Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Sided

by Daskaund - Jam Entry

The world of "Two Sided" is like a coin, two different but related to the same surface worlds. you will start the adventure beneath the surface of the world in an oppressive atmosphere. You must finish at least one labyrinth and use a teleporter that will take you back over the surface of the world in a completely different place. In the underworld, you might fall into trap on the ground, or get stuck by invisible walls ... hope you will enjoy the game, if you have any question do not hesitate! :)

Developers:

Scripting: Jordo76
Level design and texture pack: Swipeshark, Nast, Hedjin, Daskaund
Software used: CraftStudio [ http://craftstud.io/ ]
Sounds used: Lustmord - Black Star [ http://rutube.ru/video/1a77224867f72e79a1d1949e87d176dc/ ] Hiroyuki Sawano & - Ad Lib � [ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EvIhOFbXfpA ]
Special thanks: GamePortos, Xiden, Poltergeist and LucasRo7

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#196Mood(Jam)3.46
#282Audio(Jam)3.25
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#531Humor(Jam)2.16
#589Innovation(Jam)2.54
#603Overall(Jam)2.79
#611Graphics(Jam)2.71
#655Fun(Jam)2.33

Comments

DanDias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:10am

Nice work! The cramped, oppressive feel of the maze linked me to the theme immediately. However, first person maze navigation got a bit tedious. Just a suggestion, something that let you see the traps for a limited period of time or something would up the fun factor a bit. Maybe some features of the world I could look at as a reward while progressing. It just seemed really plain. The mood and the dual world concept was what I enjoyed.

eowindil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

What an oppressive atmosphere ! Good choice of music and my heart thanks you for not adding screamers.
The traps really are frustrating, it's difficult enough to find the good way. But you should have added more features beacause it gets repetitive quickly.

Good work anyway !

Daskaund says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Hello ! first of all thank you for your support :)
During the 3days we had to create Two sided, we looked for stuff that could make the game a little bit less boring but we don't know yet how to make npc or foes neither moving blocks.. in fact, the only "fun" stuff is the parkour field in the top world : if you jump while being on a slope you can go further into the air..
Hope you'll have fun with this minigame, if you have ideas for more content i'll be glad to try to put it in the game :)

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice job and good music :D

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42pm

thank you :)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Ran around in the first maze for about 10 minutes before finding the exit and then another maze. Needs something to make the mazes more interesting. The mood was nice before the music stopped. The maze got dull pretty quick.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06pm

It's nice to see some craft studio games :D.
Games made with it are generally beatiful (for voxels).
Good job.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Really good game :D. Really beatiful. The atmosphere is extremely well made. I love it. Like all the other craft studio games submitted since LD23 or LD24, it's awesome

brogrammers says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Even if other said you should have added other features (and they are not wrong), I love the game even as it is, especially the mood it puts into you (creepy as hell). Great job!

Kwrky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Was I meant to fall through the floor? I just kinda fell into blackness forever and the game didn't restart...

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:24pm

@Kragnir : as i said before, we didn't had any other ideas to make things at a time fun and respecting the theme... for the sound, we couldn't put a sond that was more than ~5min long

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

@Kwrky : in fact, the world beneath the surface is in a bix black box so you can't see the background & the top world.. and since you don't have HP, you can't die so the only way to retry for now is to altf4 and re-launch the game :/

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Hm, those audio files make the download quite large. And the audio just stopped after Black Star played once. Took me probably over 10 minutes to get out of the maze, can't navigate at all when everything looks the same. Maybe paint the tiles the player has already walked on or add something to the walls to help with navigating. Not much to do at the moment either, like others have mentioned. The surface world looked pretty nice, but you probably shouldn't make the skybox from voxels :P.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I don't know what went on, but I actually didn't run into any traps or invisible walls the whole time I was in the maze. I also didn't realize that the warps would keep sending me back and forth between the worlds, so I wound up in the maze quite a few times, hehe.

The free-runner on top of the roof would have been a lot more fun with longer ramps and smaller jumps--as-is it was a bit more like a tilted "pixel-perfect" first-person platformer, which is a rough combination.

