Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Digging for Gold

by Joshua_Burr - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare!

Control with the arrow keys and space bar.

A puzzle game where the aim is to mine all of the gold.

There are 11 levels.

The game is lacking in any polish. There is no title screen, background or sound. I ended up having much less time to work on this than I had planned.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#153Fun(Jam)3.40
#289Innovation(Jam)3.19
#309Theme(Jam)3.28
#316Overall(Jam)3.30
#464Humor(Jam)2.33
#529Graphics(Jam)2.96
#578Mood(Jam)2.68
#654Audio(Jam)1.65

Comments

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:05am

stuck on the level in the screenshot - thought this turned out quite interesting afterall :)

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47pm

This was pretty intriguing, stuck on the same level as the screenshot too but the concept ain't half bad! Good work.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Love the puzzle design :)

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Congrats on finishing - this is actually a really cool idea! Nice puzzle mechanic. If you hold the arrow keys and press enter though (or are holding the keys when you complete a level), you can spawn inside the block adjacent to the spawn position. With a little more polish, I think this would have gone down really well in the compo. See you at the next thing, Josh! :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I really liked this entry.

The game is so simplistic but I enjoyed playing it so much! Nice job, especially on the level design. Loved the artwork too (could have used a background).

Sweet game.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03am

Really nice puzzle game! It could have done with some sound, though.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Wicked puzzles!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Cool! That was pretty fun. Nice job!

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

Hard but fun! I too got stuck att the level in the screen shot. Is there even a way to solve it or is this an elaborate way of trolling us?

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:38am

Thanks for all the feedback.

I promise that all the levels are beatable :) I didn't have anyone to playtest the levels so it was hard for me to judge the difficulty.

I will post a link to a walkthrough for level 9 (the one in the screenshot) later today for those that want it.

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35am

Here is a link to a picture walkthrough for level 9 for those who what it: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/15488004/DiggingForGold_level9_walkthrough.zip

Please let me know if anyone would like walkthroughs to any other levels.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15am

Fun little puzzle game

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Deceptively nice puzzling. Pretty good difficultly ramping. Nicely done! :)

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Solid concept, genius game design, nifty mechanics, fun game. Could be polished further, but what's there is already great. Thanks for making this!

minibutmany says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice entry, very impressive level design. I too got stuck on level 9, I'm not sure if I will cheat or not...

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Nice concept and good puzzles. Didn't realise I could jump at first.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Really nice puzzle game!

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I had great fun playing it. Thank you!

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Very nice puzzle game. The controls are very responsive. The only thing I think should be improved is the down digging. It wasn't always clear, which tile would disappear. But that is a minor complaint. Cool game!

DeathBread says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Really fun to play, even though it's so simple :)

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:55pm

I like it. I couldn't get past level 3 as I was failing my jumps and got frustrated. Keep it up :)

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Very nice

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Very nice little puzzle, good work on the progression: I got hooked and played it through. I like the "dont saw off the branch you're sitting on" mechanics.

FGM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Hah, I beat it. Fun and challenging.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Great game! :)
I love level design, they're fun, small but really I needed a while to think.

Too bad, that gold isn't sprite, like hero.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Very nice game, kept me entertained for a while :).

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Clever puzzle game that occasionally requires a lot thought to solve. Pity about the lacking sound, though... Either way I had a lot of fun with it. Grats on your first entry! :)

Draknek says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:44pm

For puzzle games I almost always want undo, but I realise that wouldn't have been a priority given the limited time. Some of the levels are quite big and accidentally making a bad move near the end of a level is frustrating.

If it wasn't for the jumping, I'd want to get rid of the smooth movement and have everything be tile-based. Probably would still prefer that even though it would make jumping more arbitrary (go one up and two along). Maybe I've spent too long with PuzzleScript!

Glad you had time to finish and submit this! Good luck with the next thing :)

Gazok says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Fairly good mechanic, but it felt a bit frustrating when I made a mistake. Filling your levels was maybe a bit too forgiving, because it meant I could just carve my way to the target with a staircase every time, and the puzzles weren't very challenging. Good introduction of further mechanics, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]