Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig for Unobtanium

by Rialgar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple digging game, find the unobtanium.

WASD/Arrow Keys to move.
Space to activate a bomb, you get three per dig.

Toggle music with M and sfx with E.

Best in Google Chrome, tested in Firefox, should run in any WebGL capable browser.

Edit: There IS unobtanium, if you get lazy, you can see its location logged in the js console of your browser, 0 0 is top left.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#156Fun3.58
#166Theme3.73
#272Mood3.35
#360Overall3.38
#371Audio3.04
#686Graphics2.96
#690Innovation2.88
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

yetanother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I've always liked upgrade games. Could be cool to have you "Mineral" count when you are minig. Nice work.

unprompted says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Progression felt nice.

Photon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Its a little slow to start off, and there is the glaring issue of the fact that I can't even see if I found the unobtainium on the menu. :(

All that being said, its a solid concept that executes what it has well. I will admit that I found it amusing to tear through the top levels with a fully upgraded drill. Some hits and misses here, but overall its a good solid game.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Very nice. Finally all these hours perfecting mining techniques in Minecraft are paying !

I found that the fact that when you are not perfectly aligned with the block makes your drilling doubled annoying (but logic). It would be better if the game automagically realigned the drill so you are always mining only one block.

One of the best entry so far :)

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Nice game, it was kinda too dark for me at the beggining but it felt really cool when i first upgraded the drill :D you could make the ore names popup when you get them, or at least an icon, when it's dark its hard to figure out what you're getting

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Pretty nice!

I think it started off way too dark. At first, I had no idea what the heck I was doing because I couldn't really see anything.

I liked that your light dimmed over time as your batteries dies.

It felt oddly satisfying to just plow through the upper layers with a fully upgraded drill.

Also, does it only spawn 1 Unobtanium each time? The first time I really looked for it, I got to the bottom of the map and swept back and forth a couple times without being able to find it. I may have confused it with a diamond, though.

Anyways, pretty fun!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Nice little digging game with an upgrade system, good work!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Nice and fun game. Good job :)

KayZ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09pm

A bit dark in the beginning and at first I was irritated when the upgrade screen popped up. Thought it was getting darker because I got deeper. Took me a while to realize it's getting darker because my energy is running low.

Felt nice in the end to cut through the walls like a warm knife through butter. I also liked those big bombs.

Sumizome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Addictive little game... Progression seems nicely balanced...

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Really interesting :o at first thought "meh, too dark, too slow" but then when I started upgrading I kept wanting to play more ^^

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Okay, lets get the criticism out of the way first:
- The first upgrade screen took me really by surprise. After a few rounds, you see that the fading light works like a timer, but in the first round you are too busy digging all those sweet materials to see that.
- The unobtanium looks nearly like a freakin' diamond. Seriously? >( (I even checked the source code to see if there even IS any unobtanium or if this was a prank.)

That said: Solid and fun! The minimalistic graphics left me a bit unimpressed at first, but they work well (except for that damn unobtanium) - and once the upgrading started, I was totally drawn in. And boy, did it feel good to upgrade the drill and the light! And the bombs in the end - yeah, I have no idea how the drill still works after that explosion, haha.

The drilling sound effect is perfect. The explosion annoyed me at first, but that lessened after a while. The music gives the whole thing an unexpectedly solemn atmosphere.

All in all, pretty well made!

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:40pm

It's a nice 'buy stuff to get further' game, but I feel like there is missing something. There could have been more of a challenge. Right now to me it's mindlessly digging down. Other than that, the audio an graphics are okay.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

YES! I DID IT! THE DAMN UNOBTANIUM IS MINE!
http://puu.sh/8sO1a.jpg
*runs away*

SK16Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

YES! FOUND IT!! very nice game :D

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Nice game, took me a while to found the unobtanium. In the middle of the game it gets a bit tiresome, but the beginning and the end is fun. I miss an indicator how many and what kind of resource is mined. The graphics for the unobtainium could be nicer, maybe animated. And an additional compass as most expensive option to buy would be nice.

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:16am

Honestly, at first I didn't like it, a digging game too dark. But after the first upgrade I think the game trapped me and it the end, this is the most important. "I need more iron to buy more light!"
"I know that I need a better batteries to go down, but I like to drill faster!"

Cool 48 hour game, thumbs up!

Sparrow says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Good game! I got all the upgrades but still couldn't find the unobtanium so I think you should make a final upgrade Unobtanium Scanner or something. :D

Custard Games says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Cool game. Reminds me of motherload. Starts off a bit slow, especially when trying to get enough gold. Could have been paced a bit faster.

thenmal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Yay I found the unobtanium. The pacing on the upgrades could have felt a little better, having to back and 'farm' iron to buy the higher level things when I was exploring the blue areas that lacked iron I could have done without. Good 48 hour game though, I enjoyed it.

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Good game!
Upgrades and bombs! Nice ^^

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Neat little game. I wish there was a compass or map or something to give me a clue which direction to head.

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Enjoyable, though eventually tiresome. It's always fun to upgrade and progress in these types of games, but the mechanic was not that interesting, and really it was the mood and sense of progression that made it more than anything else. I mean, there's definitely more good than bad, don't get me wrong, but I just feel like the gameplay could be expanded upon. Also found it weird how you could drill up into the air.

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:34pm

One of the best games for me

Belvar says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Really adictive game with clever ideas to make the player continue to dig again and again. The music and sound effects are good !

Erkberg says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:35am

There he is, digging for the most valuable minerals in the world and can't buy the next upgrade because he has no iron, the irony! :)
That aside, I really love upgrade games and this is a good one, kept me entertained until the end. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]