Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eisenberg

by Diamond Crow - Jam Entry

Controls:

left arrow: move left

right arrow: move right

z: jump

x: mine/attack

x+up arrow: mine/attack upwards

x+down arrow: mine/attack downwards

c: place bonfire

Description:

Eisenberg is a 2.5D survival game. You are stranded in antarctica. You now have no choice but to venture into the iceberg to collect three parts to repair your ship. Your sonar will beep at an increasing rate the closer you get to a part.

In order to survive, you will need to collect wood to keep warm (1 wood per bonfire) as well as food to avoid starving to death.

However, there are also other dangers lurking in the ice berg...So beware...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#151Theme(Jam)3.60
#478Graphics(Jam)3.11
#528Humor(Jam)2.17
#540Audio(Jam)2.58
#543Mood(Jam)2.76
#563Innovation(Jam)2.60
#583Overall(Jam)2.83
#610Fun(Jam)2.46

Comments

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:56am

Nice idea. Maybe would be good to jump/dig on key down instead of key up.

shadow64 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58am

Overall, it's not bad. My character was constantly playing his running animation and he frequently got caught on geometry - that wasn't fun. Killing spiders was. I didn't really understand how to win from it and it needs much more polish, but it's a good start. :)

Thanks for sharing!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:58am

I really liked the concept!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

Nice game. Reminds me of boulder dash.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50am

Nice entry! The mechanics worked very well

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

A little of bit of delay. Liked the ice break animation/shader. About the gameplay, I felt no motivation; there was no clear goal. The warming mechanic was interesting, you should add more fireplaces so you don't have to go back.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice entry, like the ambience!

May 4, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Cool concept, but some elements are quite frustrating, like the spider (it's quite unclear how does she causes damage and where is her hitbox). I love the "clones" idea as well

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:40am

This has a great atmosphere, well done :)

copain says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:47am

nice idea and nice look, a little more polished will be nice.
(and why lose life when we attack nothing?)

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:35pm

A fun game, though the music didn't really put me in a "survival game" mood ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]