Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

sunken

by pragmascript - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Only had a few hours for this, so its not really finished ;)

Likely will submit a post-compo-version with some updates

Controls: W A S D

Have fun :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#177Graphics3.83
#236Innovation3.54
#345Theme3.50
#425Overall3.31
#508Fun3.07
#514Mood3.03
#685Humor2.26
#1020Audio1.52

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Really like this, nice graphics. My memory is not that great so I died a lot. Really nice job!

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

really cool look great take on the theme

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

was a bit confused first, wondering why I couldn't move, made sense afterwards.

looks pretty cool :)

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:10am

Wow, really neat memory game. Very nice. And the graphics are great too. I think if I played this everyday I would probably get like 10% smarter :)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12am

A memory game, nice!

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14am

Amazing!
That seems super polished for just a few hours!!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:15am

Nice memory game. Timer without any other info are bit confusing and make me panic (from previous gaming experience). Enjoyed a lot.

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21am

Wow what a cool game and a cool way to use the theme ! It's hard but enjoyable ! Good job!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18am

I do believe you have to include a source. But the game it self is great and was confusing at first.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27am

Letting the user move the player a little earlier before the camera stops moving would've helped me out a lot and this certainly would've benefited from some sound.

It's a neat use of the theme, though, and it's got a nice visual design. Memory games are few and far between. Not bad for only a few hours!

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27am

I'm usually pretty good at these kinds of games but I think because you change the perspective of the camera and put the long delay on it I find it extra hard. It looks pretty nice too.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:28am

Fun little memory game, but some of those chains were way to long for me to memorize in 10 seconds. The graphics were good, especially the water. The theme tie-in seemed pretty tenuous though.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31am

Pretty cool idea. Got hard fast!

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Lovely graphics!

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I love peaceful games which are not build around the usual reaction based theme. More levels please :)

sink_t says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:14pm

You've really managed to pull off something complete complete with eye candy, which is way more than I had managed to do within several hours.

Blokatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I really liked the concept. You should make this into a full game!

rylgh says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:14pm

source?

May 7, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Great idea, I love the graphics ! Nice job !

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Water looks awesome. A cross between a memory game and maze find. Very innovative.

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:24pm

The mechanics are simple enough, but the presentation is a bit puzzling. Pretty water... nice glowing start/end.... some sort of mesh pill? I liked it, but seemed very randomly put together. =]

May 17, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I think it'd be nice to have arrows on the screen so you could play with the mouse or touchscreen. Great job! The graphics are nice.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]