Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diggin' Dodge

by wheelsx - Jam Entry

This is our very first Ludum event, in fact, it's our very first game jam. We had a blast! Our team consists of myself doing the programming, and my wife doing the art. We spent about 25 hours each working on this game. It was a great topic, and now that we're done, we can't wait to try out the games everyone else made.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#175Theme(Jam)3.55
#292Fun(Jam)3.13
#316Overall(Jam)3.30
#391Audio(Jam)3.02
#395Innovation(Jam)2.96
#446Humor(Jam)2.38
#465Graphics(Jam)3.15
#491Mood(Jam)2.85

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

omg that totally sounds like us! My husband does the programming and I did most of the art for our game (plug, check it out!). Your game was so much fun! Loved the artwork and it was super hard which is good :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

Also, you guys should find us on twitter or something. We're seraphicmedia. I couldn't find you...

jayemjee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

It's got a nice look, and the controls are pretty good, too. It's a little difficult, lacking the ability to defend yourself. Very colorful, very well-made, and really nice music and sounds.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52am

Pretty fun game, the digging mechanic reminds me of the dirt from Super Mario Bros 2. I don't like how there's no way to defend yourself though (and the saws take a bit too much health IMHO).

okeedokeben says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53am

Fun game! Very challenging. The artwork is awesome! My wife suggested that I try a similar SMB2 digging concept, but I didn't think I could pull it off in time. You guys did great with it!

Elforama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53am

Nice graphics and gameplay, hard too. Good job guys!

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44am

I enjoyed this game.

sputnikgames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

I played for quote a while on this games :) Really good game.

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14am

Fun game. Cool concept.

wheelsx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

We originally had plans to help defend yourself, but we ran out of time, and we didn't think it was as important as what made it into the game. As a few of you pointed out, it's obvious that I was influenced by playing SMB2 in my childhood (aah, the 90's had good games). We plan on finishing it and releasing a new version, but we will keep this version here, and on our brand new (currently otherwise blank) website.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nicely polished. I like the art. It didn't quite make sense to me that you could go through dirt sideways. I didn't really understand the powerups until they were first used. It might be good to introduce the power ups exactly when enemies appear as well. It would also be nice to somehow store them, so you could have more control over when you can deploy that power up.

Loneshark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24am

Good audio, though I think the BGM could have been tuned down a bit =P

Love the animated eye on that drill =)

tehryanx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50pm

anyone else get mario2 flashbacks ? This was super fun.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:28am

It's fun. It's frustrating about how hard it is to dodge, but it's balanced by how much damage you can take before losing.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:28am

lol dat explosion when you die

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:37am

Thats a good game. The music and graphics completely fit together. Nice work, thank you two.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38am

Maybe needs a bit more balancing and it would been nice if you just could hold down s instead of pressing it to move down. Still I like this game! Keep it up.

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26am

Very fun!, it remembers me Mario 2 from the NES.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:45am

I cannot play your game: when I click the "Web" link, it sends me to a WordPress page with a HelloWorld post...

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:50am

Game link doesn't work

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:16am

Great game, super loud music though

wheelsx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:57pm

If you hit escape or p, you can adjust the volume of the sound effects and music. Also, installing Wordpress managed to break the link, I'm trying to fix it now.

wheelsx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Seems to work now.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Great debut. Congrats!

dosER_42 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:34pm

nice. good job.

May 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Really sweet concept! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/f3WpQDAZRnI

wheelsx says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Thank You Jupiter! We have been enjoying watching your video series, and look forward to more!

May 17, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice game! I really like the music. I felt like I needed to be able to shoot to the sides. It was a pretty difficult game.

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Dodging missiles was hard, and digging by holding down the down arrow would be nice.
However, graphics and audio were very good, as was the concept. I liked it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]