Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Light, It Burns!

by Zyrconium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mostly made while learning JSFML and to a lesser extent Java. Not exactly groundbreaking, or impressive, but it does fit the dictionary definition of a game AND the theme.

Any and all advice/criticism is appreciated.
EDIT: Except criticism with the word "content" in it. Those have stopped being appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1016Humor1.69
#1022Audio1.50
#1051Theme2.48
#1100Innovation2.25
#1195Mood1.71
#1209Fun1.95
#1255Graphics1.57
#1275Overall1.75
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Knowledge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Is that all?

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

The little acceleration arrows are a surprising amount of fun. Obviously there's not much depth (or content) to the game but I would totally play a finished game about zooming around on little arrows.

kikaz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:02pm

is there any end or objective ? I couldn't make it but I see the code it's possible...

kikaz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:04pm

not enough content...

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:24pm

keep at it! not sure what type of advice you're looking for but there's a great video out there called Juice It or Lose It that is very good for making games feel like something more - e.g even placeholder sounds add a lot and are not too difficult to include

JoshOS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Interesting arrow accelleration. That's all I have to say :P

sfdnetwork says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:30pm

The concept reminds me of a level from mass effect 2. But this game just doesn't have nearly enough content. Come on, you could have a random level generator to do all the work for you. Was this game made in 2hrs? You can do better than this.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Short. Regarding advice, take something old and make it your own to learn your craft. And, since you know Java, give libgdx a try. You won't regret it.

May 17, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Regarding advice, DON'T take something old and make it your own, it will make you a copycat, strip you of originality and make for a boring experience for anyone you might show it to. Instead, be fascinated by every stepping stone on your way to programming mastery.

Not sure what kind of criticism you're looking for if you don't want comments on the length, since it is pretty much impossible to give feedback to something this short. Arrows felt nice, I guess, and it was cool that it changed color in the sunlight.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]