Excellent mood. To fix your audio problem, usually folks make some kind of loop. Might be difficult if you're using open-source music, but it'd also help your entry a lot.

Thanks for the experience! Those beast roars in the background freaked me out, haha.

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:21pm

@Moosefly : thank you for this great idea, i'll speak about it with my mates and we'll try to put it in the game

@Solifuge : In fact, there is almost no traps in the maze but i wanted to warn people about it so they cannot think this is a bug or something. For the sound, we thought that it was looping but none of us played the game until the end of the sound but it will be fix as soon as possible ^^

JayPC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:05pm

This is really cool, as someone mentioned the maze navigation in first person is trealy hard. Honestly just make the hallways like 3 or 4 blocks wide instead of 1 block and that would be solved, my first try, I fell in a hole into an abyss. I figured that the hole was intentional so I waited to 'die' and have to restart but I just kept falling... so I'm no longer sure if the holes were intentional. Anyway fun game!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Holy crap the music is scary! Really nice

Zerkruemler says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:49am

Hmm, what should I say. The first thing I did is to jump out of the window which somehow breaks the game. Then I wandered aimless through the labyrinth, but nothing happens. No hint what to do, no interaction with the world or other stuff. I haven't understood the game.
Unfortunately the first minutes where too anoying to give the game a real chance.

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:56am

Haha the music is scary. Mood is really cool

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:23pm

The atmosphere was really great. The dreary audio helped with this a lot. I found the jumping to be very frustrating, as I kept sticking to the walls. Cool concept, and visuals. A little more control polish would make this good entry a great one! :)

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:33pm

liked the atmosphere in the maze. found some things i could jump around but the jumping seemed very unreliable!

Daskaund says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Hey everyone ! thanks again for your support and you replies :) I wanted to say that the jump is useless in the game, we just put it because my friends and I thought that a game in first person view is more boring without the ability to jump around ^^

jhrrsn says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I enjoyed the music and the art style was really interesting. Neat idea - good job guys!

hbocao says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:15am

Well done, guys!
The underworld was very creepy and whoever made the decision of using that "growl" sound can go... !! Dammit! hahaha The music really helped to set the mood too. The graphics are cool, but it remind me too much of Minecraft (not the cubic world, but the textures). Very interesting game. Is there an ending? Because I got wandering until I fell down under the world. Take a look: http://imgur.com/a/BmHVf#3

Daskaund says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:31am

@hbocao : wow how the hell did you end up there ? o_O
There is no end in Two Sided, because we ran out of time and skill in scripting, but you can considere that you have finished the game when you ends all of the mazes :)

Adrian says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Good job, music is really cool : oppressive and makes you want to leave this bad gray world. Which I found a little boring, even though I understand it's probably the aim of the game. I really liked the bright sided world, and found myself trapped again in this giant maze too quickly after that.
Other than that, the game is really smooth but I noticed a couple of playability problemes : Jumps have a few collision problems and mouse sensitivity could easily be lowered. But good work, great atmosphere !

May 7, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I tried to run the linux version, but got the following error:

err:module:import_dll Library mscoree.dll (which is needed by L"Z:\\home\\zeigfreid\\Games\\LD29\\TwoSidedLinux\\TwoSidedLinux.exe") not found
err:module:LdrInitializeThunk Main exe initialization for L"Z:\\home\\zeigfreid\\Games\\LD29\\TwoSidedLinux\\TwoSidedLinux.exe" failed, status c0000135

Tosic says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Ever wanted to save the world? Yes? Check out my game!

Nanolotl says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:41am

The audio created a really nice atmosphere, but something about the 3D graphics and movement just gave me a headache. Possibly to narrow a field of vision?

ElStevo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Nice idea. Cool mood. I got lost very often. Maybe larger corridors and slower running pace would help.

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I really liked the atmosphere, especially in the mazes. However, controsl were a bit clunky (speed was a little to high, and jump had a few problems with collisions).
That being said, I liked the rest of the game. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]