Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

FoxyTank

by matthias_zarzecki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect the replacement parts for your crashed spaceship in this science-fiction subterranean fox-based tank-simulator!

Features:
- Tanks!
- Foxes!
- Glowy stuff
- Bassy soundtrack

Controls:
WSAD - movement
Mouse - Aim
LeftClick - Fire
Mute - M

Also, for your enjoyment: A timelapse, the soundtrank, standalone-builds for Windows, Mac and Linux (I hope the latter work).

This one was made in more of ~24h, hence the smaller scale compared to my usual works.

Have fun!
-Matthias
(@IcarusTyler)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#393Graphics3.41
#415Audio2.98
#629Fun2.94
#702Overall3.04
#770Mood2.75
#844Humor2.03
#1015Innovation2.42
#1118Theme2.31

Comments

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Really awesome for a 48 hour game! I would have liked to see more interesting gameplay. The cave felt repetitive. I couldn't find my way back to the ship too.

triforcespark says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15am

Easy-to-learn gameplay, but the theme doesn't seem to be obvious. Also music feels a bit moody.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

I like the way the game plays and it is fun. Some explosions when I blow up an enemy tank, and probably spawning more of them or making them do more damage would ramp up the challenge level and make it even more fun.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25am

Very polished, but I found it easy to get lost.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

The little tank reminds me of Blaster Master from back in the day. Some solid graphics for a 48-hour entry. Good, minimalist bass soundtrack. Great job!

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

Nice work! +1 for the random name button!

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Pretty fun game :D I liked it quite a bit!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Nicely done. The tank models were pretty good. Some real Rock Raiders vibes going on.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Nice work! I found my self getting stuck on the terrain a bit, but otherwise the tank controls worked nicely. The tracks were a nice touch!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12am

I really like the modeling on the vehicles. I think you could develop this into a pretty addicting shooter. Nice job.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08am

quite good, enjoyed the fetch for parts while blasting up things underground in a tank

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11am

This is really good for 48 hours. Fantastic!

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19am

I noticed I moved faster when I held down to directions and moved diagonally.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Cool

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10am

It plays well. Too bad my mouse button is half broken, i makes it hard to shoot

Kimba says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:24am

wow you did a good job

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

Fun this! Spent a while finding all the parts and battling other tanks, then realised I was hopelessly lost. :)

BigRat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51am

For 48 hour game it's really good made game.The gameplay is amazing and controls are good implemented

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

Nicely polished. Ends very quickly. Would have liked to have had more to play.

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15am

Lot's of stuff packed into this one, even small details!

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Nice details, like the track of the vehicle. The graphics is nice too. But it seems it doesn't reflect the theme obviously. And the collider for the parts should be bigger!

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Pretty fun. The controls take some getting used to and it is easy to get lost, you could put it a little directional arrow pointing the player back to the ship once they collect all of the parts.

Nambiar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I think i got really good at this game :P what am I doing with my life!? Good game, sire!

Zed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Cool controls and mechanics, but I feel like I maybe bugged the game? I killed three tanks, and then there wasn't anything else to kill.

Regardless, great atmosphere, very pretty, nice and crisp to control. Another winner from you.

Morco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

can you plz tell me how you made the tracks lines on the ground :")
i wanna learn how to do that
tnx

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Nice game. A little repetitive but overall nice. I managed to find all the pieces :)

bombjack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

nice game!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

The tracks on the floor are 6 trail-renderers underneath the wheels (Unity - Add Component - Effects - Trail Renderer). It's a neat effect :)

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Fun game! only complaint is that it was a little short

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Good game but not challenging enough for that kind of gamelay.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I really like that kind of game. That is, top-down view, where you move with keyboard, and aim with mouse. So thanks for that!

Gameplay was smooth, obviously lacking content but still felt good. I wish there was a minimap, because otherwise finding back the crashed ship is about randomly roaming empty cavern until you stumble on it by a stroke of luck. The long lasting tracks were a nice touch. Also, is it me, or is there no key to quit?

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Awesome game with cool graphics. I really liked the tracks and the menu at the beginning.

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Good game, random name is perfect :) I would only change background music, which is nice, but for me not suitable.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nice little drivin' shooter! Managed to find 20(+) bits and make it back, got completely lost tryin' to find the ship though :p Wouldn't say no to a compass/minimap!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Loved the skid marks! Needed some more enemies or something... But still very well done!

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Very nice graphics. I didn't quite like the controls for a start, but once I got used to it they didn't bother me any more! Game was very easy though, and could've used some more gameplay!

