Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Geology Rocks

by theengineers - Jam Entry

This is our puzzle game where you play as an unnamed digger/miner/generic underground job title, and you must get from A to B simply using the rocks (blocks) around you. Good luck :D
WASD, Right Click to mine (delete), Left click and drag to move light coloured blocks.
Notes: We only have a few levels for now but there are MANY more to come. We are also going to be adding a soundtrack with sound FX.
Please follow our Twitters @ChiptuneDev and @WaistcoatDev for updates and the like:D

About the levitation... It's incredibly fun and all, but there are also puzzles too xD
NOTE: I have included a second link. This link is a version of Geology Rocks that is constantly being updated, and therefore I cannot use as my official submission. The first link is the original submission, which has not changed.

UPDATED THE GAME!:D We now have (pretty crummy) sound FX, and we have fixed the levitation problem. (But we're keeping it in for something else...) Also Lava. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#345Humor(Jam)2.64
#382Theme(Jam)3.14
#387Innovation(Jam)2.99
#505Fun(Jam)2.75
#543Overall(Jam)2.91
#607Graphics(Jam)2.74
#633Mood(Jam)2.52
#653Audio(Jam)1.66

Comments

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Funny mechanics, although if you plan on doing something more with this project you should do something about the ability to cheat by standing on the block that you move =)

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Pretty neat game! The name of it made me chuckle :D

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15pm

The idea is great. Really love it, but after figuring out that it's possible to fly on rocks its a lil bit easy!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Ah yes, flying on the rocks is a bug I need to fix xD As long as you play the game through properly too, it'll be fine (for now) :3

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

I like the mechanics idea, but the puzzle structure is too simple.
Besides, i got confused with what was and was not a path.

I love the art. It took me back to the 80's, those torches felt bizarrely nostalgic to look at haha

And sorry but after telling me that i CAN levitate using a rock, i WILL levitate using a rock :T I'm a terrible person

TheGrieve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Potential as a strong puzzler here, adding cave-in's for being too heavy handed would be great (and enjoyed the stand on blocks bug, made the game a really crazy version of that electric wire steady hand game :)

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32pm

@bakyush_figtree I'll definitely redesign the levels to be more intuitive (and remove the pesky Levitation Bug xD)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice mechanic ! Interesting interaction with the game physics. Great work !

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45pm

You can pretty much fly through the levels if you move a block you're standing on. :)

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

@manabreak Yeah it's an unfortunate bug. But how did you like the rest of it?

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Good job! If you want to keep players from "levitating," you could make the blocks not collide with the player while being moved, and then have them reset or not be placed if they're in the player's way? Fun!

indigofiz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

I'm really intrigued with the gameplay and can imagine several ways of it being really interesting. You should probably fix the mechanic of moving the blocks, maybe freeze the screen and prevent it from overlapping one another?

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

The levitation bug has been fixed. But I am actually allowed to update it?

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

UPDATE: Fixed the levitation bug, (it should count as a typo as I just deleted a line of code), enjoy the new, better Geology Rocks!

RobotParking says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

ROCK PUNS

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice mechanics, although it might be interesting to make the blocks tip if they're not supported correctly. Pretty good graphics, and a good sense of humor!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Fairly interesting, really easy though even without standing on the block and moving it. Overall pretty decent

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Violating Newton's 3rd law of motion is SO FUN! Troll physics FTW, please don't fix it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

You could add control with the arrow keys. (I don't use a normal keyboard layout.)
The Pixelart looks nice!

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Cool idea and that character has style haha XD That bug with the flying rocks, maybe you could turn it into a mechanic, it would be really cool to actually do it on purpose somehow :D the only thing that bothered me was the character's hitbox, his arm collides with the walls and i couldn't make some jumps there D:
But overall its a really cool game, nice job !

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Hi there fellow construct user!

The idea is cool but, as some users said before, you need to disable the collisions while dragging blocks, otherwise players will keep cheating.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Ludipe I may have found a few ways of doing it without destroying any other mechanics...

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Really cool idea & well executed. I wonder what kind of puzzles can be built with this... but can definitely see the potential. Good job.

I liked the "quake" effect when placing blocks.. tiny "harmless" detail but made the world difference :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Nice idea and good execution, some puzzles are really well designed. I would love to hear some SFX feedback.

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Writing in the instruction to NOT do something will cause troll players like me to do that exact thing.
I completed the first two level by legit means, but after that everything became a shoot to the moon. :D
Without this "feature" the game would not have been this fun.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Muu? I may keep it in as an unlockable powerup xD

eLLectron says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Love it ! Especially levitation :3

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Really cool idea, but I broke the game by riding rocks like a magic carpet :P Looks like everyone did :P

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

this was a good idea, and also a lot of fun. Nice job, was pretty impressed with this one :)

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

It would restart the game every time i jumped on a movable block.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

You were probably hitting the monster (terraco)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Can't wait to see what you add to it. You'll have to keep us posted :)

blockbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:02am

This is a fun mechanic, this would probably do well on mobile.

