Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity

by jsmars - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the depths beneath the moon surface.

Can you unlock all the artifacts?

And beat the online highscore?

HINT: There are some special 'hidden' artifacts! Can you find them? :)


Controls: Both Keyboard & XBox 360 Controller support
WASD/Arrows, Space, Control, Shift


Thanks for trying it out! You may need XNA 4 redist to play, it's in the game rar.

Patchlog:
1.01: Foreign computer names fix. Artifact saves disabled because of database unlocking bug.
1.02: Minor score submission typo.
(so far using same link since I only fixed typos & minor crashbugs, working on other improvements for post-compo version now)
1.03 (Post-compo):
* Stalagtite hitboxes & drop area fixed
* Removed jump exploit
* Bombs now kill player and stalagtites in the air
* Minijump added
* You can now look down by pressing down when standing still
* Added 3 new 'secret' artifacts to find!
* You can now change name for highscore with F2 (but your old highscore will stay the same, so top 10 players might want to keep their names, if you want your top score name changed just write in the comments
* 12 other small bugs/exploits
1.04:
* Fixed highscore server (URL has changed)
* Fetch score bug which could cause scores not being sent
* Various interface fixes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#31Overall4.04
#34Fun3.97
#90Graphics4.07
#113Mood3.71
#115Audio3.61
#188Humor3.17
#220Theme3.65
#471Innovation3.18

Comments

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

Gotta love collecting artifacts! Also a nice "balance" of frustration and need to continue!
Graphics are awesome!

Diamonde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

Oh my wow. I almost don't know what to say. I'm so impressed with the overall quality. The game is so challenging and fun to play. Although the game is so polished I believe it is the global high score that is the icing on the cake. :)
Very well done!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

Nice one! Polished.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

A well polished entry! The only irritation is that the camera could do a better job of showing where I'm heading to. But other than that, the game's enjoyable already AND there's good potential for possible future improvements.

mtrc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:01am

Fantastic work! Great graphics, the game's really tough but I got the hang of the jetpack eventually which offset it a bit. How do I submit a high score?

Really loved it. Fantastic stuff for 48 hours.

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09am

Thanks a lot everyone! Highscores are submitted automatically after each death! The viewing global stats and artifact saves may be a bit delayed in loading tho, not sure why but having some slow mysql requests at the moment, but highscores should still be saved.

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

Awesome job. Very unforgiving but also very addictive. The graphics are the best I've seen in the competition so far. Overall it feels very complete and polished.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

This game is awesome. Only problem: I only had issues while I was trying to close it from fullscreen mode in Windows.

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42am

So fun! 230 is my personal best, I'll be seriously working on getting into the top-5.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:40pm

I liked it but everytime I died, the game crashes.

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Unfortunately the game crashed on my laptop just at startup. I did install the XNA Framework. Is there anything else i need?

Neonian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

Amazing!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

Awesome graphics, complex game, is that auto-generated level? All those little artefacts.. what an amazing job :D

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Very nice graphics, but I die all the time :)

Neonlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:05am

Very polished, very interesting, very humorous and very sweet! It's amazing how simple a concept can be pretty damn fun! It's a shame you can't enter your name on the Highscore screen, I'm down as USER-PC right now :< Great job!

May 2, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Excellent game, probably one of the best games I've played in this Ludum Dare. The difficulty is just right.

jsmars says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:54am

Thanks for the positive comments :) There are a few bugs with the highscore server I didnt have time to test enough during the 48h sadly.

@Neonlare: I figured I'd make it easy and automatic to enter highscores so that everyone would be entered.. it's based on your PC network name, so if you want you could change that in windows :)

@runvs: Not sure why it would crash if you have the framework installed. It may require a DirectX 9 graphics card and a graphics card with support for Shader Model 2, other than that I would think it should work. Hope you get it working!

01101101 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:28am

Pretty cool game, I like the procedural levels, gives a bit of a Spelunky feel to it :)
The hitbox for the falling stalactites must be a bit off though, it's pretty frustrating when it gets you from a block away...
Anyway, a really good and polished game, especially for a solo entry. Congrats!

angelk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:45am

Very difficult, but probably also the most fun randomly generated underground game I've played so far this LD. I'm jealous you got an online high score chart working :) I had a lot of fun just holding the respawn button.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:51am

Gave a 5 star for graphics! Love the graphics, love the music, and love the game

Zutty says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:34am

I can see this one winning! Solid concept, well polished, fun and very playable.

davidB says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:03am

quick die, quick retry (like super meat boy).
I like a lot your game (my favorite currently).

nSun says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:31am

Nice game, and extremely cruel. Maybe it will be better spent with a level design handmade, or with progressive difficulty depending on the depth. I found death sequence particularly funny by the way.

