About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 20 hours, 14 minutes, 28 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 20 hours, 26 minutes, 28 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 21 hours, 14 minutes, 28 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Drowning in Problems - Notch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    I started with a pretty simple idea, and kept simplifying it as I was working on it. Finished very early.

    View Notch's journal. | View all entries by Notch

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #147Innovation3.72
    #153Mood3.60
    #515Humor2.48
    #532Overall3.20
    #588Theme3.23
    #972Fun2.51
    #1061Audio1.29
    #1256Graphics1.54

    Comments

    mechabit says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 2:31pm

    It looked like it was going to be like candy box with more mechanics gradually being added but doesn't really go anywhere. It's interesting how you can decide to live your life, maybe spend all your time making money but I wanted to see what else can be unlocked and died fairly quickly.

    MrTang says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

    You should've made it a little better visual looking :I

    Apr 26, 2014 @ 2:41pm

    This is actually really great on a metal side of things.
    The thought put into this game was great, and really paid of user end.

    I love how its minimalistic, so its not in your face, and it just has an overall great goal to it. Life

    lorniebear says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

    I find it interesting, like a cross between the sims and sid meyer's civilisation.

    Since you've finished early, and you are my personal hero, maybe you could play my game?

    Setriox says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

    Wow. Just wow. This brought tears on my face. It was beautiful. And I am not sarcastic.

    Patacorow says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 3:30pm

    Very interesting. A bit too long in the end, but it's nice.

    wupto says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 3:52pm

    Got me that Bioshock Infinite ending feeling at the end a little... :)

    shasharala says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 3:58pm

    Wow. This is somewhat inspiring. I have been stuck since the jam began, going over what languages I am familiar with and what I feel comfortable using to make a game. Most of my skill is in HTML and C++. Alhough, I have not done anything in C++ in years, not to mention that I never did deal with graphics and games back when I did do C++, so it has not been a option I have been considering for this jam. ( Even though I would love to strengthen that skill at a later point.)

    For my project I have been working with Twine, but I really prefer being able to see the code and manipulate everything at a smaller level. While it is possible to edit the source of the HTML file Twine outputs there is a lot of text I do not understand, seeing as the program implements various classes, variables, etc. without the user's interaction.

    Long story short, seeing this, made in Dart, has made my day. I am going to learn Dart! I do not even care if I finish my game in time for the jam. I am going to give it one heck of a try, of course, but this is going to be fun!

    Thank you, for the inspiration and for what is actually a really fun and minimalist game about the human condition. I have not finished it yet, after playing for a bit I had to take a look at the code to see what was making it tick, but this is beautiful so far.

    Cheers!

    csanyk says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

    Beneath the surface, this is a deep game. On the surface, not much to see. Subtle use of theme.

    emansuper says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 6:13pm

    Well done

    jacobrb95 says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 7:04pm

    I really like the simplicity of it, and how you can truly choose how to live your life.

    zaratustra says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 8:24pm

    I guess Depression Quest was already taken as a title.

    godshawk says ...
    Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:30pm

    I love how this game works; it's a really good idea. Had fun playing it.

    Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:03am

    You make great games Notch. My six year old brother is currently addicted to Minecraft and he's always begging me to help him with it because half the time he doesn't know what he's doing. Your games are quite interesting and often appeal to people of many ages.

    My friends and I are currently working on a game for the jam, though we fear it might not be done by monday night, but we don't plan to quit working on it until it's done. It takes a similar approach to the theme as your game; "beneath the surface" as in a very deep game. Our game focuses more on human nature, transhumanism, and the intrinsic flaws in the idea of a utopia, while yours focuses on a human life, but the two are still similar in the respect that they are both quite deep.

    At first when I started playing this, I expected something short and simple, but I quickly found out how wrong I was! This is a great game from a great developer and I'd love to see more games as creative as this.

    trueyomic says ...
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:46am

    I was confused at first, but despite its simplicity it has a lot to say. Nice little introspective game. Nobody who is depressed or is having an existential crisis should play this game, however.

    ViliX says ...
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:27am

    Wow, great concept. I agree with trueyomic.

    Linus123xbb says ...
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:32am

    Wow, it's a very interesting game, and best of all, it is only 255 lines of code, this really motivates me to create a game of my own.

    Hinds says ...
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:50pm

    Interesting use of the theme. Deep game yet simple, great work!

    Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01am

    Interesting take. I like the philosophical angle!

