Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dive

by quickfingers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow. So pleased I actually completed this one. There were times when I was sure I would be nowhere near, but somehow, I made it. The timelapse will say a lot more than I can about this process but rest assured it was unique and experimental. This shit will be documented.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Audio4.11
#22Overall4.11
#28Mood4.12
#30Graphics4.37
#41Theme4.02
#189Fun3.52
#402Innovation3.29
#669Humor2.28
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

This is great! Love the exploration, and the music fits really well :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45am

Really really beautiful. Sorrowful and solitary. Well done!

Thank you for the standalone builds; the webplayer was running really badly on my computer.

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Lovely graphics, nice little pod with fun water drilling motion. But I never really understood the controls nor the O2 mechanics. I found it easiest to continue below the surface without O2 and hard while having O2. It also ran out so very quickly.

Air-pockets, sharks and more of that to make it into a full game. But really nice start.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Have been playing this one longer than any other game so far.

Really great excecution. I like that you can just stay underwater until your O2 runs out and then shoot to the surface. Really really good. Visuals are great as well.

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Very good game! The music is fantastic. It reminds me a bit of World of Goo's soundtrack. Well done!

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Nice graphics and very fitting music!

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Very well done. Fit the theme perfectly, great graphics, awesome sound.

bakpakin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

I think the great graphics really stand out. The controls and the dive system were lots of fun. but I kept smashing by dive thing. I just love the look, though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Great game, but O2 run out quicly, and turning is a little slow

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Very good! Excellent atmosphere!

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Great lighting and style. The music was very nice too!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Great aesthetics, really fun gameplay, and it really fits the theme. Nice work!

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Awesome style and mood. Simple game, but everything seemed to come together. Not often 48 hour games manage to pack in neat graphics, sound and music like this. One of the best so far :)

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Awesome game and awesome sound!

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Nice atmosphere with the sounds and visuals. You really did a great job on that one !

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Gorgeous.

borrismoose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Wow talk about nailing the mood! Well done for creating such a slick and polished game.

st33d says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I'm wondering why the O2 has to charge up on the surface instead of instantly refilling. It makes diving a bit tedious as you have to sit there holding up before you can dive again.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Fun! I like how you're propelled upward after running out of O2, and how you have to get your research back after crashing.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Difficult! Or I'm just really bad at it. Bloody gorgeous though

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice complete feeling. Good atmosphere!

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

It's too easy to die and gets frustrating to lose all money.
I dig the art style and unique controls.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Some excellent touches in there - the lighting, the underwater effect, the bubbles and the rain. Everything comes together to make a satisfying game.

jorgemoag says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:53am

Very cool. +5 graph +5 sound +5 mood

shane1090 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Really enjoyed playing this! The art style and music were superb and the game fit the theme very well! Admittedly though I don't think I should ever be put in charge of submersible in real life based on this experience!

MrBlade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:43pm

A very fun game with great sounds, nice graphics, and solid gameplay. I would buy this.

gardrek says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:23am

Wanted to try compiling it for Linux, but the source link is dead. Have you tried porting to Linux yet?

quickfingers says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:02am

linux port : http://www.quickfingers.net/builds/dive/dive_nix.zip

Eela11 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:42am

This game is so awesome! I love and have always loved these sort of games (finding stuff, upgrading, finding more stuff). I hope there is more of these games!

Dramentiaras says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Looks beautiful! It's really fun to play and the musics fits perfectly. Played soooo much! The animation is great.

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Really fantastic game, all the little visual touches make it so great! The music and risk/reward system are amazing as well!

bob_fish says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:57am

Very nice, found a the controls slightly annoying at times but overall very nice!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I don't know what it is about seeing somewhere you can't go yet, eventually upgrading, and then finally being able to brave the new areas that is so exciting and rewarding but it was a ton of fun.

Awesome execution too, my only wish is that you could build up more speed when rising from the depth enough to jump over a rock on the surface :D

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Holy crap, how did you get so many plays on kongregate?

CodeNMore says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Fun game, well made!

May 10, 2014 @ 11:14am

Very nice job. Outstanding music, and the visual are very nice. Controls are tight. This is a great job for 48hrs.

May 10, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I went back and finished it. Wasn't sure there was an ending, but the game deserved to be played. I had 5,000 in 3 categories and was running out of coins. Finally found an object underwater and swam into it.

Great game!

Zccc says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great mechanics and mood :)

l3dx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Well done! Nice music, and great mood!

kivifreak says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Finally hit the ending! Awesome game

Jetman123 says ...
Jul 7, 2014 @ 12:44am

I really enjoyed this game - it ate about 45 minutes to an hour of my time, which is really an accomplishment. Simple and addicting. With some expansion, I'd easily pay $5 for it.

colin5314 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:25am

It always gives me a error when i try to get it :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]