Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infection

by InfectionTeam - Jam Entry

A man lies on a hospital bed. Will he succumb to his affliction, or will his body triumph over infection in the battle that rages beneath the surface?

NOTE: if you're experiencing frame rate issues, we've compiled a slightly lower quality version for you to try here http://bit.ly/S8tjB8

//// INSTRUCTIONS ////
Prevent the infection from spreading by killing the viruses before they reach the chamber exit. Collect the cells from the dead viruses to upgrade your character and purchase towers to aid you in battle.

[[WASD or Arrows]] to move
[[Mouse click]] to Shoot.
[[Spacebar]] to access Shop.

[[Mouse click and Drag]] to Setup a tower and rotate it towards the mouse.
_________________________________________________________________________

Team Infection is a two man team -
Daniel Snd - Graphics - http://www.danielsnd.com
Sebastian Lague - Programming - http://bit.ly/SebastianYT

Music by Scythuz and Kevin MacLeod
_________________________________________________________________________

Some cool stuff for you to check out ;)
Art postmortem (with tips for creating art assets quickly): http://bit.ly/ArtOfInfection
Behind the Scenes video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4T1pjFKU4xc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Fun(Jam)4.17
#7Overall(Jam)4.31
#9Graphics(Jam)4.69
#31Audio(Jam)4.09
#38Theme(Jam)3.92
#64Mood(Jam)3.92
#102Humor(Jam)3.48
#242Innovation(Jam)3.30

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37am

Wonderful! Great work!! Fun and very well done!

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

Awesome! Very polished.

Mondi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

Just great! =D Awesome! Congratulations!!!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

Did you guys manage to win? XD How many years/days did you got?

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54am

The graphics and music are so well made! It was kinda slow on my pc, but it was interesting anyway =] Congrats!

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:26am

Hey, this is pretty rad!

Natman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

This is very impressive for a Ludum Dare game! I got to the second stage, and saved the ailing patient for another 50 years, 7 days. I definitely could have spent more time playing this game, and I think I will revisit it if I have time later.

Here are my observations:
-The controls and feel of the game are very polished, including things like great sound design, screenshake, and other features which make shooting enemies a pretty satisfying experience. This is a surprising amount of quality to find in a 72 hour game.
-Sometimes it feels like the player fires just a liiiiittle bit off from where I was aiming, which could be a minor calibration issue or it could have something to do with how it's a little bit difficult to distinguish the reticle from the ground. I think you should add some contrast to it so it's easier to keep track of where you're aiming.
-The art, sound, and overall aesthetic polish are really remarkable. Good work on all that.
-I wasn't quite sure what was causing the "Infections" counter to increase, which is probably a problem, although I bet it's my fault.
-From what I played it seemed like the enemies were mostly the same in terms of gameplay behavior, although it is impressive how you managed to get so much visual variety in the enemies.
-If the enemies in fact behave differently, it's probably not a good sign that I couldn't tell. You probably want your types of enemies to be clearly distinguishable in appearance and behavior, like the classes of TF2 which each have very distinct purpose and play style.

Like I said, this is just all of the critical feedback I could think of because I think honesty is really important for making improvement in the future. You really did an amazing job on this, so congratulations! It's also impressive that you did so much with just 2 people. I am interested to watch your art creation time lapses as well, since I'm a programmer and have little knowledge of such things. :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57am

Really cool. Very well polished and is very fun! Would have liked to have played long enough to upgrade everything, maybe endless mode :D. Good job though

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54am

waw, awesome amount of work here, great job :D
The idea of starting a new level without any upgrade you got from the last one is kinda frustrating, I don't know if there's a way of keeping some kind of bonus from one to another in the same playthrough.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

This is really well polished and incredible for even 72 hours. Love the vivid art style and colors. Had some pretty severe frame rate issues on a powerful iMac.

Mago says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40am

Amazing job!

flrn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19am

This is pretty incredible, wow!