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:08pm

The map actually does generate at higher difficulty the deeper you come. I didn't want it to always have a 100m of easy map since that makes it tedious to beat highscores.. but maybe could have made it just a little bit easier early on, didn't really have much time to fine tune it.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Awesome game! Very addictive, I was playing it for ages :) Love the graphics and audio

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice game. very polish. Hard but not boring.
remind-me spelunky.
But I've got an high score and since, the game crash after each death....
(and an other bug reveal me all the artefact while I doesn't see them in game...)

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:17am

copain, I think it crashes because your PC name uses a foreign letter (like åäöÿüýß etc) I will fix this in a post-compo edition, until then you could just change your PC name to avoid thid crash.. computer properties-change network name

Also there is a bug which unlocks all artifacts, I'm trying to fix this too

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:11am

copain: Download 1.01 version, should work with your computer name.
Also disabled online saving of artifacts because of the bug with mysql.

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:18am

Dude, this game rocks!
I liked how you randomly generated the map every time (or theres a couple of maps?)
Graphics are awesome
wonderful :)

copain says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:09am

jsmars: thanks!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:50pm

The controls and player movement are almost perfect, it's also really cool you managed to make a nice level generator within the 48 hours, it really kept me playing for quite a long time, trying to collect all the artifacts and go deeper.
The only thing I found frustrating was the collision detection with the falling spikes, and I didn't like the font, but I had fun playing anyway! Awesome game! :D

mortus says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:57am

Very fun and very hard! My best score is 232 and I was able to collect only 5 artifacts, those stalactites are harsh! I wish I could see farther down below me...

Lama says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:05am

pretty nice but quite hard

klianc09 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Really awesome game. Looks and sounds really good. Had fun trying and dying. The only thing I would have to complain, is that the collision detection with the stalactites seems to be a bit off sometimes.
Also you can still throw bombs when you are dead which is pretty funny.

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Thanks! I've made a post-compo version now which fixes better stalagtite collision, you can also look down and change highscore name and lots of other small fixes (I kept bombs when dead becaus its funny)
If any old players would like their top 10 name changed just comment here and I can change it.

Snoother says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:26pm

I'm trying hard to think of some criticism -- but I'm stumped! The graphics look fantastic, the music is stellar (get the pun) and the gameplay is ridiculously addictive. You've addressed all the stand-out problems in the post-compo version, so I don't know what else to say! Just congrats, it's an amazing entry. Thank you for bringing my attention towards it.

One idea: I would be curious for you to do a post-mortem or something similar. And I'm sure others would find this valuable.

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Thanks alot Snoother! I'm planning to do a post mortem post this weekend before the voting are closed :)

May 18, 2014 @ 11:29am

Nice challenging game with addictive gameplay. Enjoyed trying to get all the artifacts.

ActionRemix says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:29pm

The perfect companion to the film :)

(Dang, I only collected three artifacts)

Brodenino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Very impressive that you managed to get all this done is a such small time, and even a small achievement system and global highscore! Very addictive and solid gameplay (despite mentioned bugs). The music and filter effects for the graphics adds to the mood too! As for the gameplay, have you been inspired by Spelunky perhaps :)?

Robinerd says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Great smooth gameplay, and really good feeling overall. Excellent graphics as well, and highly addictive. Best game I've played in this LD, well done!!

Jeremias says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Fun and addictive game. Add some upgrade system and this is just spelunky-like perfect.

vladimirdlc says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Amazing entry! Difficulty feels at the start a little unfair, and the level generation feels unfair as well... at least while you get used to the gameplay.
The post jam fixes were just what this game needed to be flawless, definetely one of the best compo entries I have ever played.

Oye Beto says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:00am

226 was my best. I like that it has a scoreboard.
Very fun game!

DavidErosa says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:43am

One of he best games I played this LD. We may have a winner here :)

May 22, 2014 @ 4:08pm

You've been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jy2lDh5LoGE

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]