Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fish

by maloki - Jam Entry

Click and/or drag to guide the fish.
Try to eat as much food as you can while keeping at least one fish alive.

Tip: Since the food (green box) is on the surface of the water, it can be pushed using the waves in the water.

Extra: Try leaving the fish alone for a few seconds. :P

--

Worked on this solo and was supposed to be a compo entry, but I ended up changing my design less than 12 hours left for submission. That's what I get for being busy during the weekend. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#131Audio(Jam)3.63
#177Innovation(Jam)3.43
#203Fun(Jam)3.28
#219Mood(Jam)3.41
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#410Graphics(Jam)3.28
#434Theme(Jam)3.04

Comments

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Could not download.

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Shows "Failed to download data file" for me (Mac/Chrome). I liked the screenshots, was curious to play!

maloki says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Thanks, updated the link to a Dropbox link. Hopefully it should work now.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49am

Having a hard time controlling the fish, I'm not sure if my clicking and dragging is working or not.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53am

The game was pretty chill and relaxing and I had a pretty good time playing it. The minimalist approach works but still it felt to me that the game was missing something.

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

What a nice game. Playing this feels like meditating. :)

I did not like the mixing of the art styles: The fish were like vector graphics, the food was 3D and the enemy (hunger or some sort of abstract threat?) was blurred Pixel Graphics.

Good job.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17am

Nice and simple!

Good job...

maloki says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42am

I guess it's not that instinctive. The clicking or dragging is like dipping your finger in a pool of water, trying to get the attention of the fish, guiding them somewhere.

I have the same sentiment with the art of the threat, just not sure how to represent it abstractly - showing that it's a threat, but not too menacing that it strays from the general mood of the game. >.<

Thanks for the comments! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57pm

This is really nice, the feeling is great moving all these entities, it gives a fluid control !

The mood is good too, the color are well chosen, feels calm and relaxing

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57pm

This was pretty awesome. I think it would work perfectly on a phone or tablet. Some sound effects would be good too, but the music was nice. One suggestion would be to get the fish to follow the path you draw and not just head straight to the last place you touched, could be cool if you could try and get them to dodge the enemies. Good job :)

frickajr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

good idea!

vigrid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Simple, pleasant and relaxing game - I like how you put together very simple mechanics and turned it into a relaxing game. Give it some more polish and release it for phones!

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very interesting gameplay. It's kind of relaxing with the slow music.

longshorts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I loved this, the music is perfect and really sets a calm peaceful mood for the game. Minimalism works great. Top marks for mood definitely!

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07pm

neat idea, would work great as a mobile game. I liked the music as well.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Relaxing and great idea behind gameplay, but it desperately needs more detailed art.

Penguincat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:53am

Very relaxing. I think vector graphics would've been nice for the whole game, but it still looks pretty good, and the music was great! Also, I agree with dook that this would work really well on a touchscreen interface.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Very chill and relaxed game, took a bit to get used to the strange control setup. Nice, minimalist art style to boot!

savethejets1 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:46am

Simple yet cool.

Anoarith says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Wow, clever game design and use of the theme :D !

It reminds of this game : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOUNcfgWwkU

The music was cute !

skppo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Slow at the start and sunddenly hard. Managed to get 36 :)

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Music was pretty good, and the gameplay was decent. An improvement might be a type of obstacle to avoid that pops up in random locations with a bit of a warning, rather than just blobs that chase you.

May 12, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Very chilled out, only managed 28 :( I love how the fish multiply, at first I thought that the other fish were my competitors, but when I realised I controlled them all it was great to manage to catch a sneaky bit of food with a newly created fish!

May 17, 2014 @ 7:05pm

This would work well as a mobile app. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]