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:26am

This was amazing! The art is fantastic! I love the colors and the animations. They gameplay is also very awesome. Great store too. I love the background effect when you open the store. This is a full game here :) Great audio too :) Great job :D

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:10am

Your game is so cool !

for reply to your message, I don't know why some persons have some issue with shiva3D plugin.. We try to resolve it !
I think if you want try the game, you have to download the .exe ):
Sorry for this ..

Great job by the way ! (:

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

Great game! :D Had a lot of fun with it. Also, I really enjoyed the graphics a lot!

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice mix between tower defense and shooter genres.
Really polished for a 72 hours game, you should definitely make a post jam version of it.

Aiming at first was a bit difficult. On my pc the game's fps got down a lot when I built 5-6 towers and the central area got crowded, causing an huge input lag.
I still managed to make the guy live for 75 years and 190 days. :D

For those wondering why the infection number was increasing: monsters come from a door (two in the second level) and infection increase when they reach the door that don't spawn monsters.
It took me a couple losses before realizing that. You should include it in instructions.

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice! Really polished.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Wow, really impressive! Absolutely beautiful, great sound, and really fun gameplay. This is really awesome work! I think with a bit of cleaning up (aiming seemed a bit too difficult) this could be really special. Seriously nice stuff!

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Astonishing, i had a blast playing it, i just hope that my RL score will be more like the last one i had in the game, and not like the first, hehe.
Absolutely marvelous!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Couldn't play the game, too laggy, so I couldn't defeat anything.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

What a remarkable game for a ludum dare jam...
Even tough optimization was quite lacking (runs really slow on my laptop), it's polished to an impressivel level.
And i was thinking "Well, it's impressive allright, but it's just a game about shooting a line of enemies"
And then, "use your cells to buy stuff"
Turrets.
Upgrades.
Tableflip. I quit.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Fun and a well made game. Nice Job!

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Amazing !

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Nevermind, found the lower end version! Still lagged, but could play this time.

MaddeStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I had quite a bit of fun with that. Got Dave to live for 2 years, though I'm not very good at it :)

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Really polished, well done. Interesting take on them, good job :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nice overall!

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Nice job! Very polished for 72 hours. Loved it.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Nice game! Fun little bullet hell/tower defense mash up.

Venturelli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Nice style :D

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Wow this is really well polished for a 72hour jam game :O Controls, physics, graphically, audio. Everything is just superb. You can even upgrade stuff! Definitely my favorite jam game so far! I really want to play this coop with controllers haha, would be so SICK, hah, get it, sick...

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:11am

Lovely art style. Glow everywhere, I like it.

Kino333 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:08am

Definitely more variety for replayability!

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:15am

absolutely stellar presentation! everything is just top notch- the gamplay, controls, art, and sound. fantastic work. I gave ol' Dave another 72 years :D

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:36am

Wow feel like a complete full price game!

KayZ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09am

Great game. Liked the different variations of the gun, almost like a nuke in the end. And Dave lived until 2090.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:32am

Really cool, great job! Not really much I can criticize here, lots of fun. High Five!
http://bit.ly/1a3GeXe

steelzeh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49am

Wow just wow, i won the game and dave lived for another 58 years. Such a good game. GOOOOD job!

Chinchilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18am

Holy crap. This is probably the most well-made ludum dare entry I've ever seen. Incredible amounts of polish and solid gameplay. Good job.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

Really fun and colourful. I love shoot 'em ups and this has got to be one of the funniest premises for one.

Deity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:53am

Very cool. Love the behind the scenes/timelapse videos

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I can't believe how much quality this had, and best of all, the controls were actually good! I would have loved the target pointer to be above the enemies but overall it was pretty good and fun!
"Stage 1 completed" .__.

SK16Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Very nice and addictive game :D 10/10

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Awesome! I'm absolutely terrible at it, but then it's probably not intended to be played on a trackpad! ;)

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Whoa. Just. Wow. Like others have said, there seems to be some kind of issue with the aiming, but this is still near perfection. You should post it to a game website like Kongregate, this is pro stuff.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Really cool graphics, nicely done!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Wow! It sort of throws you right in, but the game is incredibly impressive for the time you two had to put it together. Kudos.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Wow, this is really, really great. The amount of polish is enormous. I especially liked the trails of the enemies showing their movement and the variations on enemies. You got my stars!

