Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

For the Blood

by henriquejas - Jam Entry

A flea running beneath the surface of hair.

Made by me, my brother and a friend.

Controls are: Up/Down/Right or W/S/D

No sound, but it's one of the first things we will improve, along with a mobile version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Graphics(Jam)4.31
#81Humor(Jam)3.56
#260Fun(Jam)3.19
#319Innovation(Jam)3.12
#409Theme(Jam)3.08
#431Overall(Jam)3.12
#491Mood(Jam)2.85
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40am

Awesome graphics! Build a web version.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:09am

Nice graphics and good idea. Sounds lovely on mobile.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

Nothing like some blood to liven up a flea. Wondered about an end goal, but you do note this is simply version 1. Neat!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:56am

Awesome graphics!

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11am

Really good graphics !

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:15am

Fun game, looks awesome! The web version doesn't seem to have any sound.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21am

Fantastic graphics; kinda wish there was also sound, but oh well. The cam is basic but well done, my only complaint really is that the bounding box on the fingers seems a bit large; I died a few times when I was near a finger but didn't actually touch it.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great idea for this theme ! ^^ (5 stars fot that) and yes you could make a mobile game with it!

May 2, 2014 @ 1:09am

NICE GAME! I love the art and the game is hilarious. I did notice, that you wouldn't die even if you reached the death icon on the right side. I thought I was suppose to explode or something.

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:15am

Nice! I like your "buggy" game. :)

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:44am

I liked how you guys used the theme, but I missed a real goal. There is no difference getting the blood or not so I got bored because the challenge was only on my head. Awesome graphics!

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:48am

Great visuals. Would love to see a ramp-up in the challenge - fingers that move back and forth, smash down from above, etc.

(This person appears to have an unusually large number of fingers at some points... perhaps he or she is attacking with both hands?)

henriquejas says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Thank you all for the comments.

True enough, we also think that we need to increase dificulty with time, include more enemies/obstacles and increase the importance of blood (as of now, being low or high on the blood bar just changes appearance and forward speed, but we are thinking on it causing death or other penalties).

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Really great graphics!

flavio says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Great idea ! Need to be improved, the sound will add a lot !

May 5, 2014 @ 11:52am

Gross but good fun and really nice graphics, wish it was a bit harder though. Also doesn't appear to be any sound.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]