    Boodog says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

    Cool game. I didn't understand it at first, and then I started to get the hang of it. Good work!

    Gap says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

    Interesting concept with lots of philosophical character.

    Techblogogy says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12am

    Fecking the BEST! First place!

    PaperBlurt says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05am

    Don't really get it I'm afraid.
    But it's way minimalistic.

    rnlf says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11am

    Probably not my kind of game :-( Don't like the grinding aspect of it. Made it only to "You're a Human". No idea where it leads, but I lost interest :-(

    deadarius says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

    But where are my freaking shaders man?

    shuanDang says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

    well paced, and thoroughly enjoyed!

    anbreizh says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

    Surprising. Kind of fun, but I don't see the link with the theme.

    Idkfawin32 says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

    Not surprised at how awesome this turned out to be

    Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

    Lost interest after clicking too much.
    But I thought there was something too it in the end (because it's in dart?) but I couldn't keep on going.

    gre says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

    awesome take on the theme, minimalist but still interesting. also a bit creepy!

    nicoper says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

    Nice game, as usually

    Split82 says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02pm

    First when I saw this game I thought it's an error on the website. The game is awesome. If it has some "more" visuals I would say its really really awesome.

    Kevathiel says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

    I really like the idea, but it takes way too long later.

    Strandmullen says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

    This game was something new and unexpected. Great interpretation of the theme. It did what it was supposed to do perfect!

    burgerdare says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

    I have to be honest and say that I didn't really enjoy this. It seems like there's something cool going on in terms of what I guess could be called story, but the gameplay is ... lacking.
    It feels like an idle game with the automation cut out, which is the core mechanic of all idle games.

    BruceDoh says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

    Very interesting concept.

    Gins says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

    Simple but effective.

    pighead10 says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38pm

    Falls under the "pretentious non game" category for me. No fun !

    ENDESGA says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

    Very very deep and meaningful game.
    A tear almost ran down my cheek.

    I will remember this.

    Kerdelos says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

    I like the idea but in my opinion the loading times are annoying.

    kbm says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

    I really liked this. It's about as minimalist as it gets but with a lot of attention to detail and empathy. Interesting and rewarding experience.

    DrMelon says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19am

    Very moody and thought provoking, but there isn't a very strong link to the theme.

    Almost says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

    I didn't realize for a while that I could perform multiple tasks simultaneously.

    sportsquid says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

    I really like this game. I really like the angle of the theme it is going at. Instead of going underground like most of the games, this game goes beneath the surface of life.

    Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53am

    This is actually really great on a metal side of things.
    The thought put into this game was great, and really paid of user end.

    I love how its minimalistic, so its not in your face, and it just has an overall great goal to it. Life

    Lacaranian says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

    Pretty nihilistic there, Notch. Nice presentation though.

    Solifuge says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31am

    Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

    Note: SPOILERS AHOY

    I was really impressed with this entry. Since the theme of clicker games is "click more to get more stuff and accomplish goals," with the goal to minimize one's time investment on the way, your game furnishes an excellent deconstruction. Though at first memories and experiences provide a functional value (when the goal is growing), they soon stop providing a means to an end and are merely extraneous (when the goal is to decay).

    I can actually remember, quite clearly, the moment when I chose to stop gathering memories and experiences, since I had learned that they were pointless and I was tired of clicking on things. I'd become disheartened in my attempts to enjoy formative experiences and gave up. I didn't really want to buy things or advance in my career anymore--I wanted to find out if more stuff would happen if I kept trying to fall in love, make projects, and play--but before too long I decided to just progress and get it over with. It's a game that makes you choose to kill yourself, because you'd rather do that than keep playing it.

    But in theory, you could spend the rest of your life in the real world "solving" these "problems." It's just that the goal is to limit time investment. Right?

    I found the experience of waiting to be forgotten exhausting. It seemingly took forever for the timer to run out, and I tabbed away because I didn't want to watch anymore--didn't want to assist at my own funeral.

    And then, because I really had lost my hope somewhere along the lines that I could keep playing and something would be different, I closed the browser window and didn't try again.

    Thanks for this experience. It's really... top notch ;]

    Clavus says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

    Slightly depressing, but a great piece of personal work. :)

    01101101 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

    This was a cool experience, it really touched me. Nice work.

    Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15pm

    I love how you captured different stages in life

    Jared Sartin says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35pm

    Wow. Life is complicated. Great way to show the human condition.

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

    I love how you have to aim for bad experiences to be "more human". poetic in a sense.

