Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Laser Match

by mokesmoe - Jam Entry

Two player versus local multiplayer.
WASD and arrows.
Match 3.
Don't get hit by lasers.
R or backspace to restart.
Match 5 in a row for fun times.

Made for TOJam, which took place at the same time as Ludum Dare. It wasn't designed with the theme in mind, but otherwise fits all criteria, and would even counted as a compo game had the times lined up better.

I actually made two games during TOJam, but can only submit one here. You can find the other one at this link: http://mokesmoe.itch.io/titlescreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Innovation(Jam)3.62
#141Fun(Jam)3.43
#305Overall(Jam)3.32
#628Graphics(Jam)2.67
#659Mood(Jam)2.41
#723Theme(Jam)2.00
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Wooo, local multiplayer! I love this game. Good work!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:06am

Kind of addicting as a puzzle, but I'm not so sure about multiplayer--you can destroy the other player but keep playing? I got 5 in a row but I'm not sure what happened.

iiechapman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Bringing on the local multiplayer I like it. It would be cool if there a bit more sound going on to keep the action interesting!

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I was having fun until I accidentally stepped into a laser and died. I think that about sums the game up.

It's pretty good, desperately could use some sound assets and maybe a bit better graphics but the mechanic is enjoyable and the puzzle solving is pretty good. It's hard to tell what is going on with regards to the bombs and lasers and I didn't even realize there was a second player until my second go through.

But, like I said - the underlying mechanic is solid and it's an enjoyable puzzle game. Well done!

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Enjoy laser chaos! Most fun in laser cascade for unpredictable laser, but deaths don't always feel avoidable. Wish for temporary invulnerability while matching, which would add tactics to Match Action (maybe you would save matches?)

Sound desire.

ActionRemix says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:48am

Combo matches are scary.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:08am

not a bad game there - graphics were really nice - felt like I was playing an old intellivision game - good job

KuGrou says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:05am

Loved the idea. Still fun even playing solo.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]