Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Mole You Know

by Mandlebar - Jam Entry

Whack a mole game with a twist! WASD to move and Space to whack. Twitter: @Mandlebar @Cwaff

www.mandlebar.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Theme(Jam)4.07
#44Humor(Jam)3.79
#111Fun(Jam)3.50
#193Innovation(Jam)3.39
#270Mood(Jam)3.27
#325Overall(Jam)3.29
#493Audio(Jam)2.73
#548Graphics(Jam)2.89
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Melondonut says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40am

I love the camera work. and pixel arts are so cute!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Kinda creepy and really fun :) you really had me at the zoom out effect :D

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

The electricity(?) shooting off the 'moles' was just... wrong. :D

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Very funny! I liked the way you introduced the character and thereby made it a tutorial. The graphics weren't terrible, but weren't incredible to stare at. The game play was pretty cool, but there's no reason to not just spam the spacebar over and over again, which made my thumb tired. It would have been much better to just be able to hold it down since there was no cooldown on the attack anyway. The difficulty scaled really fast, I got to 120 moles and instantly died. Pretty fun game, well done!

Suyo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Hah, the zoom out really surprised me! Quick question, is the signal just a time limit or is it actually affected by how many moles are on the surface?

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

It's affected by the number of moles on screen doing their electricity thing!

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02pm

The music is awesome! And the camera movement revealing the rest of the map was also pretty good. Pretty and simple, good job :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Very nice! Loved the humor and the main game art!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Nice effect with the zoom out.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Awesome! This was really fun. I was so eager to know what happens in the end. ^^

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54pm

AMAZING! The tutorial character bio was fantastic, the moles were cute and then became extremely menacing, the zooming out was brilliantly done, and the congregation leading to poor phone signal was bonkers! The Overlord called, and it wasn't good news! :D

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Very fun game, short, but very fun. I did notice a little bug: whenever you whack a mole right before it starts emitting radio wave, the mole disappears but the wave stays until you whack it. Good job :)

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:32am

what a twist!, really cool idea and hitting the "moles" was entertaining

rezzish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I loved your overall idea here. Good work!

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:27pm

hahaha funny twist, nice zoom.

TomboFry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I got the hang of it after my first game, but I only managed to get 100 points, I can see that no one else has posted their highscore D:<

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Got to 91. Great twist

May 9, 2014 @ 5:52am

ha ha funny game . I like music ,camera effect and the idia

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]