    I liked that one, good job

    mat1er says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:44pm

    Great and innexpexted

    TobiasW says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19pm

    As a game, this one is not very interesting to me, but it works well as a persiflage of our metrics-driven world. I like the "ending" a lot!

    furriKira says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

    You are forgotten. [100%]
    I cried.

    sharpcoder says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00pm

    This was amazingly introspective. Possibly the most unique take on the theme this go-round. Very impressive. I think I spent more time with this entry than I did with any other.

    Moebius says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31pm

    Interesting. And brilliant. Kudos!

    icereci says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36pm

    But I don't want to move on :(

    DazKins says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

    Really interesting innovation, not sure how this fits in with the theme to much though. Still, great job!

    donan says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11pm

    Good work :D
    Really interesting concept ^^

    Korwegian says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

    My toddler was so smart he turned into the starchild from 2001.

    Secret_Tunnel says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:23pm

    Very neat idea. It didn't resonate too much with me personally, but I can definitely appreciate it. Wasn't sure whether to give you a high score or a low score for Theme; opted to give you a high one because it was an interesting take on the theme.

    HybridMind says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13am

    I enjoyed playing this a good bit. It is like a lot of those "clicking" games (like Candy Box or Cookie Clicker) but a nice twist on those genres. I find it interesting how compelling it is to wait to see "what's next?". I like how the text evolves in this. Cool premise for sure.

    GertJohnny says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:10am

    Excellent usage of Dart :)

    I too, was reminded of games like cookie clicker and candy box, but this one did feel like it had more meaning than simply clicking away.

    x1212 says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:35am

    Is there a way to get some kind of "good ending"?

    Keehan12 says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:02am

    was a weird game but had a cool concept actually! I agree that you could have made it look nicer as it's only basic text but other than that, it could be a good start to a game

    voidqk says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06am

    very bittersweet :-) evoked emotion just through text and percentages... good impact for such simplicity

    Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:25am

    And now I'm sad. :)

    I ended up lonely, bitter and accepting and I died! I tried to not lose friends. Life is hard.

    Nice game.

    Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:26am

    Interesting take on the theme and was good to see how the different steps of life appeared with their own traits.

    fullmontis says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:28am

    This is very profound under its minimalistic aspect. I really enjoyed it. 5 stars for mood.

    PriorBlue says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06pm

    Wow, this game is really sad at the end. [spoiler]Especially the "last" click + waiting time[/spoiler]. You really know, how to make interesting games ;)

    hyouko says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:27pm

    Spoilers!

    Feels buddhism-inspired. Not a happy game, but we probably need more unhappy games.

    (If this is in any way reflects on how you're feeling right now, hang in there!)

    quill18 says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39pm

    This game made me very happysad.

    It was wonderful.

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:54pm

    That was an amazing experience. great interpretation of the theme.

    Crazi456 says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22pm

    Very interesting stuff!

    Newt_ says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:39pm

    Very interesting!

    eugman says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:22pm

    I really enjoyed this. It felt like playing a poem.

    TheExGenesis says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:35pm

    Ran it all the way through. It was a nice text based approach, but could've had more depth

    ElStevo says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

    Greate variation on the theme. I like the way you simplified the life of an human being. Being forgotten is taking so long.

    Good game !

    Tipyx says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 6:36am

    Wow... Well played Notch...

    shatley123 says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 6:45am

    To be honest I don't really get it :P

    Muciojad says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 7:51am

    Originally and simple, but a little boring over time ;)

    nesis says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 8:44am

    I love the idea, and the time waiting just gets you thinking and contemplating it all. Pretty cool. I'm just wanting to see a Driver's Licence [0%] somewhere... :p

    jellymann says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 9:58am

    Beautiful, sad, simple, powerful.

    jtpup0 says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 1:01pm

    The need to constantly solve our problems one by one made into a simple incrementor text game, I like how as you play you become more and more overwhelmed by the variables that are added, such is life I guess.. Nice game

    Anoarith says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 1:22pm

    Really sad :(

    Garris says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 5:25pm

    This is a really interesting core concept. I'm not really much of a fan of being this heavily text-based, but it really made me take a look at life in a different way. It's as if a computer is running life.exe, and I'm watching the console log. Very thought-provoking, and very unique.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 5:43pm

    I just kept spamming "solve". I love candy box so I was expecting more gameplay from this.

