Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mad Engineer

by Garrett Hoofman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The idea I had for Beneath the Surface was an ugly robot. It didn't look like much, didn't have much for skills, but it had an intelligence. An intelligence "beneath the surface" that would allow it to break free, to think for itself.

I didn't get as far as I had intended, so it's a brief game as is. Also had some music trouble with the audio system so I'm including a version with and with out sound.

*REMOVED THIS VERSION => * SOUND version may crash the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1798Coolness35%

Comments

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:38am

I like the style of the game, the artwork is very well done too, great work !

Mufm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

Very clever and cute game. I would love to see where a project like this could go. The artwork is fantastic and humorous.

5/5 stars. Would play a finished version.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16am

Clever interpretation of the theme! I like the graphical design. Too bad it was so short, i was really stoked to learn more about the robot :)

voidqk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:19am

"The program can't start because OpenAL32.dll is missing from your computer." :-(

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:21am

Sadly, I can't run the game. I'm getting a generic 'Application was unable to start correctly' error...

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Ha ha - I like where you're going with this... one question - how do you imagine it evolving into a game that has multiple paths? Or will it be primarily a puzzle game that has only one "answer" per room/challenge?

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Crashes after I press A :(

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:47pm

@archaeometrician Thanks! Definitely spent the majority of my time on the art, still feels like programmer art, but maybe polished programmer art?

@Mufm Thanks Mufm!

@Simon@LD Thank you, definitely had (like everyone else) bigger plans for a longer game, but that time management...

@voidqk Those dependencies... bah, I added OpenAL32.dll to the zip file, hopefully it'll work now.

@Xeke_Death :( I'm using in a development engine, there are quirks yet, this was the first time I used it to try creating a release version.

@mrspeaker I definitely envisioned multiple paths, an idea of the you (as the robot) deciding a multitude of end choices between rage and destruction on man-kind, love and peace, etc. (IE hitting the theme even harder, with it being all in the mind of the AI). Definitely still a puzzle based game though, but with multiple choices.

@sudorossy :/ did you try the one without Audio?

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Could not run, failed on start. Tried non-sound version.

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:31pm

tried both the sound and no sound version, bot fail on startup.

Skipi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

I'm getting the same error that Errongal is.

"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application"

I get this with both sound and no sound versions.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:01am

Using this rather cool tool : http://www.dependencywalker.com/
I found that the XInput1_4.dll was an x64 dll running against an x86 compiled application. I'm hoping that's the issue.
If it's not, there's a good chance that it has something to do with video card differences with regards to the textures (too large, not necessarily powers of 2, etc)
I've re-compiled the XInput.lib into the Application.exe so it should run now :/ hopefully.

RikardKarlsen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:17am

Wont start. I miss MSVCR100D.dll on my computer.

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:24am

Not a valid Win32 application.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

Like Rikard said, The MS Visual C++ Runtime is missing.

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:12am

Yeah... I'm missing the MSVCR100D.dll too

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:45am

Missing some MSVCR dlls...

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:27am

Couldn't play the game T.T some dll issue like everyone else

Bashosha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Nice work!

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:37pm

The MSVCR100D.dll is an easy fix, it was an issue in my entry. I'm assuming you compiled in MSVC?

Go to C/C++ Properties -> Code Generation and under Runtime Library select Multi-threaded (/MT) or Multi-threaded Debug (/MTd). Since it seems you compiled in Debug configuration, you want Multi-threaded Debug (/MTd). That'll statically link that library into your executable.

Also, your fix for the 0xc000007b error worked, although on the public computer I'm also getting the MSVC DLL error. It'll work on my home comp, I'm sure.

Skipi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:03am

Ok, got to play the game.

Big question, though. Are you/were you planning on using neural networks as part of the game? (Since you mention them on the whiteboard) :P

It's a neat idea, and the artwork looks nice. It's too bad it's so short :/

May 2, 2014 @ 12:41am

@Skipi Bah, I had done that, must have overridden it with a non /MTd at some point.
No Neural Networks, it would be cool to add it in somehow though, it would give the robot a little bit of flare :)
If I were to continue with the game, I wanted the robot to slowly build up, more intellect (aka moves/skills), more body parts (legs, arms, torso, etc), other robot characters to interact with (predecessors). Primarily though I wanted it to be about the mind of an AI growing, and the choices it would/could make.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Cute!

JoeProgram says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:17am

Couldn't run it. Got "The program can't start because MSVCR100D.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the prgram to fix this problem." Running on Windows 8 machine.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Yeah I also couldn't get past the "MSVCR100D.dll is missing" error. Bummer, the screenshots looked cool.

danbo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Missing DLL, couldn't play. MSVCR100D.dll... might be a Visual Studio Redistributable thing. Sorry.

May 17, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Yup, same dll issue.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]