BrothersT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

Kind of a broken game, but hey, I should talk ;) seems like it could be fun, you should carry on with it.

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:48am

Would have loved to see the game do more with the enemies and the rotating blocks (and much earlier - too much time spent stacking blocks). I think it'd be helpful to highlight the 'goal' region in some way, since it's not always in the same place relative to the user.

petrocket says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13am

fun little game. didn't play it very far though so i don't know if it got more interesting besides placing blocks and jumping

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

Sweet idea! My only complaint is that I must've hit space 10 times by accident. You should make the restart button something less common.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01am

Cool concept! I think you can still hover on blocks if you're already standing on them. . .

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49am

OK! I'll admit it, I cheated!

valid4life says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20am

It was good! I found it pretty funny in a good way!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:39am

Fun game, but only because I cheated by jumping on a block and dragging it to the end of the stages.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:30am

That mechanic that the instructions said not to do could have been really fun :(

Mythalore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:12am

Very interesting, the main mechanic is actually one that I employed in a previous project. I will say it is a bit glitchy in places and the title is missing a exclamation mark ;) but other than that a good entry, well done.

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:17am

Love the main mechanic. Plenty of possibilities for more levels!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Love the name, and the aesthetics and mechanics are pretty good as well. But like others said, the fact that I can fly using blocks makes the puzzles pretty trivial. Although it is pretty funny.

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:51pm

I like the concept of this game =]
the levitation bug still there. (jump on top of the block and carry this to levitate) but thats fun!

Make A Game says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Nice mechanics, levitation included hehe
My biggest problem with the game was the lack of guidance to the level finish

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice game

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08pm

nice

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I really liked the screen shake effect. and the character. Well done

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Cool game with a lot of potential. It's a shame it lacks sound, it really needs sound. Maybe you could add a sort of finish line or button on which you place a block to complete the level. Still awesome job!

ioboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:02pm

The graphics are really nice :)
The mechanic is cool though cheating is a little bit too easy.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:51pm

A great gameplay idea, Well executed

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Funny game!

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:19am

Cool idea, would like to play it with sound.

andreaswitzen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:29am

Nice game! I especially enjoyed the part where you could levitate using the blocks.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:51am

Pretty game, neat idea, but kind of random!? I seem to die without reason and am never sure of my objective. Also, I was promised digging, but was unable to dig...

(ps my game also had trouble with "die for not reason" ^o^)

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:00am

Nice puzzle!

MidCry says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:20am

Simple but catchy idea ...
Could jump on a block and drag myself with mouse ... :D

psychonull says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:23am

haha fun game. I will say go with the "levitate", I found it pretty new and a good idea ... use the glitch ;)

jeffz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:01am

I enjoyed cheating through this one since it was still challenging to ride the block I was moving. Well done!

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:08am

Nice idea! I had fun trying to break the game by hoping on a block and moving it around with the force.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:23am

I found the controls pretty clunky and got stuck rather quickly, too bad I liked the concept and the character design :) Keep it up !

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:37am

kinda reminds me of the Half Life 2 crade puzzles :)
good work, thumbs up!

hadesfury says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:59am

I did not see the level exit :( but no but found
Great

Kuchalu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:22am

Really fun! I like it.

praporomsk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:14am

Flying on the blocks is a lot of fun! I wish this game was called "The Jedi Minecraft" :)
I did not figure out how to mine, seems like this feature left unimplemented.

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:27am

Nice job, wish the digging mechanic was used more...

roaet says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:07am

Yeah neat mechanics! When I played the 48 hour one I couldn't tell if it was the end or not. Fun game!

Garris says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:55am

Pretty good game : D the dick more is too much fun to not do though. Even with that exploit, there's some really solid puzzles here. Well done.

Penguincat says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:49am

Nice concept, but I actually think your levitation bug is a much more interesting mechanic, you should just roll with it and make that the central mechanic of the game. Just come up with some backstory about telekinetic powers or something :P

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:24am

Interesting ideas in here. I'd disable levitation while moving. Or alternatively *only* have levitation while moving for trickiness. "We are also going to be adding a soundtrack with sound FX. " - is this in the post-72 version? Silence here. :|

atombrot says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:25am

It's a fun game mechanic and could lead to some nice puzzles. I can stack the boxes directly to stairs (impossible physics), which makes the game rather easy. It would be fun if the towers collapsed if stacked improperly ;)

thinkster says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Nice entry. I enjoyed playing it. I would like to see more of the level though so maybe add a zoom out feature!

Artless says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Their has to be a way to make the game fun and challenging while keeping levitation in there! Make it a feature.

conormn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Ha, very nice game. I likes the mechanic very much. Well done!

May 2, 2014 @ 6:21pm

A little buggy (probably fixed in the post-compo version?)

