things up, locked blocks are frustrating in just the right way (I wish killing an enemy released all the blocks it locked, though).

May 2, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Excellent level of polish, particularly with the interface. The addition of enemies, blocked tiles, and spells adds interest and flavour to an already-solid base game.

I liked the subtlety of these changes, and felt that the balancing on "Normal" was generally pretty good. Difficult enough that I needed to pay attention to what I was doing, but not so hard that I lost interest.

An all-around excellent effort for such a small amount of time.

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I thought I was definitely over color matching puzzlers but the locking mechanics was very interesting. The spells were also very well thought of and varied.
I found it a bit difficult on normal.
Nothing to say about the technical aspect. Everything is top notch.
Fantastic entry !

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I'm so used to the Puzzle & Dragons type play now that I wish I could move the blocks vertically and not just horizontally.

Looks great, the spells are a nice touch.

Benjamin says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:25am

The execution is very good. The powerup systems made me think of tetrisgaiden on SNES. You have a nice sense to design puzzle piece, the color and designs are beautiful.
And you also have a nice little tune, so much work for 48h... Congrats !

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:41am

Swapping tiles so they fall off - I like this.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]