Udell Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Took a while for me to work out I had to upgrade the turrets once before they started working, but I was really impressed with how polished this is!

4026 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I am frankly frightened and intimidated by the level of polish and professionalism on display here. Truly incredible work.

LTyrosine says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:24pm

This work is amazing, impressively polished for given time. Congrats.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Cool game, love the graphics! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Wow it's gorgeous! Really fun, and super polished. How did you make this in such a short time frame?!

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00am

Really really well done. color me impressed.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:37am

Aw man you're getting better and better at this :) Enjoyed playing it very much (kept me busy for half an hour!) I kept winning too quickly and I wanted to buy all the precious precious upgrades. Arrrrrrrrrrrr!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:01am

Finally got to play this beautiful game. Such polish. Well done.

gikdew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:36pm

The best game I have played this ludumdare so far! Really awesome and impressive for only 72 horus!

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Holy crap! This entry is amazing! Very well polished, super cool graphics and sounds. I'm not a fan of "tower defense" games but it was very fun to play it. Awesome job, guys!

Lyje says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Nice game! I love the low poly art style. I found it quite hard to control, especially aiming with the mouse.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Nice solid game.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:10pm

71 years, 258 days. Completed it haha. The game was really well done, mechanics felt nice. Just the shop breaking the pace of the game didn't feel really good. Furthermore I like the concept of virusses beneath the skin, but I think you could work it out a lil' more. Really great game though! I love the game over screen haha. Health packs are too cheap btw. ;D

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Wow, this almost seems like a finished game. I love the shooter-tower defense hybrid mechanics, not to mention graphics and music (it really enhances the frantic shooting)

Brilliant!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Incredible! What can you make in a week!? Very impressive, a finished game! not very innovative, but a really solid game.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Wow, this just blew me away. Amazing work! The lightning sets an awesome mood.

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I will pay for it if you publish the game! An interesting defense shooter with fantastic graphics. Great job!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Absolutely stunning considering it was done in 3 days. Amazing graphics and slick presentation all round. And fun too! I'd love to see this expanded.

paps says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:05pm

whoa! that game is awesome. Very good job

Split82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Great entry. Only problem I had was with performance. Need better computer for this ;)

radmars says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Spectacular!
Really great job, I didn't like that the upgraded weapons swithced from auto-to semi automatic, kinda threw me. I liked the balance of having to choose to spend money on ammo vs upgrades & turrets. The heath meter coloring is a bit too subtle, i found myself dieing for dumb reasons because i didnt notice i was low on HP, other than that magnificent! fun, solid, polished, excellent entry

2HitAdam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Incredible effort for 72 hrs! Wow, until the game ended suddenly I felt like I was playing a full release title. Great visuals, varied gameplay, all of it good. All I will pass criticism on is that it wasn't quite clear what the objectives were, how to win/fail etc. I did eventually clue onto the fact that those little guys were walking into a cave that upped the infection count, but it took me longer than it should have. Congrats all round though!

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Pretty rad, the art style of the game is awesome, nice particles and shader, the music and sfx are cool, making all an overall good mix. I liked the interpretation of the theme as well.
I would have enjoyed a more clear variation in the enemy types and models. A little nice touch would have been to rotate the character when pointing with the mouse.
The infection mechanic is a little confusing (I'm not even sure if you could die just from infections), but, after all, I quite enjoyed the game, great entry!

klianc09 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:04pm

The aiming seemed to be a bit off, and I was never quite sure if I really hit the enemies and if they were already dead or not. The world is at first sight pretty confusing, there should be arrows pointing to where the enemies will come from and where the "exit" door is. Other than that really impressive artwork and music for a LD entry.

belva1234 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:53pm

my god it's fuking epic, how could you make this in 72 hour???

May 1, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Absolutely fantastic! I managed to get Dave to live 74 years and 301 days. After some upgrading in level 2 there were so many things on screen that it was a bit difficult to see :P Other than that it was awesome!

hexagore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Just stunning.

snooze82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:56pm

beautiful!

nonentheless says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:47pm

You guys did an amazing job!

