Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Fluffykin's Great Sorting Adventure (AKA where your internet comes from)

by Two Scoop Games - Jam Entry

Take a peek inside your home internet router to see how all those crazy cat pictures actually get to your computer. Play as Mr. Fluffykins, the cat who sorts your email and deletes your spam. Try to keep the data flowing as long as you can!

Made with HTML5/Canvas using the open source Splat engine (https://github.com/ericlathrop/splat).
Playable on desktop & mobile browsers. Tested in Firefox and Chrome, Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, and Android.

Made by:
Aaron Smith (@FedoraFugitive)
Alex Bezuska (@alexbezuska)
Anthony Quisenberry (@datGamerDood)
Eric Lathrop (@EricLathrop)
Rex Soriano (@LoLo_R)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Humor(Jam)3.47
#150Innovation(Jam)3.51
#209Graphics(Jam)3.80
#245Overall(Jam)3.40
#300Fun(Jam)3.12
#465Mood(Jam)2.90
#557Theme(Jam)2.74
#618Audio(Jam)2.06
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

For now, this is my favorite! I really like the idea (very unusual) and the game seems to work pretty fluent. I wish it supoorted touch input in desktop browsers (at least on my Win8 laptop using Firefox, that doesn't seem to work), but that's not very important. If you do a post-compo, I'd like to see a relaxed mode, which simply decreases the speed.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Was a bit buggy for me. Mr. Fluffy sometimes disappeared and sometimes ended up on the left side of the screen, which made it quite hard to get those kitten pics to their recipients.

Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

I love it, and not just becuase its cats! :3 Twas a lot of fun and was really fricken difficult.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Strange idea (not in a bad way!) and I liked the visuals. Extremely difficult though! A difficulty select would be a nice addition.

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14am

Interesting. Got a bit hectic.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14am

I think i just got fired..but how the machines can do messed up prints..awesome

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15am

Nice little speed game - graphics very good. Bad pathing made it a lot more difficult than it needed to be. Also audio was annoying :/

Elforama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17am

This was a fun game, it has me scrambling to make the never ending quota! The movement made it a bit hard to place objects at times though. The art style is very nice, pixel art rules (check out my game for some more pixel art) =] Great job guys.

awppy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

Does a great job at showing how to play within the game itself thanks to the clean, simple visuals, and the theme is cute. The multiple control schemes is a nice addition, but none of them work quite perfectly and that adds to the already-stressful gameplay.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02am

@JALgames Touch mode does work on mobile Chrome/Safari, so I'm not sure why it doesn't work for you.

@Kino333 @JALgames We plan on adding a "wave" system to slowly ramp up the difficulty.

@Marjie62 @awppy I started to work on better pathfinding, but ran out of time. It's on the post-competiton polish list!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47am

I love this idea, but the controls were very difficult and frustrating. Once you picked up an item it was a bit dodgy trying to put it where it belonged. Still, very cute idea and the art is great.

delfino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

Fun, it gets crazy trying to keep up. Sometimes the controls seems to be a bit touchy but fun overall. Looks great too

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

The game design is great and it's pretty enjoyable. The art is also good because the visuals are simple and things are colour-coded for easy object recognition. Sometimes the cat will grab the wrong item though which can't be dropped easily sometimes when there are stacks forming everywhere and that's a bit frustrating.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:17am

Very nice aesthetic. Eventually, I just stopped worrying about trying to sort things and ran around with a can of spam watching his eyebrows wiggle.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Super well done game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

JimmyBoh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:19am

This is great! Although maybe increase the difficulty at a slower rate.

kristof says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:47am

Haha, that was fun! A bit too hectic though in my opinion. It should start a bit slower. Still a very good entry!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice idea! I think this could be great with smoother controls and a proper difficulty curve

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:53pm

The player is a bit hard to control, it would have been better with some pathfinding, but anyway, really cool game! The gameplay was nice, very stressing, and I liked the loading video reference! ^^

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Such lovely detail! I loved seeing the mistakes come out of the machines. I like the cat's character design, too.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Enjoyably frustrating!

stoo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I like the idea and for the most part it's really well implemented with a hectic amount of tension. I found the controls really awkward though. I repeatedly found I wasn't in quite the right position to drop a parcel on the conveyor belt and one nudge up / down put me to far the other side to drop the parcel.

mjrevel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:04am

I enjoyed the eyebrows immensely on Fluffykin's. If not for those -1 to entire score. The game needs more eyebrows. Thanks!

May 3, 2014 @ 3:23pm

I found the controls to be strange. It felt like collision was off and I couldn't pick up the items I was gunning for. Also, the audio was super grating.

That being said, I like the idea and the intensity of managing all three lines. I also liked the junk files that would get spit out. Nice mechanics. Also, the graphics are great!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]