    I appreciate the experimental/philosophical side of the game, though.

    cageinabird says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 6:00pm

    Clever. Others may have found it depressing, but I laughed at the end. :D

    tomvert says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 6:19pm

    That's... deep.

    matt_j says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 6:30pm

    Cool. :)

    Lucariatias says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 6:31pm

    Quite an interesting entry, and nothing if not innovative. There is beauty in it's simplicity, though it also restricts it in terms of scope, as it's very short and dragged out by time delays.

    May 1, 2014 @ 6:54pm

    Sitting here while I wait to be forgotten... it was kind of hard to play as you went through it, slowly realising what you are simulating and what you are heading towards. Definitely moving in its own way

    loxo says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 7:13pm

    This game is very deep and makes you think about life, what's important and what's not. Only some music is missing and could enhance the mood, I think.

    SK16Games says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 8:06pm

    so deep and sad :'( many feels :') Great game! This really shows how you can make a very good game, without any graphics, but with a deep story :D

    Wertle says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 4:34am

    Introspective and a little depressing -_- I'm going to go think about my life now.

    ezombort says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 11:29am

    Cool concept :)

    May 2, 2014 @ 2:41pm

    I enjoyed this little game more than I thought was possible. Well done, once again ;)
    Since you finished so early, it'd been interesting to see you make some music though!
    Maybe next time :3

    louiscarl says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 3:42pm

    Great take on the theme! Taking the mechanics that made games like candy box so popular to make a deeper game was a great idea.

    May 2, 2014 @ 4:08pm

    I'm not really sure what to think about this? I played to the end to see where you were going with it, but I didn't really find it "fun" as such. I'm just kind of depressed now. I guess that's the point. Next time please make another game about wearing lots of hats and you have a gun that shoots tiny men, to cheer me up, thanks.

    DeathBread says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 4:44pm

    Very interesting piece of work! :)

    shane1090 says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 11:12pm

    Interesting concept - very thought provoking!

    May 3, 2014 @ 5:13am

    Cool game, great concept! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/vjBlRj2wHy8

    jhrrsn says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 7:38am

    This is a really interesting little game. Made me think.

    xk says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 9:49am

    Too deep for me sorry.

    PaperBlurt says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 11:01am

    Ok so I played it again.
    Got more into this time around.
    More than the last.

    Philosophical but with a bit of "random clicker thingy" attached to it.

    whilefun says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 2:49pm

    Very interesting entry, nice job.

    Gamepopper says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 8:49pm

    This is fun on a technical level, as well as how it's true to real life in how you can try to accomplish all goals but they all come at costs and challenges. Shame it's not as eye catching as previous submissions.

    BuriTeam says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 12:47am

    Pretty cool. So Hope is really the last one that dies huh.
    Nice way to make a text-based, story game. Liked it.

    RikardKarlsen says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 12:54am

    Very nice! I thought before I played it that it would be hard to rate one of your games (you're my idol, and you brought me into the world of indie games, which I now love so much). Thankfully your game was super, so I didn't have to think too too much.

    May 4, 2014 @ 2:45am

    Simple, but effective. Good use of the theme and a great way to tell the story of life and how it feels to try and balance the challenges of life.

    bob_fish says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 4:06am

    Wow, that was intense. Pretty Awesome!

    Ditto says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 5:04am

    Really interesting, but I don't see how it fits to the theme at all! Seeing the different choices that comes up feels like getting a glimpse into your own experiences! Thanks for that! :)

    Maek says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 8:44am

    Chip, a german Computer magazine, reported about this game: http://www.chip.de/news/Drowning-in-Problems-Neues-vom-Minecraft-Macher_69509186.html

    Please vote for my game:http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34033

    Markus,16

    Teesquared says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 10:23pm

    I've never had a craving for a fortune cookie until I played your game... Hurry up percent counter, you're making me hungry.

    ZYXer says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 12:10am

    I rarely feel sad after playing a Ludum Dare game. But I think that's good. We need games to feel sad sometimes.

    May 6, 2014 @ 11:33am

    An art game which meaning and form are very connected, and managed to make me think about life, well done !

    Catman says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 6:29pm

    Interesting concept and subtle implementation. Nice.

    May 7, 2014 @ 5:22pm

    Nice game :) It reminds me Candy Box

    May 8, 2014 @ 8:25am

    So many needs but never the need to go to the bathroom?

    Interesting idea, and it certainly has a mood in its simplicity. Feels a bit like reading a novel. As a game, it's not very challenging. You can run through it quickly by pressing tab and enter repeatedly. But as an experience, I like it.

