Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Digger Grave

by ajfischer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your goal is to collect all of the treasures beneath the surface! Dig your way down and use your jetpack to help navigate! After collecting all of the treasure, a new random map will be generated.

CONTROLS:
MOVE - arrow keys
DIG - Z + direction
JETPACK - space

Needs the java jre to run. If double clicking or right clicking it and opening it with java doesn't work, you can try it from the command line:

java -jar digger-grave-LD29-1.0.jar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#472Audio2.89
#707Theme3.09
#736Fun2.82
#775Overall2.95
#887Innovation2.62
#899Mood2.60
#1153Graphics2.14
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

It's simple, and the graphics look rushed, but the sound was good. It would have been nice to have some sort of possible fail condition.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

I like the feel of the movement. It would be nice if it had something to make it more of a challenge, though when I realized the jetpack only had so much fuel it made me think a bit more about what I was doing and how.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

A nice little exploration game. The jetpack was a good idea - I often dug too far down. Good job!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

Nice little simple game. I agree with the above commenter that it would be nice to have some sort of challenge to it (fail condition)

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:41am

yeah, the sound definitely is one step ahead of gfx :)

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

simple game, works okay. not much challenge or replay factor.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

The mechanics/physics feel rock solid. It's really satisfying to fly around and plow through the blocks. You just need to work on the programmer art.

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Good little game. It's simple but it's cool !

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:06am

The controls are a bit frustrating, but for some reason it makes the game fun. Great job!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03am

Pretty cool. A few things that would probably improve it: A bit more friction/drag on movement, so it's less slidey, a reason not to just dig through everything, and more of a general challenge/goal. I mean, hey, I know it's 48 hours! Nice music as well!

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:48am

Fun game, graphics could be better, but it's still fun to play

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Wow. That audio.

As somebody stated before, I'd be nive to have some sort of fail condition. Maybe fuel pickup's instead of auto replenish?

Too bad that gravity don't influence gold piles.

strong99 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I don't mind the graphics :) they're not to bad. But it got it bit boring after the fifth level with 18 treasures. If it has a good fail condition it would be a lovely game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]