Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disorientation.

by yo_milo - Jam Entry

Experience firsthand, what it is like to be blind...


Don't get too scared, it might kill you.

By the way, the second set of stairs is the end of the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#13Innovation(Jam)4.13
#43Mood(Jam)4.07
#111Audio(Jam)3.70
#191Overall(Jam)3.48
#347Graphics(Jam)3.45
#417Humor(Jam)2.44
#523Fun(Jam)2.71
#565Theme(Jam)2.71

Comments

galeswift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

Awesome! Great idea for a game!

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59am

Interesting game, I feel like the shaders got a little wonky at times, could have used one of the intersection effects ala Quantum Conundrum to help delineate the environment, but I really like the atmosphere and the idea.

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

@EmberKirk Great Idea, I need to do something like that.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42am

oh my, that is fantastic. really really love the atmosphere... had my heart pounding!

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:47am

Wow, well done. The atmosphere was spot on and something like echolocation was a very interesting way to go about navigation.

Hob623 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

Very atmospheric game, really lives up to its title. Felt almost claustrophobic at times because of the smallness of the space. Good job!

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17am

Very very creepy. Awesome idea too

Contacaton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30am

Nicely done!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Very cool concept, I reached some stairs and got kicked to the menu so I guess (hope) I made it?

Using that visual cue for echolocation was pretty cool. I feel like it's in the same vain as the horror games that use the temporary flash of a camera to see things. Lots of potential for jump scares ;)

The audio also added a lot for the atmosphere!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw something!!!! I freaked when I saw whatever it was... 2x scarier than slender man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58am

This should be made into a full game. Freaked me out.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

Very original! Blackness and the unknown just makes instant creepiness.
The game jumped back to the menu after I wondered around a bit. And the menu doesn't seem to do anything when I click on it either.

eufrik says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:41am

Awesome idea. Just some thoughts, add some more audio next time to have a much better experience of the game.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45am

It's got a great atmosphere, but it's just too dark and I can't see anything. I know that I'm supposed to be blind, but it's not much fun being blind. Great use of sound effects.

demonshanker2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:59pm

I found that even with the echo location activate it was still difficult to see anything. Neat idea though.

zdonkeyx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:56am

Such a nice concept. The echolocation visual could last a bit longer. I found myself just spamming the mouse button. You definitely got the mood right though, I could see this being a great horror game.

Tomski says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:17am

Cool idea.The heavy breathing sound was a nice touch that added a lot to the mood

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:44pm

That game was pretty immersive. At some point though, I felt like I heard someone screaming. I instantly removed my headphones and closed the game. Now I am too scared to boot it up again...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]