    GFM says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

    I really liked this... and it really amazed me.

    That's life, "beneath the surface"... Living it self is a problem to be solved. You try to solve it by breaking it in smalls tasks... but you'll get overwhelmed by it sooner or later. But no one tells you what to do. You choose what you need and how to get it, trying to make the most of the journey. After all, you are left with nothing by the end of it... but did you enjoy it?
    I think that's what you meant...

    Thank you for this amazing experience (and food for thought XD).

    lekochen says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

    I like it. Thank you.

    romandtom says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 6:51am

    Notch so pro :0
    If it had graphics it could be even more awesome

    Striwx says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 1:32pm

    Love the story

    Thorig says ...
    May 10, 2014 @ 7:22am

    Too bed sex doesn't gives "-Stress" too, but I do like this core state game.

    pixelpig says ...
    May 10, 2014 @ 12:45pm

    Pretty pointless, to be honest, I had no fun playing it, it was just me clicking solve over again. Its a nice idea but it wasn't particularly enjoyable and doesnt relate to the theme much.

    Scam says ...
    May 11, 2014 @ 11:53am

    The concept was good but the game itself turned quite fast to be nothing more than pointless clicking.

    May 11, 2014 @ 2:37pm

    kind of got it .. i think .. good effort :)

    f7f5 says ...
    May 11, 2014 @ 2:44pm

    Interesting for the take on the theme and the poetic content. The gameplay was like constantly hitting "solve" without really thinking.

    rujo says ...
    May 12, 2014 @ 3:36pm

    kinda got hooked to it without a real reason :D

    joe40001 says ...
    May 13, 2014 @ 8:10am

    If you wanted to make a depressing cookie clicker type game you did alright.

    You achieved what you were going for, but it wasn't my cup of tea. Honestly I think you should have submitted this game under a different username, because I think you would have gotten more fair/honest reviews.

    I know it's not supposed to be fun, it's supposed to be "meaningful" but it just felt (and I'm sorry to say this because you seem nice and everything) it felt self-congratulatory. Like you could see in your mind what articles people would write about the subtle genius of this game.

    Again, idk, maybe I'm just bitter/cynical. But I think if this was a double blind review and nobody knew it was you who made this game it would be received less well.

    Which obviously isn't a knock to you as a programmer, because you achieved likely exactly what you wanted to do, but I think this game is better as an idea than a game. It's just not fun (which it's not trying to be) and not insightful (which I think it is trying to be).

    Sad people are sad, hopeless people are hopeless, from my specific vantage point (and it could just be my own issues) but to highlight this point through an increasingly tedious cookie clicker type game is to trivialize it, if anything, not to elevate it.

    Also the calculus of it all is bogus, you have to lose friends to get experience? You have to make love/get a broken heart to stop being a teen? And with tons of friends/sex/money/stuff you get terminally depressed because your ambitions don't work?

    Life is good, Notch, so why make a game that ruminates on the premise that it is otherwise? I don't get the point of this game (and "not getting the point" is not the point, other commentators who might say this).

    It's not fair to other people if this is treated as groundbreaking when it would almost assuredly be overlooked if made by an unknown person. So in summary: You are a nice guy and good game developer but I truly didn't care for what you were going for with this game. (And I did watch all of the ending too)

    Eniko says ...
    May 14, 2014 @ 9:00pm

    Interesting concept, decent execution, can't help but wonder if it's autobiographical. I think I understand where you were going with this, but I'm not sure I 100% like the idea of creating leads to failure leads to bitterness leads to death and being forgotten.

    voxel says ...
    May 15, 2014 @ 9:43am

    I feel a little silly waiting out the last phase, but i guess i hadn't actually lost my hope after all.

    Nanolotl says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 3:34am

    Was interesting, but the end really just seemed like it was wasting time. 15 minutes of waiting doesn't really add anything to the experience.

    iambored2006 says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 5:07am

    Hey! I mentioned your game in this post- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/18/10-games-that-resonated-with-me/ , along with some feedback. I'd love to hear what you have to say!

    conormn says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 10:23pm

    Lovely idea and entry, very much enjoyed it :)

    Tosic says ...
    Jun 28, 2014 @ 7:18pm

    The best text game ever, you are the man Notch!!!

    Aden Manson says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:27pm

    I think that this game really helps people to understand themselves, this game should be used in a inspectional speech, to be visually and mentally observed throughout time. :) Nice work Markus Persson.

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]