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35pm

I got lost too. :(

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Nice start to an action/adventure twin-stick you got there. Add some variety and some direction and this could be great.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

Ah I somehow knew this was an Icarus Tyler game the moment I clicked on the page. I've been a huge fan of your Vertical Void game, play it very often and am always interested in seeing what you do next.

The game is a lot smoother/softer than your other games, and in a good way. It looks nice and sounds nice and plays nice. However it lacks the edge that makes Vertical Void or that Drill game you made fun. Maybe those games were somewhat broken, and this game is not, it's very rounded corners. It means you're improving as a game maker which is great. I'm just hoping your next game will be the one that blows me away like Vertical Void.

As for the gameplay itself, it's very easy to get lost. I'd like to see a radar or something to help me get back to my ship at the end. I did manage eventually, but I had started a grid search. Perhaps some better visual ques would be good enough. Also I didn't like the end, wish you spend a bit more time on that.

Anyways keep making games, I love you man!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45am

nice job. could do with more enemies and stuff but great overall.

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:22am

I like how you made it like a top down shooter, but you're a car. It was interesting to control the car and shoot at the same time. It worked pretty well.

allurious says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23am

Really enjoyed going pew-pew-pew in this game. Easy to get into, liked the random name generator. It seemed fairly easy to win, but that's my only complaint. Great work for 48 hours!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:33am

Well polished, succeeds in what it tries to do.
Good visuals.

Nice job.

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Nice work!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Good controls, the game feels good (even if I had ennemies shooting at me through walls)

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Very neat graphics! Shooting feels amazing! Great game!

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Once I had all the parts for the ship I didn't know which way to go to get back. A ship direction indicator would have been handy. It was funny how all the yellow guys were grouped into little clusters. It made me think that perhaps you crashed around lunchtime and they were all having lunch and so were to lazy to chase you when you drove by. :D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18pm

good entry man.. gfx were great :)

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Fun little game. I lost my way, but I still had fun driving around and shooting.

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I like the controls and audio. Was too easy and short tho.

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Nice one :) I was a bit confused at the controls at first, I expected it to be steering instead of directional. But it made sense when I got the hang of it. Quite impressive for a compo entry. More enemies and weapons and I'd play it some more.

Florent says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I would love to be able to use the arrow keys (or ZQSD).
WASD is really not practical to use with an AZERTY keyboard.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

It's awesome to see some vehicular entries :)

Nice job, I had a fun time with this one. Graphically, I really like how you added the tracks in the ground. Good job :)

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

The trail was a nice lil effect and I thought I could use it to check were I've already been... then I noticed it disappears after a while. XD
Nice game. :)

brodavi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Aww man what a great game! Excellent execution. I think there should be a 'parts found / total' so that we can see how far we have to go. Really nice! :)

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36am

Nicely done, I liked the tire-traces.

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:35am

The controls of the tank is pretty smooth! Maybe it can spawn more enemies to make it more challenging.

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:57am

Your LD entries are always plain fun! Sometimes, my tank didn't pick up the parts/my rockets didn't hit the targets, as if I were in a layer over them or something. Also, great music!

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I like the mood! The controls needed a minute to get used to, but afterwards it was smooth as butter. Nice models and tire trails. Nice that you have a random name button hehe. Could use a bit more juiciness when killing enemies or grabbing parts though :)

May 2, 2014 @ 9:47pm

The landscape looks cool on this and I like the little trails on the ground. Would have liked a more automatic weapon (although probably because I click my mouse all day)

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:52am

Nice game. Well polished and interesting gameplay.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:51am

Nice little game! A bit short though and you could add more enemies to spice it up a little bit.

mariscal says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:31pm

I found the controls a bit confusing, also, moving in diagonals gives you more speed, I guess you are moving the same length in the two axis when that happens. You coud have a 2D marker to know where the ship is, couldn't get back to it.

Other than that, great game! Loved the art and music!

soy_yuma says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Good game! It took me a while to find the ship back once I got all the parts.

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:43pm

The movement felt good but the aiming felt a bit off, maybe the calculation from 2d to 3d perspective was a bit different than what I was expecting.

I managed to get all the parts and make it back to the ship! Most of the time it was best to simply avoid the enemy tanks since they couldn't catch up and got stuck behind rocks.

You should definitely continue adding stuff like more environment variety, maybe some powerups or health recovery items? Different enemies? Camera angle controls, etc.

