Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave

by fueelin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE:
I've added a link to an updated, post-compo version for anyone interested. I fixed a bunch of bugs, the biggest of which led to the 'instant death' people have been experiencing. I also did some play testing and tweaking to make the game more fun/playable. This version is actually beatable, so please try it out if you want to experience more of the game

------------------------------------------

Cave is a 2D, top-down cave exploration game with procedurally generated levels. Dig and battle your way to the bottom! Hope you enjoy!

Introduction:

You've fallen into a cave and can't get back out. Your only option is to follow the following water at your feet, deeper and deeper.

Keep your eye out for treasure and tools as you progress. You can dig through certain materials, depending on what tools you have - watch for the green highlight and press SPACE.

Be careful of the unfriendly denizens of the cave, which can be very dangerous! Get near them and press SPACE to fight back!

Controls:

Arrow Keys - Move
Space - Dig through block/Attack enemy

F1 - Toggle Tutotial on/off

Notes/FAQs:
You can go back to levels you've already completed to grab any items you missed.

IF THE GAME CRASHES ON START:
Install the XNA 4.0 distributable (located in 'IFCRASH' folder in .rar)

IF YOU GET STUCK IN A LEVEL:
You can hit R to generate a new level. The previous levels and the player's stats stay the same when you do this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#719Innovation2.84
#733Theme3.06
#899Mood2.60
#908Overall2.82
#923Fun2.59
#994Humor1.77
#1020Audio1.52
#1198Graphics1.96

Comments

GresponApps says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

It didn't run.. nothing happens

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Interesting twist on the roguelike genre. I really like having that path showing you the way but letting you explore off of it. Nice job!

GresponApps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

I got it working! Pretty nice game!

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

I like the procedural generation, good work here

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

cool idea and nice levels. but sometimes your level generator produces broken levels: http://snag.gy/nB3ZE.jpg (i cant go in the caves or down the river)

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

Nice job! The levels are quite interesting and add some replayability. You lose your health quite quickly though.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

Hmm xany, looks like you should be able to advance down the river but maybe there's an issue with the collision. If you end up stuck, you can hit R to re-generate the current level (keeping previous levels and the player's stats). I trust no one will use this to infinitely farm gold, because... why would anyone do that?

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15am

The enemies/health were added in the last ~90 minutes of the compo, so apologies that I didn't get to playtest that part too much. Combat is definitely not the best part of this game :)

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

Simple,, but interesting

uniquecorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

So in your algorithm, corridors can spawn dirt blocks to block them and caves can spawn money or "C" or enemies?

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41am

Pretty cool. I like having the line-of-sight to reveal rooms.

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

I liked the way that the levels branched off of a direct route, kind of made it feel more like I was exploring instead of being pushed through a tube. Nice game!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09am

I played for a while, fun rougelike...

Sadly, I couldn't kill any enemy, they are too strong...

I collected around 50 coins... :)

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17am

Yes, corridors can spawn blocks (dirt/stone/metal) and caves can spawn money, tools, and enemies.

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:40am

I like dungeon games. :)

The presentation was a bit sterile, but procedural generation makes up for it.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Good job on the procedural generation. It was fun to play.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:19am

I had a strange problem where the camera didn't scroll at all. I tried generating a few levels, but I could never get more than a few coins before I was going out of the screen. No one else seems to, though.

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

There's no scrolling - looks like there must be a collision/level generation issue that lets you get outside of the level. Following the river off the bottom of the level is the correct way to advance to a new level. Sorry for the bug!

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:37am

I love games with generation. The infinite capabilities are really interesting and you handled it well.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:33am

Hey this game is pretty fun :D! It's awesome that it's procedurally generated :] The monsters were definitely hard though, you seem to die instantly even if you have full health. Because of this, I found that the best way to get to the lowest depth was just to run through the most direct route (since I didn't see a use for money anyways).
The game is simple and fun, nice work!

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:34am

Died instantly whenever I saw an enemy

fueelin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31am

I posted an updated post-compo version that fixes some of the issues people have mentioned, like the instant death/too hard enemies and walking outside the level, if anyone is interested in seeing more of the game.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:58am

That level generator \o/ Got stuck a few time because a seemingly-water tile would not let me go, but I just generated another level. That is pretty cool!
On the other hand, I could not find a way to kill enemies without losing at least a heart, which obviously limited my ability to go further down. Is this an intended behaviour ?
If you do not know about sfxr, you should give it a go. In roughly 5 minutes, you can generate some sounds for your game, to make it even better.
Great entry nonetheless, congrats!

fueelin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:37pm

You can kill both enemy types without taking damage - you have to be careful and take advantage of your attack having a slightly longer range than the melee skeletons. With the Post-Compo version, I've personally verified that the game is beatable :)

I think I've heard of sfxr before but haven't used it. I planned to record music but ran out of time for it; I'll definitely keep that in mind as a good backup option in the future if I don't have much time for sound.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:38pm

A lil bit blank in terms of graphical presentation, but these kind of random gen games are always interesting to play with for a while. Simple but enjoyable for it of course :).

kogyblack says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:00am

Nice game. But I could only play once and onlu for the first level, since the game is being created above the top of my window and I can't drag it down, so I lose part of the game, sometimes to be unplayable... Maybe you set up a higher res than I'm using (1366x768) or just creating the window at the wrong position...

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:08am

I felt like this could use some more audio-visual cues to know when you and/or the enemies are actually taking damage. Big props for doing a roguelike in 48 hours!

fueelin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:27am

kogyblack - it's a resolution issue. I meant to post a version with a lower resolution after the compo ended but was surprised that it didn't seem to affect anyone. But seeing as you ran into this issue, I've added a separate version with a lower resolution that you/others can use. I didn't test it a ton, but the level generator seems okay working with a smaller space.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Love the game, it reminds me of the old rogues on DOS. I like the idea of money but it has no significance but to be there as a score meter. The combat is a bit unpredictable but a nice edition. Would love to have had some minimalistic music and sfx just to increase the mood. Also like the water idea!

fueelin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:48am

Theoretically the more money you have to throw in the pool at the end of the game, the higher the chance of your wish (presumably to get back to the surface) comes true, like throwing pennies in a water fountain. Of course, none of that is actually represented in the game :)

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:45am

Really liked this one, despite it being very simple. The auto-mapping is well done, and the procedurally generated maps remind me of random dungeon generation in classic AD&D. Could use better a better combat system and more upgrades, and sounds.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:54am

The procedural generation was really cool. That's something I've been meaning to play around with, so I might actually end up looking at your source to see how you handled it, particularly since you wrote this in something I have experience with.

However, combat was very difficult (so difficult, in fact, that anytime I saw an enemy I died without even having a chance to just run away).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]