Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Thirst

by TeamPurpleDolphins - Jam Entry

The game involves a real-time survival scenario where you, the pilot of a small space-faring vessel, have crash landed on a seemingly inhospitable desert world. As you search for a way to survive you will find clues that will ultimately direct you to seek refuge with the planet's native species who make their homes under the planet's surface.
Throughout your journey, your ever friendly shipboard AI will attempt assist you with helpful clues and witty repartee.
The survival elements of the game involve collecting water to maintain hydration, and careful navigation through sticking to shaded areas to reduce heating effects. The game ends when you die from overheating, or succeed in finding the alien refuge.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#69Audio(Jam)3.86
#92Overall(Jam)3.70
#114Mood(Jam)3.70
#222Innovation(Jam)3.34
#239Humor(Jam)2.92
#262Graphics(Jam)3.66
#505Fun(Jam)2.75
#534Theme(Jam)2.81

Comments

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

Intro was too lengthy...

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34am

Looks nice and the humor was there, but I needed a skip button for the long audio!

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36am

Amazing!!

mattrified says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38am

Interesting. Seems to have potential to be an Oculus game. Some of the text gets cut off by the screen though.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

The walking was really slow and the mouse speed is too fast. I wish there was more to do like blast aliens. When I heard there was lifeforms, I got excited but then was saddened when it was just a corpse :P I think it's a great concept, it just needs more content.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

I really like the music. However, seems like you walk too slow, and with no real indication of which way to go, its entirely possible to get stuck on a track that's going to keep you in the sun for way to long

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

OH NO! I burned up... Great voice acting, interesting mechanic. And yeah, the intro is a little long.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:58am

wow, very cool! PEOPLE! Play this in fullscreen!

Normally I hate games with forced narrative like at the beginning, but I found this one to be very compelling. Great job! Loved it!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:24am

Really great job !
the walk is a little slow, but the mood and music are really cool
I look forward to see more

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Beautiful game with great music, but I quickly lost focus on what was going on.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I loved this game! I thought the world and it's art was cool, and it was funny at times. In the shade it was hard to tell where I could walk and what was too steep of a hill.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:50am

The unity web player does not play on linux, and the windows one would not render text in wine. Can you please release a linux binary?

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice graphics and music! The intro would have been better if the player could do something at the same time though.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Nice job. Very atmospheric game with great sounds and music. Realy like it.

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:38pm

awesome game but the intro needs a skip button :/

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Super fun! It reminded me Pitch Black a little. You should finish this! I also like the audio, do you have the soundtrack?

DrStahlbart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Your voice output is amazing, nice idea to stop the player feeling alone.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Hi everyone, Tim here. (I'm voiced the ship AI and was the lead music producer.) Thank you all for your feedback and kind comments. Because of this, I have made the in-game music available for download on my SoundCloud page. Since SoundCloud only limits free users like myself to only 100 downloads per track, please grab a copy for yourself and save some for the others.

Thanks again!

Tim

Link: https://soundcloud.com/tim_six/thirst-ost

May 1, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Oops, I meant to write: "I voiced the ship AI..."!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:32am

The premise is compelling and well realized, for the first play session as least. I took the wrong direction right away and died a slow, painful death.

The unskippable dialogue and long intro started to annoy me the second time around. Now I initially went down the right path, but took a wrong turn later and died a slow, painful death.

At this point a third session didn't compel me anymore. I sort of, maybe, know where the underground caverns should, probably, be but I can't stomach to go through the slow and painful intro yet again.

Possible fixes:
-Skippable dialogue (it's an AI, surely I can silence it somehow)
-Slightly faster movement
-Slower water consumption. Currently if I'm in shadow with 39 degrees heat. The hydration level decreases faster than the body temperature, meaning that staying in shadow is less useful than moving on.

Technical notice:
The webplayer correcly calls lockCursor when starting the game (which is more than many other first person entries do), but if the page looses focus afterwards the lock is irreversibly lost.
Fix: Call lockCursor also in OnApplicationFocus.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:44am

The music, the voice acting, the gameplay, everything together is stunning. The feeeeeelz maaan!

iambored2006 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:49pm

I got to the edge of the map and died a beautiful death, looking on, observing the hellish landscape.

May 20, 2014 @ 10:35am

I would prefer less heavy-handed presentation. The music is too dominant, and the voice over is tacky. All you need is to be able to wander about and manage those two gauges, I reckon!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]