Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Whodunnit?!

by gettothechapel - Jam Entry

A point and click detective game in which you have to find the murderer by inspecting scenes, finding evidence and contemplating motives. made by a team of 5 people. music was all created during the jam.

*known bug - clicking right on a "yes" button doesnt work, clicking in the general area of the button does work*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#71Mood(Jam)3.87
#91Audio(Jam)3.78
#274Fun(Jam)3.16
#286Graphics(Jam)3.59
#328Humor(Jam)2.68
#344Overall(Jam)3.26
#401Innovation(Jam)2.95
#578Theme(Jam)2.68

Comments

Spaceoff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

You should put it in a .zip, I'm not going through and manually downloading each file one at a time (for public view, google drive doesn't let you download all the files in the linked folder I guess).

schnüt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:32am

Thrilling. Especially the music made the game really moody. :-)
But I must admit that I don't know who the murderer was. At the end, I took some random person because, after all, every single one of them could have done it. Surprisingly brutal end after that. O.O

@Spaceoff: When you click on the zip file in the drive, a download button appears to the bottom right of the screen that lets you download the whole thing at once. ;-)

Zerkruemler says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:09am

Nice idea and Programming. Also cool Music

Spaceoff says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:15am

Yeah, there wasn't a .zip when I last tried, anyway:

This was really eerie, really good atmosphere. I'm guessing you aren't ever able to figure out who did it? that ending was pretty chilling.

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:25am

I love the ending, leaving you to decide who the murderer was.I believe the game would be better if there was a solid murderer to be found. Though I'd like the electrocution in the end haha :D

klianc09 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Really atmospheric and great music. Although I would have liked to know who did it. I just have a vague guess, but they all could be the murderer...

solkar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:01pm

please make a zip

SecularBaron says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I'm left wondering if I missed something. That was a really cool game. Left me with an uneasy feeling.

Shide says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Not knowing who the real murderer is is killing me now, but that was pretty interesting to play. Music was good, and you
developed a given theme in a rather interesting manner

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Very well done for 72 hours!

The ending is great in games you find out if you are right or wrong in this just like in real life you might never know...

May 1, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Thanks for all the feedback! greatly appreciated :)

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I am really impressed by this. I love the cliff hanger at the end. Only suggestion is more obvious button elements, and maybe less obvious game objects. Really nice work!

Siewart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:57pm

I just wanted to add that I stole the donut from this game, it was delicious!

Also, I think for most individuals in this team it was their first time to finish a game, which makes this game even more awesome! (imo)

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:49pm

You really work a lot on graphics! Looks nice!

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Amazing job for only 72 hours, everything about this game exudes style.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Great writing and audio :)
Oh, and you should use the "hide context menu"
option for webplayer. When i right-click the menu pops up

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:27am

I must know if accused the right person! JESUS. (I choosed the mafia lord son). Awesome art and great music. Can you guys make the soundtrack available?

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:54am

Ahhhh I need to know who did it! I feel awful after possibly murdering the wrong guy haha. Maybe if you guys put in a subtle random clue (not clickable, and different every playthough) in the murder scene that led to the correct person it would have been more interesting and less arbitrary? I can see the stylistic choice of leaving it hanging at the end though, so that could ruin the intended feel of the game also. Great job though, I was absorbed through the whole game!

mystakin says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Great use of the theme! The ending is pretty intense... I hope I chose right.

Trilby says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 10:15am

Wow! Interesting story and great graphics.

I like how I can never be sure whether I have accused the right one.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]