Overall it was quite fun :)

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Just needs some juice like kickback when you shoot and it'll really sing -- solid entry :)

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Has some neat effects (like the persistent tire tracks) but the enemies didn't really pose much of a threat, so the only challenge came from finding the pieces. Could stand to have more varied environmental features and enemies.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very solid! Felt a bit easy, would have liked to have seen more content but these are minor gripes. Good job!

M4rw4 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:17am

Very nice game, idea and graphics. i like the soundtrack very much, the world map needs to be more clear..good work :)

Jacic says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Fun to play, and the effects like the tracks on the ground look cool! :)

c1tr00z says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Reat for 48 hours but i want more enemies and levels!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:33am

Nice level of polish, but the controls seemed confusing to me. Why not have A and D turn rather than strafe?

kirbytails7 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:35am

Plays nice, well done! I do think it would actually help if I knew how many parts I had left to collect. Also, the tread marks are a nice touch.

cageinabird says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:23pm

The tank's controls felt smooth, and the tire tracks were a nice touch. I got a bit lost after finding the replacement parts, and sometimes bullets would go through the terrain.

May 8, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice visuals, also great music. I'm not sure how it fits the game, but it was good. One thing bothering be is the controls of the tank, there isn't a style of control called "tank controls" for nothing...! ;) I guess once you played a game of Battlefield, there's no other way you can control a tank...

Gwinnell says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Noticed the diagonals moved faster, and the random name generator was cool. I got a bit lost, but made it in the end. I was tempted to follow my tracks back, but not sure that would have worked! :)

Martin Ysa says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:16pm

great LD game. really enjoy playing it.

May 10, 2014 @ 7:38am

Nice job for 48hr. Found all 20 parts and escaped! Really liked the music track.

May 10, 2014 @ 1:14pm

very nice game , and i love tank games !

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Nice game, but it was hard to find the ship after finding the parts.

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Nice! Feels really smooth, controls are intuitive. Is there a way to know how many parts are missing?

TobiasW says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Ah, the 24 hours explain a lot, your games are usually much bigger. Where is the upgrade screen, haha :D

The gameplay works nicely, but I think that something is missing. Maybe a bit of progression?

PS: Now, where did I leave my ship again...
PPS: I was promised foxes!

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:59pm

That was fun, well done, especially considering it's a compo entry!

FrameMatt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:41pm

I really enjoyed. I could get a bit repetitive but i still like it.

Meedoc says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Nice basis, but the game lacks of challenge. Still, it's impressive what you've done in 48h!

littleball says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice graphics. I went for the drive around and avoid enemy tactic. Managed to complete the mission without firing a shot. Well done.

foodzilla says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:32am

Overall pretty fun game. Short and simple, but fun to play.

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:39am

Nice work!

nicotr014 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:54am

Nice gameplay, I like the terrain, it would be cool to utilize it more somehow

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:20am

Nice models and the controls are easy to learn. It is, however, difficult to connect the game with the theme easily, I guess it's some kind of a cave.

Muu? says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:59am

Enemies should be harder to kill. The rest of the game is pretty much running around randomly to get parts.
Huge lasers and tank tracks were a great addition.

After getting some pieces the tank stopped picking them up. I don't really know what happened.

Elforama says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Nice job! I like the level of detail you were able to add, like the sun beams coming down.

May 15, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Lack of enemies and ability to go up hills (super important feature!) made it a bit boring. Also, I randomly died when I got hit by a single shot. And "collecting parts" is not a very exciting objective.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Some aspects of it were really nicely done, eg, sun beams, trail behind the tank. However, the game itself was a little slow paced.

Make A Game says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Very impressive for something made in few more than 24 hours. More enemies should have made it a bit more challenging. I like the small details like the separate tire tracks and light shafts.

daredevildave says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice job.

Would be better if the other tanks drove around a bit, but it was good fun.

May 16, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Really repetitive, didn't really feel like I had a goal. Graphics were okay.

jsmars says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nicely made, could have been a bit harder :)

Nanolotl says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:01am

Nice entry. Tank controls felt smooth. It would have been nice if the tracks had been permanent to help find your way back and to know where you have already been. The headlight effect was a neat touch.

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Well put together. It could be less repetitive though.

The game freezing for a moment every 6-7 second reduced the fun factor.

DannyG59 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Couldn't find the ship after I got all the parts :(

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Nice game. Controls are kinda confusing and you got lost really quickly.
But fighting and dodging enemys was very funny! :)

Alucard J says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Really good game. I liked the controls, models, terrain, lighting, trail renderer, everything looks good! Funky music. Could have a few more enemies around the sides of the map, and some explosion effects, but overall really nice, great job =]

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]