Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

RAW

by ekun - Jam Entry

RAW

updated 5/18/2014 - fixed being unable to exit game

ART: Keo Bun
MUSIC: Kyle Tenan
CODE: Eugene Paik

Controls:
Left Click and Right Click
W A S D or your choice of keys (it's rebindable)

postmortem:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/30/raw-postmortem/

More work by us can be found at Nukenine.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#34Fun(Jam)3.87
#59Overall(Jam)3.79
#158Mood(Jam)3.56
#168Audio(Jam)3.51
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#236Graphics(Jam)3.72
#283Innovation(Jam)3.21
#656Theme(Jam)2.46

Comments

Sink says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

Super cool gameplay! The roll feels great and the path finding is really good as well.

Tifu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

Cool game, I like the bullet bouncing mechanic a lot. That last guy was a real challenge :D Theme seems lacking though?
Didn't seem able to close the game without opening task manager, which is a little annoying.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43am

The roll with bullet time is really satisfying, though the levels get a little too much with all the enemies by the end (got to 9 by just running past everyone)

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Cool game

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Can't play right from the beginning, because on my trackpad (I'm using macbook), it's not possible to press left and right mouse button at the same time.

fallingBear says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:58pm

My favourite entry so far. Everything is very polished. However the roll made the game too easy, also a little bit of path finding would help. Player could be hinding behind the walls the whole time and those naked dudes would not find him. Overall a great game, I had a great time playing it.

brogrammers says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Hyper Cool! A lot of focus on gameplay, art and music. Well done!! But.. the theme?

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Nice game, like the boss, like the ending the enemies get a bit repetitive. Could have used about half as many levels.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Really fun game!

ekun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44pm

thanks for playing everyone : )

So theme wise, if it's not obvious the players naked (beneath the surface ... of clothes) and he's escaping to the surface, you'll see him on an elevator at the end. Yea pretty shallow take on the theme I guess.

@jacklehamster definitely recommend playing with a mouse if you have one, but I guess we should add bindable keys for shooting and rolling anyways.

@fallingBear with the rolling it made certain situations possible allowing us to design levels with it in mind. Also there's a tactile-ness and feel that I like about adding rolling/dodge mechancis to games. Maybe the distance/speed and window of invulnerability could be tweaked.

-keo

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Awesome work !
is like naked-hotline-miami
So cool !

shasharala says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:28pm

That was really fun! I played all the way till the end and was amused at the boss.
I think what really did it for me was how solid it was. The music was outstanding, the graphics were interesting (how were the models done?), and the gameplay was not overly complicated and worked.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

What a blast! So many things to like about this. Hotline Miami with butts? Yes please. But it's much more! The music, the animations, the fact that you can kill yourself with your own bullets, or that you can skip a level without killing anybody dodging Bullet-time like crazy? Oh my god give it to me now.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Just one more thing, the only nitpick, nothing really serious but, I personally think the dodge mechanic would work better separated from the mouse aiming, so you could dodge in other directions while aiming.

ekun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59pm

@crocantidepollo hmmm was thinking about this actually, if we binded the dodge mechanic based on arrow keys, then you'd only be able to dodge in 4 directions. I could see this working with twin stick controls, using one stick to controll direction/movement, and the other stick to control dodge direction.

@shasharalla the model was sketched in photoshop, I'm pretty familiar with painting the human body, so it was just a matter of visualizing it at different angles. I start out roughing/blocking in the figure on each frame then go in and add details. First time working with photoshop video layers, definitely gonna be using them more.
keo

Benjamin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:10am

Great arts and great music !

Sparrow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51am

Awesome, but that 'plain' title doesn't cut it. :P
I ran my butt of yeah! Only thing I think you can improve is the weapon charge, it takes to long for my taste.

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:53am

Looks great... too bad is windows only

May 1, 2014 @ 10:06am

I see your point, analog dodging is more precise. Let me suggest then another way. You could bind another key, like space, to dodge in the direction you are walking and you could still use the mouse to dodge analogically in the direction of the mouse. Why choose only one method when you can have both! ;)

Larzan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:33am

Great gfx and sound, good game mechanics!

May 1, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Cool game. Very Hotline Miami-ish. Gameplay feels sharp and the graphics and music are good. I'm not sure why everyone is naked but its cool by me.

ekun says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:33pm

@crocantidepollo but then we arrive to the same problem of not being able to aim and dodge at the same time :P

Muciojad says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Very challenging, remind me a little Hotline Miami, very little but remind :D And another one... why all guys are naked? O.o xD

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Ha, you did HM killer!

May 7, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Thumbs up for the pacifist option.

Fun and quirky. Final boss is a fairly standard recipe (aside from taking your own bullets to the face), but it works really well. Didn't notice any issue while playing either. Music is groovy, and love the digitized style on the sprites.

May 14, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Wow this game is awesome! very fun! great work :D

XenosNS says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Nice. Controls work well, wish the gun would charge faster though. Like the clones run rampant theme. Only thing that bugs me is, where does he keep that gun when he's not using it?

Jason Lay says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 12:27am

This was cool. I found the controls awkward however. I also had to kill the game via task manager. It needs a quit button. I can imagine how this game would be played with a control pad!

May 15, 2014 @ 2:48am

In windowed mode couldn't figure out how to close the game
- Micaldom

Garris says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:45am

This was really cool. I didn't really get how/if it used the theme, but I had a blast playing. The controls were smooth and the graphics and animation were good looking (and full of nudity?) Chiptune music did a good job of staying interesting through my tons of deaths. Well done!

kibertoad says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Actually, your boss was better then anything Hotline Miami had to offer in that regard. And our use of slo-mo is sexy as hell.
Took me a while to figure out how the gun works. Since it's like three cool features in one, would be nice to write about it in the description.
Also I'd put a few naked girls in, but that's just me, the old perv.

ekun says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 6:15am

Thanks for the comments guys, much appreciated.

We'll be releasing a post-compo version with bug fixes soon.

Maxom says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Best game I played so far. I really enjoyed the gameplay and the visual approach.
Very good work!

Jiddo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Excellent game. Graphics are good, gameplay is fast and fun. Taking out large collections of enemies does get tedious if you have to re-do it over and over again. I'd like there to be some sort of secondary weapon that is effective at taking out multiple enemies.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]