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Pretty cool! Once I hit the second level the difficulty seem to fly up pretty quickly. It can be a little repetitive as well, as it basically becomes a "fire everything!" type of game. Still a bit of a thrill to run through once or twice though.

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Wow, what a great game! Very impressive art and significant polish. Good take on the theme. Amazing work for 72 hours. Actually hitting the viruses can be a bit touchy until you start upgrading the weapon. Didn't really notice the tower I bought doing much of anything, but I might have just not been paying enough attention while being swarmed by viruses. I also fell out of the world at one point :)

Also, thanks for writing up the art blog post, good info there!

gigitrix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Great polish, and some interesting mechanics with turret placement etc. Feels a bit easy being able to pause and buy at any time though, it'd be cool if there were specific places you had to go to do this (possibly moving so you can't turtle up in one corner with turrets) :)

Excellent work though, really love the graphics, lighting in particular!

travislucia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Great Game!

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:16pm

How did you manage to do all this oO ??? It is amazing. 5/5. We want to work with you next time ;)

thinkster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Awesome, really impressive!

Wertle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:27am

Great work! Since you asked for thorough feedback, here are a few things I think you could do to improve the game:
1. The hit reacts are great, but the death reaction looks very similar, so that when something dies I usually shoot it several more times until I realize it's dead. I'd recommend doing some manner of drastic, immediate feedback to say "this thing is dead don't waste bullets on it"
2. Placing turrets often got me killed! If you aren't going to have any breathers between waves that would be good for turret placing, consider auto-aiming the turrets so I can place them quickly, and not die in the process of trying to adjust them.
3. I didn't realize what the cell pickups were for a long time. I think the reason they didn't read as pickups is because there was so many things in the environment that were also glowing, so it didn't stand out.

Nice work!

May 2, 2014 @ 3:33am

The graphics are really well done! Gameplay was fun though seemed a bit standard. Feel like I can't give it a proper review since the rendering was just a little bit too costly for my poor outdated laptop.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:57am

It helped seeing Kino play this lol, I got Dave an extra 73 years, 328 days! Amazing work, I'm completely blown away by this! The art style kind of reminded me of Psychonauts :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:27am

very impressive - hope you expand on this more - awesome job!

Oye Beto says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:03am

My favorite entry so far. Amazing quality, great job.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:59am

Amazing graphics, amazing fun, what a great game!
Top marks hope you come first!

davidc02 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Amazing work, great gameplay and very fun. One of the best entries for sure.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:24pm

wonderful visuals, love the ambience! congratulation guys!

recursor says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:39am

This is nice spin on the tower defense genre. Putting it inside the body is quite innovative, and the graphics and sound are excellent. This is one of my favorites so far.

Pete_H says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Very, very polished! I did manage to fall out of the world by walking through the door the enemies were aiming for though :)

InfectionTeam says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Hahaha sorry about that Pete! Was on my todo list and then I just plain forgot about it XD

May 3, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Great game! The only problem I had was that I wasn't sure where the viruses were heading at the start of each level, but the blend of tower defense and TDS was very fun.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I can't believe this was made in 48 hours! That's really awesome. I feel like it would have been better if ammo were unlimited because it always felt like I was buying more ammo and missing out on the cooler upgrades because of it. If ammo were free it would let players delve more into the really cool stuff.

Also, it felt like the aiming was just off, it didn't shoot where I was aiming it shot a little... "above" in the z-dimension or something, since we're looking at a bit of an angle.

muh_h says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Awesome! Great Job! My best so far was 2y and 277d!

May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Solid entry! Had a lot of fun playing, feels very complete.
While regular turrets didn't feel terribly useful, all the other turrets were very much so, and perhaps should have been a little more expensive; after placing about 3 or 4, I suddenly found myself with very little to shoot at :/
Keep up the good work! Look forward to your next entry!

Katamori says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:25pm

A lttile bit laggy on my PC.

