Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under Pressure

by BuriTeam - Jam Entry

---- The game ----
Finally out of work. Time for some delicious pizza on your way to warm home sweet home. But then, just before you get into the car everything changes. You find yourself waking up in the middle of destruction. Where is the building? Where is everyone? More importantly, can you survive?

---- Controls ----
WASD + SPACE BAR + MOUSE We don't recommend playing this game with a touchpad.

---- About the LD -----
It is our first story-based game. We had to leave it with only one puzzle due to time constraints, but you know. It's a jam. It is supposed to be a 5 minute experience.

Done by:
Joao Brant
Lucas Mattos.
We were programmers, artists and sound desginers alike. Please tell us what you think.

---- Info! ----
(Web) - It might take a little bit to load, we should do a loading screen later..
(Desktop) - Download, unzip, open .air folder, run .exe, comment here ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#34Mood(Jam)4.13
#89Theme(Jam)3.76
#94Audio(Jam)3.76
#132Innovation(Jam)3.58
#166Overall(Jam)3.53
#305Graphics(Jam)3.55
#405Fun(Jam)2.95
#598Humor(Jam)1.92

Comments

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

Very good game!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52am

Nooo, I died at the pipes! This game is INTENSE. Excellent mood!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

This game is awesome. I couldn't figure out exactly how the "hands" thing worked, but the art was amazing and I had a good time playing.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

ohyeah..i like this game..*coughs*
very innovative platform game
so funny dropping out of bed..

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

Awesome effort, love everything about it!

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

Quite creepy! I loved the mood.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

The art styles kind of clashed and moving things out of the way with space bar was a little confusing. Was interesting though.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

and the hands thing..nice ideas all over the place..

JayPC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:32am

Is it supposed to end with the slide into death? Otherwise it was really cool, it combined a side scroller with a pseudo point and click puzzle

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17am

Hehe hey JPC! It is actually possible to end the game with life. You have to loose less life or get some refreshment before going for the last slide..

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:11am

Brief but intense. The music and audio fit very well, and the hands mechanic works well.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is really neat! I dig the art style. It's a weird balance between chiaroscuro and blocky pixels, which has its own sort of flair. The sincerely great voice acting and sound direction are what really sells it for me... I was genuinely relieved to see my character get out of that place.

Obviously the level design and length needs work, but you already know that. I'm looking forward to seeing more from you folks!

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Not sure if I finished the game. This is cool!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I'm not sure what to think about the art style - it's kinda strange how you combined super low res pixels and drawn backgrounds...

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Good looking game ... and story is great ... Great Job

rojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Pretty interesting take on the theme, with some nice atmosphere.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

The winner of Mood. I also like the mix of pixel art and draw. If have lights, would be incredible.

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Fantastic mood. Interesting combination of pixel and traditional graphics. Looks ands sounds great!

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Very moody, cool art style. I wasn't clear on what to do with the hands though.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Great atmosphere and tone. Loved the claustrophobic tunnels. The same cursing repeated every 5 seconds could have used some variety.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]