Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Do not sleep

by Dimir - Jam Entry

My first project! :))

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

The web version doesn't works. I'm not really sure, but I think you need to upload the files to the Public folder. Then share the public link.
Then, I tried the Windows binaries, but you uploaded the executable only. I tried running it and it mentions it needs the '57_5Mb_Data' folder (along with its contents) next to it.

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58am

In the end, I managed to play it by downloading the web version.
===
The music is funny, that's something I can say. But there is a lot of unfinished/unpolished stuff.

Dimir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16am

Thank you very much for review and the criticism! This is my first compilation) Music is my personal. Playing the harmonica.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:43am

I think the critics are being a little more harsh than they need to be. :) You've gotten around a lot of fallbacks that first- projects generally have, like you have a decent character speed, fast shooting, and a definite point. The music's great. I think if you added a point counter you could have a proud, head-held-high game here!

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:37am

Interesting game. I downloaded the game from the dropbox link - I think you need to change something in that link so it opens in the browser automatically.

Zerkruemler says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice Music. But the game seems to be broken. I can move my 'thing' and shoot, but only some (about5-6 or so) 'enemies' come down and that's all.
Missing / Bugged:
More than 3 Seconds of gameplay
Scores
Quit does not work
Download and start of game unneccessary complicated. A direct link instead of a download would be better.

Dimir says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:35am

Wow! I did not expect to see so many reviews here! And I'm very happy about that! Now I still working on a game. I want to finish my ideas. But I not convinced that my finished game should be upload over here. Thanks to all!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:12pm

The music was a nice addition. The movement and collision detection worked.
Not sure what was going on exactly, but figured out how to move and shoot without too much trouble.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Very Cool!

lasagnegames says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:49am

unable to open it ):

May 17, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Some context about the world would have been nice. But the music and art make up for it. Really funny!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]