Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Oil

by cirpig29 - Jam Entry

Hi there,
here our result. The Goal is to escape from the Oil. Don't hit the Fish, they slow you down. The small fishes (swimming upwards) give you a boost.

Have fun and please leave some comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#142Theme(Jam)3.63
#305Humor(Jam)2.75
#401Fun(Jam)2.96
#509Audio(Jam)2.68
#549Mood(Jam)2.75
#561Graphics(Jam)2.86
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#630Innovation(Jam)2.43
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I thought the easing on the left/right controls had a very satisfying feel to it. It's pretty funny how everything's physics based, but getting slowed down by enemies gets a little unfair since the player never accelerates again, so bumping one enemy the wrong way essentially condemns me to slow death.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Pretty fun, maybe the left-right movement a little too fast

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Great mood, the fish phisics isn't perfect but quite funny. I really enjoyed playing it!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Got a good head start, then a crazy log jam of stuff happened. Things ended pretty quickly after that. I couldn't help but laugh. I enjoyed this.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Hehe, this was fun to play, even when I failed. The first time, the fish slowed me to a crawl but I had ages to wait until the oil caught up with me, so I just watched a giant fish pileup at the bottom of the screen.

mrbungle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Haha, I love the way the fish bash into one another! This game made me smile.

pfeyffer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Good idea, nice and simple. The controls need a little acceleration and damping to feel more like you are under water.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:15am

I really like the sound design on this.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:00pm

It's fun to watch how fishes are pushing each other. I call this "Fish Jam"!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:14am

Bouncing upside and got caught by the oil when hitting some fish. :v The game is funny though :)

michelfontes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:10am

Nice time killing game! Reminds me of old but good atari 2600 games...

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:01pm

This is really fun and very nice made as well. However in my fifth or so try I ended up barely moving and all the fishes and submarines were filling up the bottom part of the screen. from an uknown reason. Then an oil got me. Enjoyed this!

sfdnetwork says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Very nice, simplistic concept but fits the theme very well. The controls are nice and smooth and most of all it's fine. Well done sir.

euske says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:41pm

I found that you can speed up by taking advantage of the physics. This idea could be more expanded.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]