Logun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Simple and cool ! Nice job.

dylanwolf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:54am

Neat mechanic, and your levels show off a number of ways to use it. I did find it a little easy and wish there had been some more complicated puzzles.

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:49am

Really nice concept!

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:36am

In regards to the update:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXukwNQG0uA

Up, C, Down, C, Left, C, Right, C, Hold A + Start

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:48am

Also, you might want to change the geologist's walking pose. It *might* be offensive if viewed the wrong way...

NoahC_ says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:52am

Simplistic controls at its finest! Accessibility is often the toughest part about a game, but you nailed it! Good work!

gwa says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:03am

Nice game I cheated a little ;) but its fun to play it.

Recon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:24am

Good game but next time you should make a game with your own game engine!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:50am

Cool concept. "Space" as the reset button caused me quite a bit of frustration. I kept hitting it by reflex sometimes since it's a common button for jumping. Also would have liked sound. Art looks good. Nice work.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Definitely a neat concept with lots of potential. I was able to figure out a trick where I dragged a block mid-jump and could jump off of it again :)

hanoth says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:53am

Cool stuff. I think you should use the levitation to your advantage and build puzzles that use it.

May 4, 2014 @ 10:20am

Neat idea. I like the instructions and the levitate pose. Gameplay feels very loose, I think you should have focused more on what makes the game tick within the short time you had. It's hard having a gamebreaker as obvious as yours in there (stand on levitating block) and expect people to "play around it". If you can't get it out by design means, then embrace it and make it a real mechanic!
Nice, moody entry overall, but lacks in sound, gameplay and representation of the theme.

lorniebear says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Like it

Wakka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:35pm

very nice concept, the block handling is well made. The game is a bit buggy and unfortunately has no sounds :( However there lays lots of potential in the game

Mr. Jif says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Very nice entry. Although the puzzles were a little on the easy side and didn't require too much thought. Also an actual indicator of where the goal was would be nice too. Flying around using the 'stand on block and move it' bug was fun even if it was unintentional :P

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Cool idea, felt a little buggy with the blocks tho.

May 5, 2014 @ 12:03am

I try to play 5 times, but I always die with the blocks I my head =/

May 5, 2014 @ 2:22am

Man I didn't want to float around on the blocks... It can't be undone.

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:22pm

rockin'

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:50pm

I couldn't get anything to happen. Clicking on the blocks doesn't mine them, all I could do was make the miner walk around and make the blocks float. Not going to rate until I can figure out how to play. Title screen looks great!

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:45pm

its high five!

JaJ says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:47pm

the puzzles are fairly easy, with and without levitation. The exits seem to be invisible? It's not clear where they are.

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:22am

Nice presentation and idea, but could use some polish :) Also for pixle graphics I believe you shouldn't mix different resolutions (ie. all pixels should be same size).. I see this all to often these days (rotating pixels is also a no-no for true pixelated style)

Meedoc says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Nice game. However, the exit of a level is not always easy to identify.

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:13pm

That blocks seems to like to get stuck in my head :/

Toby Pinder says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I found it rather confusing to traverse, to be honest. It'd be nice if you didn't feel like you were going the wrong way all the time.

mustaine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:25am

I like to fly :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:34am

Love the graphics, fun too

May 7, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I really enjoyed this one ! Great job :)

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The game is quite cool, but it took me a while to understand
what to do..
And after I did, it was too easy...
I just flew to the end of the level.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:28am

Geology truly rocks.
Nice and COOL game with a lot of attitude.
Gameplay wise it didn't get it, but maybe I'm stupid.

littleball says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Good game, with some flaws in the physics. I got trapped by dropping a rock on my head. With some more polish this would be a great game. Love the humour!

May 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Hey! You've been featured on the Button Masher Bros series - LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxYzJdCreCk

BadPaul34 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I LOVE the intro ^^
And the graphics

mrbungle says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Cool little puzzle game

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:51pm

nice, has potential!

foodzilla says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:23am

Doesn't feel right... the controls don't feel fun, I think is the basic problem. But interesting nonetheless. Like the theme!

jtpup0 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I'm a fan of platformers that allow players to manipulate platforms, Very enjoyable.

soy_yuma says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I like the puzzles, but it's a bit too buggy... It's funny and I enjoyed it. Good job! :-)

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:44am

The concept is interesting, but it would be nice if the blocks wouldn't get stuck so often, one into another, because it's too easy to move a block too much and then both of them are unplayable.

TheSheep says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:31pm

The easiest way to win is to ride a block.

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Rating this as a jam game so I'm playing the post-compo (72 hour) version. First play-through got stuck under one of my own blocks almost immediately, made bad :P Second playthrough got stuck inside one of my own blocks. Third playthrough I made it through a few levels and then got two of my blocks stuck together. Man I suck at this so much!

The name is clever, the gameplay is too, just a few glitches that make it a little frustrating :S Nice artwork too, and good that there is sound in the game though it does get a little repetitive.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]