Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shootmarine

by elmoGames - Jam Entry

Obey your commanders orders and kill the enemy kraken and Navy plane.

The game features 2 movement layers (on the surface & underwater) and multiple gameplay paths

Controls:
WASD - Move
Left Control - Shoot
Return - Restart
Space - Dive
Move up underwater - Surface

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#210Theme(Jam)3.48
#404Graphics(Jam)3.30
#508Humor(Jam)2.22
#519Innovation(Jam)2.68
#583Audio(Jam)2.33
#618Fun(Jam)2.44
#619Mood(Jam)2.56
#621Overall(Jam)2.74

Comments

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34am

It's a bit hard. I would add HP to the submarine. I didn't manage to get to Kraken. :(

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:47am

Interesting idea and cool game! It is indeed very difficult, but that's not necessarily a bad thing!
I would say the controls were a bit wonky for me though. Moving with WASD and having to shoot with left control put my pinky in an awkward position. Also, surfacing by moving up, but then diving by pressing space bar confused me a little bit!
I really like the idea of kind of game (Shoot 'em up? Bullet hell?) with two separate screens. And the oxygen tank is a cool way to force you to move up into the surface, though I didn't see any motivators for moving back down into the water. Definitely cool though :D

Shire says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02am

It's pretty hard, sometimes I find myself in an impossible situation between bullets. Health would definitely help

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05am

Cool shoot them up, maybe having a greater resolution will be better for the difficulty of the game which is really hard a this point. Sad, there was no music.

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11am

Nice idea to change perspective being both under water and above water. It was a bit difficult though, and I never got to the bossfight either :/

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43am

Nice graphics but a bit hard to control (it's difficult to attack and move with the shoot key in Left Control). The movement of the enemies are not natural too. With more time I'm sure that you would have made a more polished game, but good try!

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59am

Cool idea with different layers :)
But it is extremely hard, I'm getting killed right after 10 seconds...

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30pm

I loved how the theme was integrated in the gameplay. That was brilliant. But as others have said, collisions are rather unforgiving. Maybe with a little bit more polish...

Exergy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Very good looking entry. Nice game, a bit hard for me thou...

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Dying in one hit was really annoying, and the collision boxes are too big! I also would remove the voice every time you start over.

Anyway, the game has a good graphical theme, with cool enemies. Good job.

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I liked it, particularly the graphics and mode switch, but felt it was a bit overly unfair/hard.

King_Mew says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:10am

It's really hard. I like the graphics though!

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:39am

Innovation points for multiple perspectives! Bonus points for having voice work. This was really tough, but fun, and good looking.

Benjamin says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:38am

I would decrease shot speed to lower difficulty. I sometime spawn on rocks and instantly die. The little intro seentence was good but a bit repetitive. Maybe unactive it after the 3rd try ? Appart of that I was really interested in that O2->go back to surface mechanic. Maybe it would have been better for a Above the surface theme :D The steam-punk fish design is great.

CiderPunk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:54am

Awful controls render this almost unplayable! are we supposed to play this entirely left handed? Its a shame cos this looks awesome!

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:52am

THE KRAKEN'S FISH WANT TO KILL US. FEED THE KRAKEN TO END THIS FIGHT.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:36pm

nice graphics

BubuIIC says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I like the graphics(!), the assignments with sound and the idea of switching between above and below the sea-level.
Unfortunately its a bit hard to play with just one life and the key for shooting is not well placed. I am familiar with playing WASD with the left hand, but pressing CRTL in higher frequence was bit more difficult then. Furthermore when I hit it more often, it does not shoot every time. I think a little bit of cooldown is okay, but I did not understand the underlying period of time.

I like the idea very much, but it was very difficult to play, when I take into account how fast the enemies move and in how many directions they can shoot.

Clavus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Nice visuals, but for some reason I couldn't fire my weapon all the time. This ended up being very frustrating.

kristof says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Cool idea with the two levels. The game is a bit hard though. It felt like pure luck to dodge the enemy bullets. I wasn't able to get very far. Oh, and nice graphics!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]