BasselGaming says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:16pm

That.. was AWESOME. really great game in so little time! nice job!

shasharala says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:55pm

That was a solid game. Well done!

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Wow, a lot more polished that I'd ever expect from a LD game. Not the type of game I'm particularly good at, I must admit, but I enjoyed it, especially with the level of progression and upgrades available. My one gripe (and I'm probably an anomaly on this) is that I'd like a bit more narrative, especially considering the initial premise of a man lying on a hospital bed, fighting vigorously against the infection inside him. I don't mean make it sentimental or anything, just give the theme some weight as opposed to it being a superficial element that plays host to an admittedly-polished-but-nevertheless-generic top-down shooter. However, I didn't manage to finish the game, so maybe I speak too soon. Oh, and I completely forgot to mention that the sound is really bloody good.

Arakade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Can't add much to comments above about how amazing this production was!

Sadly, I will say it desperately needs a "turn down the graphics" option -- basically un-playable on my (admittedly rather antiquated) laptop -- that may also be why I couldn't seem to hit anything (lagging hit detection?) (but only knocked off 1 fun star for this). Will retry on a more beefy Linux machine later if time.

Loved the "behind the scenes" video! Next: watch all your vids, learn all your tricks and see you next time!

May 4, 2014 @ 1:51am

I would pay for this... amazing. but hard...

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:32am

Hi. Amazing Jam entry... great all around!

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:41am

The game works really well and was a lot of fun to play. I played it about 5-6 times. I have a few suggestions:

The dates on the tombstone don't quite make sense, unless he was born on the day you start playing - I know it's to show the amount of time you lasted, but it's still odd.

I think the cells should probably be drawn to you instead of needing to collect them. If you're going to have to stop the game to buy things, I think that allows for better flow.

Other than that, I felt the targeting was a little off and the game should probably pause as you place turrets since you can't place any before the game begins.

It's an incredibly polished game for 72 hours and I could easily see this as a regular indie bundle kind of game. The visuals are nice and the soundtrack is solid. Also the sound effects actually match the soundscape so I'm a fan of that.

Keep going, thanks for sharing, and thanks for commenting on my game! :D

spotco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:46am

Really great game! Shots (especially at first upgrade level) seemed to not always hit (even though the enemies died), would have been much better if they were more "impactful".

RetroEpic says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:11am

Really awesome entry, a huge amount of fun!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:16am

Awesome! I loved the graphics, and it was really fun to play! Kept me playing for quite a long time! ^^

TomboFry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:52pm

The graphics were amazing, I like the twist on the tower defence theme, and annoying addictive. I will likely continue playing this after the compo! :D

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Frustratingly difficult, but really fun and beautiful. Very well polished! Great for a jam entry!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:40pm

This is clearly going to be one of the top-ranking Jam games this LD. It has a ton of polish, from graphics and sound to powerups and features. There are even multiple levels! I really wasn't expecting there to be so much more from a game that already looked so good, but there you go.

Although it's not the most innovative game, it blends top-down shooting with tower defense--a mix I haven't seen before, or at least not very often--in a streamlined & fun manner, and provides enough varied items from the shop to keep things interesting all the way through. I don't have much else to say but "great job"! Good luck in the rankings! :)

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Well done action game.

May 5, 2014 @ 12:40am

Hey! Infection is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

É noix.

mcapraro says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:47am

really nice and super polished! i like the idea of going beneath the surface of the skin!

FrameMatt says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:52am

Awesome!

Nezzhil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:37am

I'm impressed by the level of polish, from the graphics to the power-ups and turrets.
Cool blend of arcade shooting and tower defense game.

I think that the game becomes unbalanced to the player's favor when you buy the second weapon upgrade, and the enemies seems samey. But for a LD, your game is a superb entry. A huge improvement from your last entry, the beat'em up game.

Nezzhil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:42am

Sorry, I posted my review in the comments section and not into the review's one ^^U

wdebowicz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:11am

One of the top entry!

Ken Ichi says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Awesome game!
Reminds me the Antidote game but with a twist, very addictive!

