Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Buddy: Beneath the Surface of a New Mexico Landfill

by SecularBaron - Jam Entry

Collect the five buried Alien Buddy cartridges while avoiding the authorities.
Controls: Space - Interact(when icons at top of screen are present), Arrowkeys - Move
Art - Jane H.
Programming - @SecularBaron
Made with : GameMaker, GraphicsGale, MilkyTracker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#21Humor(Jam)4.08
#29Theme(Jam)3.98
#215Mood(Jam)3.42
#446Overall(Jam)3.09
#465Graphics(Jam)3.15
#500Innovation(Jam)2.71
#554Audio(Jam)2.50
#576Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

Felt like I was playing a 2600 game, from the controls, the sounds, the big blocky characters. Very nice design.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

Hah, very topical, well done

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09am

I had a good laugh. Initially it plays as bad as the original Atari 2600 E.T. game, but adding the digging sequence makes up a lot. Could find some cartridges. Very fun!

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Great idea for a strange game

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

A fair rehash of the Atari 2600 game E.T in which you dig the graves of your foes whilst being pursued by child predators in a hellish, abstract dreamscape. Educational!

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

Delightfully clunky and conveniently topical. Great job!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

Nice graphics and nice game

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

Oh the nostalgia, it burns! Funny topic

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40am

I was hoping someone would do this. and you did not disappoint. epic movement sounds. did someone see elliot?

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Like it :D Very fun

ezolotko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Fun, I like two different viewpoints.

vogon101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56pm

A very fun game. I didn't quite get the point but great nonetheless

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:04am

well that brings back memories, not great memories, but still well done on the game

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

Hilarious and very true to the original game :)

epiplon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:08am

Oh no, why the alien doesn't merge with the Kid? ;-;
So sad...

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:08am

Well that was unexpectedly relevant to recent events. Kudos to you two!

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:11am

This is really hilarious. I've never played E.T. but I've seen it being played a few times so I was laughing pretty hard at how accurate this is. Sometimes it's a bit too accurate though, a little less confusion and some less ear-grating sounds would have helped.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:13am

Nice!

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

I started my gaming career with NES, so I didn't have first hand experience on E.T. for Atari 2600, but after hearing A LOT about it on the net, I just knew I had to try this one out.

I had no idea what was happening. I thought the music would break my headphones. I still don't know what some of those graphics resemble. I loved it!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

I had fun! I really liked the 2600 style art and I loved how topical this was to this weekends dig. Great job.

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18am

Very funny and Ad hoc game...

Also, the atmosphere and the graphics are great, perfect mock up!

5 stars on theme, graphics and Audio... for sure.

SecularBaron says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:24am

Thanks everyone for the nice comments. Keeps me motivated to work on my larger projects.

hanoth says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:50am

Hilarious! I love the 2600 style.

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Fun game, I was wondering if people made an ET game for this LD. This is one fun ET game.

May 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Nice version of ET I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Yay, I'm glad someone else had the same idea that I did. I liked your take on this!

May 17, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Very true to the original. Wasn't expecting that twist ending.

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:32pm

The digging part was good, however the noise just destroyed my ears. I ended up muting the game...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]