Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cybs Submarine

by Cybs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wanted to give web programming a try. This is the first piece of Javascript I've written.

It is a little jagged around the edges, but I think it could be fun. It should run on a tablet or a phone as well!

CONTROLS:
Mouse - Click to go up. Don't click to go down.
Keyboard - press ANY key to go up. Don't press anything to fall

***ISSUE: I have been informed that firefox doesn't handle things that well. If you can play it in Chrome it should run better

-Issue Update: I fixed some of the firefox issues.. turns out the easeljs hittest on firefox is 100x worse than chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#723Theme3.07
#749Fun2.80
#896Humor1.95
#928Overall2.79
#1049Mood2.38
#1049Audio1.37
#1148Graphics2.15
#1254Innovation1.69

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nice simple control, smooth movement, good job for first Javascript ! Nice pace to it, much less annoying than that dang bird.

maffydub says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Fun. Good controls (although it would be nice to have a keyboard option).

Scrolling is very smooth. Nice bubble trail too!

bensimms says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Not bad, you may want to change your instructions to let people know it's mouse controlled and not keyboard :)

Cybs says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Thanks for the quick feedback.. amazing, before the compo has even finished!
I have reworked things a few times and it is prettier and has better feedback (text and stuff)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06am

64 is my best

LinusPrime says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

I played this much longer than I anticipated. Solid jam game.

J.Barrows says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:13am

Classic game. The submarine feels a bit heavy, but that really not the point. It's fun.

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53am

A classic game. Always gonna be fun.

Flappy bird becomes floaty sub.

whalebot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

It's a copter clone. But, for your first web game, you have to start somewhere. Great job implementing this classic game :) (also add a keyboard option ;) )

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43am

Javascript master race!

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

simple, but nice, like it!

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42am

Plays good.

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:42am

I enjoyed the simplicity, good javascripting

voidqk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16am

flappy sub... :-)

Dualhammers says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:18am

Good job making your first game! Overall it needs a lot of work but this is a good start. Here are a few subjective thoughts:

The controls are smooth but they are not responsible. The way you are calculating force makes it very hard to recover from mistakes. Compare this to another flappy bird game like MaverickBird - responsive, quick, precise. With this game I often felt like the mistake was because the controls were sluggish not because I made a mistake. Whether that is true or not it is how I felt and that is a huge part of the experience.

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:53am

Nice game, very fun

Cybs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:15pm

@Dualhammers that is the style of control I wanted. It isn't suppose to be like flappy bird. The controls are responsive, but they don't apply an impulse to your character.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Very nice work for a first Javascript game! Simple gameplay, but it's not bad at all. Graphically the game could be improved and some sound effects would help, but this isn't bad at all :).

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Funny.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Good use of the theme, however, it is a somewhat simple game. What I do find awesome is that you used webGL! And a very good effort if this is you first try! Keep it up!

AutumnGuy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:26am

Easy to control, smooth execution.

Keep up the hard work!

erdos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:18am

Cool little game!

May 4, 2014 @ 5:21am

Nice simple game. Good work!

jadams says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:57am

Good simple little game, especially for your first bit of js.

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:24am

A brilliant first try. The game is very simple, but well done. The controls are smooth and responsive, and it's fun!

DarknessFades says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Solid build and well made, but it isn't more then just next flappy bird :D

Cosine says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:25pm

126 :D Really fun.

loxo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:18pm

It takes a while to get used to the slow responding controls, but after that it's a captivating game. Some audio would be nice, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]