Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

pIMGale

by pIMGale - Jam Entry

:::::::::::::::
Mother said:
The pIMGale will take you on a trip beneath the surface.
To places few have viewed.
:::::::::::::::



play pIMGale online
http://dpupp.com/pimgale/



a game made with footage found beneath the surface on youtube
(mostly IMG <4_ditig_number>)

and twine 2 preview

by us ben, david, elke
and all IMGers
shouts to marillenknoedl

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#56Innovation(Jam)3.82
#531Humor(Jam)2.16
#549Mood(Jam)2.75
#633Audio(Jam)1.93
#684Graphics(Jam)2.39
#685Fun(Jam)2.22
#695Overall(Jam)2.49
#706Theme(Jam)2.19

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38am

Amazingly good use of Twine!
Shows what can be done, and what Interactive Fiction can be.

Feels a bit like an experiment of what can be done.

My computer is from the stone age so the videos took a while to load.

But would be fun to see what can be done with this!

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:27am

Mother said: what the hell is that?

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55pm

yep. that was unique.I wonder if he video's and the words were random or designed.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Gets stuck on the video with the gliders for me, couldn't see a way of making it move forward.

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06pm

I found this extremely captivating.

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Really interesting experiment, pushing twine to its limits. Love the looping nature of it.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:14pm

hehe :)

pIMGale says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:28pm

SecondDimension: maybe enlarge your browserwindow on the bottom, on small windows some text might clip on the bottom. On the gliders page the word 'flight' will take you further.

Snoother: actually the final link is looping the game unintentionally, but we will leave it since you like it :]
originally we wanted the link to point to youtube directly e.g:
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=IMG+2953

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Really nice experimental game! I love all of the looks at different cultures around the world :)

May 2, 2014 @ 11:20pm

A quite unique entry. Nicely done!

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:11am

Nice idea of game, maybe in the future games will be something like that. Congrats!

Chaoseed says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I would never have thought of doing something like this, so that's good! And you did it with Twine? Interesting. The experience was...kinda random, I wasn't sure what the point was. Personally I think it could have used a bit more writing and explanation. In all, though, I'm glad you made it. ;)

Claude-Henry says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:48pm

hmmmmm......... well........ wow...... ok...

all that to say, iteresting and intriguing, nice job, quite like it

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:52pm

experimental and interessant.

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Interesting entry! Well done!

Candyhandy says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Crazy unique, i want whatever you're smoking.

May 7, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Awesome experimental game ! It's always a pleasure to discover this kind of innovation, especially when it was made for a ludum dare ! Good job :D

jacklehamster says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

Seems like a good idea, but it didn't seem to work so well on my browser. The journey stopped after I clicked follow and finished the second video.

pIMGale says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:24pm

@Candyhandy:
just grind some pIMGale
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=img+3954
[or any other 4 digit number]

lasagnegames says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:59am

I love what you did with putting together those footages and giving a sense of being driven by a story, a story which sometimes i hadn't understood but great experiment anyway!

loxo says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Truly unique idea! But I would have liked a simpler story.

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:23am

This was interesting. Very unique idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]