Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Walrus, Mole, Puncher

by VikingWarriors - Jam Entry

It's the middle of the night and your Walrus is barking up a storm, your garden is rustling with moles, what's a Viking to do? Punch the moles to feed the Walrus, of course! As a Viking, you have a tight sleep schedule, try to feed Walrus with as many moles as possible in just 90 seconds. Made using CraftStudio Requires the Microsoft XNA Framework Redistributable (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914) for Windows or the Mono runtime (http://download.mono-project.com/archive/2.10.10/macos-10-x86//MonoFramework-MRE-2.10.10.macos10.xamarin.x86.dmg) for Mac. Linux version's meant to be run through wine (we think) with Mono.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Humor(Jam)4.00
#36Fun(Jam)3.84
#112Innovation(Jam)3.64
#124Overall(Jam)3.62
#334Graphics(Jam)3.48
#344Mood(Jam)3.10
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#601Audio(Jam)2.26
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

zed0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

I thought this game was hilarious, such an awesome concept for a little game, very funny too! I'd totally buy a version of this for Android if there were some achievements or something.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41am

Ha. I didn't read the description very closely so it took me a moment to understand the goal. First I tried punching the walrus, and then I ran around for a minute just slamming the moles upwards. I was pretty content with that, but once I figured it out I definitely had a lot more fun. Very fun.

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42am

First time I have done THAT in a game

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42am

Wish I could change keymapping and invert the y-axis of the camera.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47am

Yes.

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17am

Cute and funny. I enjoyed juggling with the moles. The game is well made and the animations are nice. :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57am

Hah so awesome! I got myself a beer and some heavy metal and punched the sh*t out of those moles. Great game, really awesome. 5/5! :D

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

The link to the Linux-Version is the same as the one for the Mac-Version ... any instructions on how to run this on Linux?

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Whoops. Yeah typo'd on the Linux link. Fixed now. We believe that you're meant to run it with wine, but we haven't been able to test it yet. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:17pm

great job ! :)

legendpaul says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

I think this is a good effort, I just found it too difficult to control and hit the moles

Mman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Very fun, and a very funny concept!

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice entry, was fun to slam some moles into the ground :)
Could have used some music.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

Keeps crashing on OSX when I try to play from the main menu

May 1, 2014 @ 2:50am

@GreatBigJerk Thanks for pointing that out. We've tested and fixed the game on Macs. Try downloading it again.

x1212 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Thanks, now it's working on Linux by typing mono MolePuncerLinux.exe into Terminal.

Very funny idea, but somehow it's really hard to hit the moles ...

td1801 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Super fun game !

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:49pm

The game was very good! Models were well done, and it was goofy enough to put a smile on my face. Congratulations for doing an awesome job on this one!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]