Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hell Manager

by Atta - Jam Entry

Now you can be Hell Manager!
It's simple, but fun!
Click the HELL Sign in the menu to play.

Huh!
It was our first Ludum Dare so game isn't long or polished. You may not believe but I uploaded our game in the last minute!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#260Humor(Jam)2.85
#443Theme(Jam)3.01
#547Innovation(Jam)2.63
#562Audio(Jam)2.47
#591Graphics(Jam)2.78
#659Mood(Jam)2.41
#696Fun(Jam)2.19
#724Overall(Jam)2.33

Comments

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Pretty funny and the graphics and sound were cool, make it longer though!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Seems like it could be fun if there was some element working against you (time or something). I enjoyed the graphics, but I like pixely artwork.

What was the purpose of the empty platform on the right?

Atta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

We wanted to make more torture devices, but my friend did not have time :( And this is the main reason why it's so little.

KumoKairo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30am

uh, I thought it was a bug that the game stuck at one screen. Figured it out 1 second before leaving hehe.

thenmal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

So edgy....
http://i.imgur.com/zmjb1TY.png

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

Good first entry! I found a small bug that the game would not send down the final sinner if two people were in the cage. My only other complaint was the sound was a bit loud.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

Most points for inovation and you could have scored more on fun if it was a bit longer! Good concept and was worked out good! (maybe next time add bgm too?)

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

Funny for sure, i do really like the pixel art, but i would like to be able to torture them more after their bar is filled

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35am

PUNISH HIM

paps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

haha, loved the voice acting.
fun game a bit short though (and don't know what the third platform is for)

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

cool idea

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Nice art. Audio created a nice disturbing mood.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10pm

I think that the game is fun, but too simple. With more elements and tools to "play", the game would be awesome, but nice game, good graphics and it has an original gameplay.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I love the sound effects, but gameplay is a little barebones.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Prety nice game and sound!

Atta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22pm

@fullmontis
@javifugitivo
I know it's too simple, but we didn't have time. Unfortunately, you can't edit game.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:37am

It seems the most effective way to punish is to just drop sinners into lava.
Could be a nice game with variety and it had more gameplay to it.
Also did not like usage of stereotypes for sinners. There are so many things you could have come up to punish people for and you chose what you did. A bit disappointing.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:38am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is a neat idea, and the graphics are great! I guess the main thing I'd ask is why you'd have the bar need to be filled up by repeatedly using different machines, instead of putting a person in a machine and having the bar fill automatically.

Maybe consider leaving out the racism and other such things (you know what I'm talking about) next time. You can make a great game without them.

Atta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:35am

@Solifuge
Because we have few people, and filling bar automatically would make our game even shorter.
There's no racism! And of course I'm not a racist. I hate them. Normal sins would be boring. Just chill out, guys :)

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:49am

great job =)

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Not exactly subtle, but nice graphics.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Congrats on your first LD entry!

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Well there you go

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:28am

Nice idea, executed perfectly, and I see a creeper face in the rocks xD

TheGreenTie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Fun.

thinkster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:18pm

There is a good idea in here somewhere, needs more interaction with the punishments though to make me want to play longer. Like to see where you could take the idea.

But I don't like the stereotypes either, pretty lame design choice!

TeamFlare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:34pm

No real gameplay,but hey, it's funny and a bit weird :)

conormn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Very nicely done. Funny entry :)

berareu says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I SOOO wish there were more torture tools... when the fat guy broke the machine I laughed! Nice work :D

Gazok says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:51pm

These stereotypes are not acceptable. Even stepping past how offensive they are, the use of any stereotype is only a substitute for humour or originality. The sad thing is, this had the potential to be funny, had you attempted to subvert stereotypes instead of enforcing them.

I won't validate this by rating it, but I hope that you learn from the negative reactions and make better games in future.

You might benefit from reading
http://www.shakesville.com/2006/07/off-limits-humor.html
http://wolfdrone.tumblr.com/post/70277781287/working-within-transgression
http://geekfeminism.wikia.com/wiki/Sexist_humor

May 2, 2014 @ 10:11pm

It's an ok game. Pretty nice graphics. Gameplay is a little lacking, but the general concept could be fun. Wasn't too offended by the stereotype humour but it did seem a bit, well, dumb, to be honest. Not bad overall.

May 3, 2014 @ 6:01am

Could have a fun little game here with some more gameplay.

The "kfc" and "watermelon" stuff was not ok. Do some research as to why.

Catman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:19am

Aha! I had this same exact idea once, and it is on my 'games to do when I have time' list, so props for making it a reality! :D

May 3, 2014 @ 11:01pm

The game concept (being Hell's manager) is interesting, too bad about the stereotypes.

scgrn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:22am

It was a cool concept until I encountered the shoddy gameplay and weird, racist stereotypes.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]