Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

My Little Submarine

by cochu - Jam Entry

Please note that in any way, this is NOT a serious submission :p
It was made during a real world event by the member of the staff including myself, so I had no time for a serious attempt.

Fully made in Js with Paper.js, the code is really messy & was not designed to be readable.

The team was extra careful when designing the artworks & the sound design. All image&sound were made during the 48h event.

Any amusement this game could bring should be seen as a bug, not a feature !
Enjoy & vote for us ! (And try beating the first 10 lvl for an unlimited experience !)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Humor(Jam)4.12
#153Audio(Jam)3.56
#203Fun(Jam)3.28
#373Mood(Jam)3.06
#586Theme(Jam)2.67
#601Innovation(Jam)2.50
#629Overall(Jam)2.72
#706Graphics(Jam)2.28
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Reminds me of Dancin' Man, my #1 favorite of all time ludum dare entry.

tarraschk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

So much fun doing the sound of the birds, and drawing the explosions.

This game proves that you can definitely set up a Real World Meetup AND create a complete video game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:31pm

That bird messed me up pretty bad!

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

What do they say when you die? Oh no, coco?

matheod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Xd this is awesome :D

Remember me minecraft april fool :p

jayitinc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

I love any entry with sound effects made only with vocal cords. Especially when they are done so crudely XD

Naouak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

Best entry of the jam. period.

Uhuhuhunicorn!

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

10/10 Swimming seagulls.

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

great sound! very funny submarine game :)

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:40am

lol the sound effect is interesting. The gameplay is good, but there is not so much room left for the player to react as the ship and enemies are so big in terms of the screen size.

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Pretty funny stuff

May 17, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I lost it when I became a unicorn. This is the first game that made me laugh out loud for 2 minutes :) The sound is also amazing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]