Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Symbiosis

by SIMON_SIMON - Jam Entry

Hi everybody, welcome to Symbiosis : The Path to Equilibrium. A game made by :

@Pyrofoux (programmer, game designer)
@Blazingzboub (game designer, 2D graphist)

It's quite a special game. Our first intention was to create a rogue-like in which the character is defined by the real specificities of the player. Both are linked.

The rooms are randomly generated.

The idea is here, but the game may contain a couple of bugs and miss some planned features, because of the time limit. It's our first "real" Ludum Dare submission. Don't hesitate to give your opinion about it !

Move : arrow keys or ZQSD/WASD
Use potion : C
Use power : X

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Innovation(Jam)3.67
#249Humor(Jam)2.88
#475Fun(Jam)2.80
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#525Mood(Jam)2.80
#565Theme(Jam)2.71
#566Audio(Jam)2.43
#681Graphics(Jam)2.40
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52am

Not bad!

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice game overall :)

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

Very nice ! I want more levels ;)

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Wow.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Interesting concept, liked the intro quiz and the way you have to balance things.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37pm

The whole stats being decided by an intro quiz was pretty cool, but the game was easily broken by spamming the lightning ability, though I'm not sure whether or not this was due to some hidden stat.

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

@Gravity Games : It's being fixed ;)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

The game itself isn't very fun, and way too easy (the lightning power is so powerful) but the concept is REALLY good! It's really something I'd like to see extended

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Great game overall, and yes lighting too strong :). At the end the symbol was stuck in the middle of the window don't know if it's the correct end. And I don't really get the link between the begining and the end of the game.

SIMON_SIMON says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56pm

@MSaul : The specs of your character are defined by the mini-games ;)

magicspark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

The intro was fun! In the game the keys "s" goes left and "a" goes down, I think it should be the opposite, no?

Meedoc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

A nice little game. I wish I could play an enhance version, with a more complete dungeon to explore!

Mythalore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12pm

As a seasoned roguelike player its really important to be able to get straight into the game, maybe add a random character mode for people who don't want to sit through the quiz each time they create a new character. That would even allow for more variation in the game.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I don't know if it was bugged, but I could not kill any of the monsters in the top down part. Did I miss something?

I like the idea of the game, but couldn't seen to get any farther.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:08am

So many little games in one! well done! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

May 4, 2014 @ 5:17pm

The actual game was somewhat complicated, but the idea of using a "test" to determine in-game elements is awesome!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]