Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Guy's Terrarium

by kikito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

- BAD GUY'S TERRARIUM -

Deep in the depths, an unknown evil strikes the earth. Repeatedly.

Touched by evilness, vile creatures emerge from the depths.

The prophecy says that heroes will come and liberate this forsaken once and for all.

But today is not that day. Hence evil is free to click around unmolested.


- COMMENTARY -

My original intention was creating "Bad Guy's Lair", a dungeon simulator in the style of "What Did I Do To Deserve This, My Lord?!"

Unfortunately I ran out of time - so you get a glorified terrarium instead.

- REQUIREMENTS -

* love2d.org (unless until I am able to prepare proper packages for windows/mac)
* Mouse
* Monitor >= 1024x768.

- CONTROLS -

* Scroll up/down/left/right with the arrow keys or putting the mouse near a border.
* The mouse wheel zooms in/out
* Clicking "digs". You can only digg next to already digged grond.
* Hover over a tile / monster to see information about them

- BESTIARY -

All monsters lose hp slowly and will eventually die

SLUGS: They are hatched from a tile with less than 10 food. They move in straight lines until they hit a wall. If the wall has at least 1 food, and the slug has food, it gets injected on the wall. The slug might absorb food from the walls it touches to regain health. When a slug dies carrying food, a mushroom is produced.

MUSHROOMS: They gradually liberate food to the solid tiles around them, until they die. If they are carrying food when they die, two slugs will be produced.

RATS: They move fast and are very cute. Hatched from a tile with between 11 and 16 food. They should eat slugs and mushrooms (they don't). They eventually die.

GOBLINS: They look like demons, but they are goblins. They hatch from cells with > 16 food. They should eat rats, and attack heroes, but they don't. Also, we have no heroes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1989Coolness22%

Comments

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00am

Nice idea! Would like to see it developed further :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

As a terrarium, this is pretty awesome. Consider expanding on this!

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Good job! You should go further with this!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Pretty creative game. I'd like to play it with everything finished!

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:49am

There's a lot of potential in this game! Nice!

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This is un fun sandbox :) If you spent as much time playing with it than I did, I understand how you ran out of time :P

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:53pm

shame you ran out of time, but it seems like a promising start!

kristof says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Nice idea. I could see this expanded further into a game where you have to balance the population of different creatures to keep the system alive... Very inspiring!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]