*HUEBRBR version*
ta foda bagarai! parabens!

Shigor says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Excellent piece, one of the best I've tried.

TobiasW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Great graphics - and I adore the lighting and the color choice! The shooting gameplay was fun, although it sometimes felt like the aim was off which made it a bit more frustrating. I like that you added the tower defense aspect there, but aaah - why can't the time stop when I place towers? Sometimes I just died when I tried to place one, haha. Also for some reason (probably because everything is so glowy) I totally forgot to collect the little cells at the beginning! Apart from those troubles though, I had a lot of fun playing this game. Great job!

May 5, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Best game

NicoM says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:22am

:O thanks for making me feel bad:(....no, seriously, great game, great art, great audio....great job:)

rojo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:43am

Well done! I'm really impressed by the amount of quality content you guys were able to do in such a short amount of time.

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:58am

This game looks amazing ^^ lots of fun to play too. Great work :D

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:33am

Nice!

Luis Anton says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Impressive, simply impressive. I found mouse aiming a bit awkward, but the game is still impressive.

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Very impressive for the amount of time available! It was a bit chaotic for a number of reasons. For one, the aiming felt sloppy. So I was never quite sure if I was going to hit what I was aiming at. Perhaps this was a lag issue. Visually very cluttered due to the size of elements on the screen and a lot of noisy color information. This made it difficult to keep track of what was going on. Frequently I would just "spray and pray". When placing turrets, the action needs to slow down or pause. You never get breaks in which to make strategic decisions like that, so placing a turret often means that you'll need to refill your health right after. I did manage to beat the game, but it felt like that had little to do with skill and mostly to do with leveling up as quickly as possible so that my random shooting would be remotely effective. I'm only writing a long critique because this game is so well put together. A very strong effort that could be fantastic with some careful rework.

CogComp says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:34am

Nice lighting! Nice graphics, fun gameplay. Really impressive!

gre says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:30am

This game is awesome! Incredible work for 3 days. There is just no way I can't put 5-stars everywhere!
Cheers!

May 7, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Incredible ! Probably the best graphics I've seen this Ludum Dare and the concept is well executed ! Awesome job :D

May 7, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Nice, polished game =)

May 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Hey! You've been featured on the Button Masher Bros series - LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxYzJdCreCk

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:11pm

1st place definitely!

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Amazing game!
Web version is laggy
But its the best one I've played so far

DragonXVI says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Fantastic little game! Second level pumps up the difficulty a bit - They barely got passed the entrance in the first level :p Assets well polished, shooter mechanics solid. Only complaints are the cells can get lost in a mass of enemies and turret effects, and wasn't fully clear what the turrets actually did - Even after deploying them. Great final product overall!

alvivar says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:11am

Great work, the gameplay feels really good and the game is very polish. It's also fun to play :D

I don't have any recommendation for you. Solid entry!

belva1234 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:54pm

YOU WIN THE CONTEST!

Robinerd says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Really nice work! Impressive to see a great idea combined with great execution and polish :) I would prefer if you disabled the right-click menu in the web player since I accidentally pressed full screen several time, but maybe that's just me. Anyway, awesome!

jorgemoag says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Awesome work! I love it

Lama says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Very well executed and a lot of graphics/weapons/turrets for the amount of time available, great job !

GFM says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Ha! I finally defeated every virus! I won!!
...
Wait, that was only level 1? O_O
Level 2 got way harder... I got to 10 years and 300 and a few days...

Pretty fun game! It's amazing how polished it is. It felt like a normal game, not a jam one! It's probably the best game I've played so far (and that I'll play in this edition)!

Well, on to feedback about the game...
- I don't think shooting shouldn't be random, or there should be and upgrade to fix this... it's the basic well to get cells, before putting any turret... it shouldn't make you randomly miss.
- I was able to break level 1. I used 1 turret to aggro every enemy and another one to kill them. Then I just had to keep evading (and bringing them near the turret) until I had enough cells to buy better/more turrets. Still, it was really fun!

