Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

They Come With Fire

by DarkUser - Jam Entry

They come with fire. They come to take our homes. They come to use us as sustenance.
This fish has had enough.

*When boss fight is reached, 'Continue' will return there
*R to Restart
*Jump out of water to Reload

Created by Reuben Auld.
Some additional sounds from opengameart.org
Music from Incompetech.com

darkuser77@hotmail.com
https://twitter.com/DarkUserGames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#106Fun(Jam)3.52
#198Theme(Jam)3.50
#199Audio(Jam)3.44
#228Overall(Jam)3.43
#235Innovation(Jam)3.31
#283Mood(Jam)3.24
#316Humor(Jam)2.71
#440Graphics(Jam)3.21

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

Very fun game! Sound effects are very befitting and it's certainly very addictive. The only thing non-intuitive was probably the fact that I have to jump out of the water to reload, but I learned it quickly enough that it doesn't really detract from the gameplay.

Kashaar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Love the music! :)

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Pretty awesome, the music is great and the mechanics seem to work well!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Wow this feels amazing to play. Super slick and those enemies are terrifying, especially when they catch you! Seriously cool level of polish here, well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Nice water and enemy effects. The movement of the fish is also really smooth.

Fun little game but found it pretty difficult to hit the guys.

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58pm

The soundtrack is great, the gameplay is fun. What else do you need for a good game?

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Nice art, lil bit of nice sounds. Jump to reload is a nice touch.Liked.

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07pm

excellent game. extremely smooth controls. love the music.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Interesting concept, took a little to get the controls.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Great, but perhaps needs to be a little more intuitive.

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Tricky but good

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Really nice swimming mechanics. The game gets pretty intense with the enemies clutching at you.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:36am

Woah the music is absolutely amazing ! Really impressive !!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41am

AWESOME! Loved the feel of the movement, a bit hard for me to play because I'm using my laptop. But the water looked great, and overall it was a great experience.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:51am

Incredible! The smoothest controls I've experience so far and the idea of having to jump out of the water to reload is just brilliant!

MSaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Really good audio and nice graphics and gameplay. I really enjoyed playing it. I am not against a score at the end (to make it even more addictive :x).

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Really cool game! Well polished, good graphics, nice sound effects and you managed to correctly use physics in Unity! =D Great job!

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Awesome game,,, i liked it... the gameplay is cool and graphics to... great

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Took me a second to work out what I was doing, but once I got the hang of diving into the air to reload, the game had a really nice feel to it. My only complaint would be that you seem to have to fire your first projectile to select the menu option to start the game?

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Cool music, but when i pressed esc the menu doesn't work well

DarkUser says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:16am

Looks like my cursor turns off and switches to fake cursor before the button presses.. I will have to fix that, thanks

shadow64 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:22am

I liked this a lot. I enjoyed the music and I liked the look of the monsters. I think it fits the theme well and it has some interesting game mechanics (took me a second to figure out the out of water/reload thing).

It's a little difficult, but I think it's more challenging than frustrating and that's a fine line to walk. Very nice work.

Best of luck and thanks for playing/rating my entry! :) I'm glad you were able to finally get through it! I do plan to put a cursor line in to make it less confusing. ;)

Take care!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]