Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Reaching new surfaces

by lixaxil - Jam Entry

Controls:

Shift: Throttle up
Control: Throttle down
Arrow keys: Rotate.

Hint: try to get into orbit first and then use a hoffman transfer to get to the moon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#537Innovation(Jam)2.65
#648Humor(Jam)1.60
#724Graphics(Jam)2.17
#726Fun(Jam)2.04
#729Mood(Jam)1.83
#748Theme(Jam)1.68
#751Overall(Jam)2.04
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

AdamSwaggoner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Not really sure how I was supposed to play this game.

holgk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

I couldn't controlling it. I always ended up spinning around.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Kind of fun, but I really struggled with the controls. I just couldn't get the rocket to go in the direction I wanted without it spinning round endlessly. A little fine-tuning of the steering would make a world of difference.

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Oh well, it's pretty unbeatable.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

The steering is good when you get used to it (which is the point! :D ) I would like to know where the moon is when I start, though. :) Overall, awesome!

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

You, sir, have been playing too much KSP.

reheated says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Cool idea. I think the difficulty controlling it is what makes it fun. It might be more fun with a map. Also when I land on the moon the game should show some damn appreciation (even if I do land sideways).

Static_boy123 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:12pm

After a couple of tries I managed to be able to at the very least control the ship a little. While I am sure it could be a fun game, it just isn't finished enough, I wish you had spent more of your extra jam time to make things like better controls, and directions. I feel like this is a strong base, but not enough was done with it.

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28pm

I didn't understand the goal. I didn't understand how to play too :(. Too bad there is not an in-game explaination. It could be a good game though

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Interesting!

angelk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:50am

I found it almost impossible to fall into orbit without hitting the starting planet, and once you hit the planet I found no amount of throttle could get the rocket to take back off. How does this relate to the theme?

Dans17 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Confusing game, could use better instructions and there's no audio playing which could be included to further improve the atmosphere of the game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]