Congrats!! =D

Gabriel says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:21am

Hey there! Finally managed to play this game, and I gotta say - I am AMAZED! The amount of stuff you guys managed to put in the game is simply unbelievable, together with pretty solid art and polish. The music also fits well, and the overall SFX is very competent. Seriously, dudes. This is amazing!

On the constructive criticism side, I think it would be better if level 1 was way slower and easier, so that people have some time to get used to character control / aiming / looking at ammo and health / collecting cells and buying stuff and pretty much understanding what is going on before actually having to face real difficulty. Kinda like a hands on tutorial disguised as level 1, you know?

Also, the art style and execution is GREAT (as always, it seems, you rock at this, man!), but I think it could be tweaked a bit for gameplay clarity purposes. In a nutshell, I think you could color code the gameplay relevant stuff in a very distinct way (specially the avatar, the enemies and the cells, which are the things that you have to spot quickly in the middle of the action in order to play), and make them always visible (maybe they could emit light to highlight them from the scenery?).

These minor feedbacks apart, this is clearly one of the best games I have played in this LD. Congratulations! :D

PS.: We GOTTA jam together eventually. Just way till we're more comfortable working with Unity. ;)

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:31am

Noooo Dave will die in 2089 ! Kkkkk, nice game ! The best LD game I've ever played.

Nanolotl says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:36am

Amazingly well done. Really polished and fun to play. Good job.

loxo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Awesome game! It looks and feels complete.

joe40001 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:15am

Very good game, thanks for tipping me off to it. I did have to go with the lower build due to framerate, but I won't really hold that against you.

I really liked this game, my one complaint would be that after beating a level you are forced to go to the next one (it would have been cool to see how crazy you could get) that and when you die in level 2 there is no level select to start at level 2. I get why because then it would feel like the game over screen means less (clever idea btw), but that would have been nice.

The other suggestion I would have is that tower defense time games usually have "pleasant time" where it's either paused when you are picking where to place your building or there is a break between waves. Placing turrets while being attacked was a bit annoying, but that said some people like frantic gameplay I like gameplay where there is more deliberateness to it. Same thing for the health, if you want the game frantic then your eyes have to keep going down and checking your health (unless you want to waste cells on healing after taking only 20% damage), but for me this is more chaotic than fun, but I think that's a personal preference thing.

All of that said, this game is really well made and impressive considering the time limit and stuff, it looks nice, it's innovative, and it's fun. So good job! :)

JonathanG says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:06am

Very impressive entry, high levels of polish in all areas, particularly the sounds & graphics. It was sometimes difficult to tell what was going on as the screen would get very busy between my weapons, turrets, and enemies. Very impressive work!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:26am

Losing all of my cells and weapon upgrades made round two almost impossible to beat for me. Otherwise this was a great game. Looked great, and aside from a bit of lag in the aiming it felt great too. Awesome stuff.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:39am

Scratch that. Just beat level 27. Dave lived an additional 67 years and 228 days.

Jason Lay says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:46pm

I don't typically hand out five star ratings, but this game was worthy in a few categories. This actually kind of has me hooked, wish I was laying on the couch, playing it on my Xbox One with a controller, I'd pay money for this (HINT HINT HINT HINT).

frankd0331 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:07am

Great job! Also, thanks for all the additional blog posts and vids ya'll have put up.

ryangatts says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:52am

Wow. That is one impressive game! It looks like you guys are both top notch. My only gripes are that it is difficult to see if an enemy was hit and the player fires one shot in his current direction before rotating. Besides that, this is an excellent 72 hour game.

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:46am

Visually gorgeous but same old boring wasd shooter.

illugion says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Great job with the game ! I could only get him to live almost 3 years, it was too hard man ! Sometimes the bullets got through the enemies, I'm not sure why, but you have a lot of mechanics done already and that's impressive!

May 19, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Had a whole boat load of fun playing. Went very quickly from a standard shooter to an upgrade FPS/Tower Defense. Maybe add some more enemy abilities and I think you can easily sell this on places like steam.

See more info on my playthrough for Ludum Dare Showcase vol 4! http://youtu.be/aFa_iU1gvTg

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]